We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Greatest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf
Ranked #56 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the Greatest”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Not the simple 10 minutes walk from the train station. Figure 20 minutes. Minimum. If you have any luggage at all, be prepared!! We check in as Priority Club Platinum and get a fine room. Small, but OK. We are offered a drink coupon or 200 points. We take the coupon as it had been a long day. We head straight to the bar for a drink before dinner. We are informed that there is NO ICE. OK, that's fine, I'll take a glass of white wine. Nope, no white wine. We leave and head for the best thing about Holiday Inn Troisdorf and that is Poco Loco. Poco Loco is a restaurant across the street. Great food, great drinks, Just right for a taste of the local culture. Chimichangas are incredible. The hotel is OK. Day staff and management were great, night staff, not so much. Would not stay there again as getting around is impossible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanmanFtWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at our Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North.

With regret, I recognized that you have not been satisfied with our service.
Please let me apologize ones again for any inconveniences.

I have spoken to my department heads and the Front Desk Department and forwarded your comments. We will do everything to ensure that this incident never repeats.
Never the less, I would be happy, if you could give us another chance to deliver excellent quality and service which is our goal at all times for all our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you again when you visit Troisdorf the next time.

If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

Kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North

K.J. Comes
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    170
    104
    30
    10
See reviews for
96
82
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for about a week in March 2014. I chose this hotel because it was near to a customer site.

Good things:
- Room was very good. Bed was comfortable. There was no noise and I could sleep well. I read in some review that non smoking room had smell of cigarette. I stayed in a non-smoking room and I did not face this problem.
- Bath room was small, but it was clean.
- Breakfast was good. They had standard continental breakfast.
- There are 4 other eating choices nearby: Poco loco (mexican - highly recommended), Subway, McDonalds and China Garden. China Garden is in fact in the same building. The other 3 are just in front of the hotel. I found this very useful in otherwise completely residential area.
- Close to highway.
- Staff was helpful. No complaints on service front.


Not so good things:
- Internet in the room was flakey and did not work for 2 days. I had to really keep on complaining until it was fixed after 2 days.
- No wireless internet in the room. Only wired. Not good for people with only ipads / phones. (Wifi is available in breakfast area). It is now almost standard to have wifi in room. This was a let down.
- Nearest train station (Spich) is about a kilometer away. Takes 10 minutes of walk + 20 mins of train to reach Cologne. I would not recommend this hotel if you have work in Cologne town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_from_pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us a statement on our website to tell us about your experiences at our Holiday Inn Express Cologne-Troisdorf.

We rate critical guest comments as a very positive opportunity to make things change for the better. Once again thank you for your comments.

Only through the help of our guests, we are able to maintain the standard which we have set for ourselves and to improve.

We want to advise you, that we will implement Room WIFI in June 2014 as the latest.

Never the less, we are looking forward to welcome you again when you visit Cologne-Troisdorf the next time.

Kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Cologne-Troisdorf

K.J. Comes
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We received a warm welcome from Theodora on the reception desk after a very long drive from England. The double rooms have VEY narrow beds, so she quickly changed us to a twin room. The beds were very comfortable, the shower is huge and the room although smallish, was spotlessly clean and big enough for us and our luggage. The breakfast buffet contained a good variety. Highly recommended for autobahn travellers passing through the Cologne Bonn area. We felt very welcome here. As did our dog, Freddie.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments and I will forward it to my Staff.

We look forward to welcome you in our hotel, when you visit Cologne-Troisdorf next time.

Best regards
K.J.Comes
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Nice and lovely stay. We all really like this hotel. We suugest this hotel to every one. Very clean and helping staff. Would like to stay again next time. Excellent
Service. Clean toilets. Thanks and Regards


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank M. Jamshaid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments and I will forward it to my Staff.

We look forward to welcome you in our hotel, when you visit Cologne-Troisdorf next time.

Best regards
K.J.Comes
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
574 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a very good hotel located very close to the Cologne airport.
It is well located for doing business in Bonn or Cologne (right between both).
The only disadvantage is that you have to cross the Rhein for reaching either city.
The accommodation is very good for an Express and the breakfast is generous.
There is free parking and free internet access.
There are some restaurants at walking distance.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments .

We look forward to welcome you in our hotel.

Best regards,
K.J. Comes
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Located close to the highway and priced pretty decently, the hotel is a typical HI Express, with basic, but good, services. It is located right behind a gas station and Subway restaurant, so I missed the entrance the first pass as I was dazzled by the commercial display of all the other businesses. I stayed here on business in March 2014.

There is more than enough outside parking, which is free. The rooms are standard HIE size, no fridges, microwaves, etc. However very clean, and even comfortable beds.

Noise level was decent once the windows were closed, however you could hear conversations in the hallway if someone passed by.

Personnel was friendly and made check-in/check-out easy.

My only problem was with the high-speed internet connection. Apparently WIFI is only available in the lobby, the rooms have the plugged in connections. As it goes with most hotels asking to wire yourself in, the connector is defective from people not being able to use basic plugs. Try as I might, I could not get a hotel internet connection working. Fortunately, Subway has a pretty strong signal and gives 1 hour access for free, which was all I needed.

I would come back simply based on the location/convenience factor when traveling for business.

Room Tip: Keep the window shut to keep noise down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Mark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments and I will forward it to my Staff.

We look forward to welcome you in our hotel, when you visit Cologne-Troisdorf next time.

Best regards
K.J.Comes
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

As most HI Express the location is top for business. It is close to the motorway and the different major factories close by.
Parking is VOC and places are always (even late) availablle. Two restaurants are within walking distance. Check in and out is one of the fastest in Germany (everything well prrepared). On top Club members get a first trink at the bar FOC.
Rooms and the bath are standard, well maintained and clean = no complaint.
Breakfast room has two modern coffe machines offering all kind of different coffees + plus good tea. All the other stuff is normal Express standard. You'll have a good start into the day.

Room Tip: All are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Bellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments and I will forward it to my Staff.

We look forward to welcome you in our hotel, when you visit Cologne-Troisdorf next time.

Best regards
K.J.Comes
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
#69 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
#45 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Jugendgaestehaus Koeln Riehl
#109 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf
Address: Echternacher Str. 4, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Cologne-Troisdorf is a modern business hotel located within easy reach of the exhibition centre KÖLN MESSE, the Cologne/Bonn Airport (CGN), the main railway station and the business areas of Cologne and Bonn and the sports centre Köln ARENA. Both by car via the A 59 motorway and public transport, the hotel is perfectly connected to all business and leisure attractions in Cologne and Bonn. The Express by Holiday Inn offers accommodation for visitors to exhibitions like GamesCom, Anuga & Medica as well as shoppers headed for the old town, art and historical lovers enjoying the DOM, the shopping area of Cologne and Bonn and musical fans cheering at the Musical DOME. The Express by Holiday Inn offers 110 comfortably furnished rooms with chargeable High Speed Access, air condition, satellite and Pay TV, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, en suite shower, hair dryer, high quality beds and sound proof windows. The hotel features both non-smoking and smoking floors as well as easy wheelchair access, a room with roll-in shower and special alarm systems. We invite our guests to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast buffet to get the day off to a good start, while in the evening our Lobby Bar is worth a visit to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express By Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf Hotel Cologne
Holiday Inn Troisdorf
Cologne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing