We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
85
118
45
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
118
45
12
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

That feeling when you get to a city known for it's many cathedrals and find out that you're actually living in one too!
We picked Pathpoint Backpacker Hostel for our stay in Cologne, but had little idea how spoilt we would be with the key location. It was less than 5 minutes walking from the Cologne Main Station, about 10minutes from the Cologne Cathedral.
Pathpoint Hostel was actually huge! Spacious and big kitchen, a walkway to the second building.
Downside for us was the lack of an elevator, especially because we had a lot of luggage on us.
Our 4 bed dorm had a spacious bathroom attached and a great view of the train station from our window.
They also had breakfast included in our stay, but honestly it was just the regular jams and juices for a quick first bite in the morning.
From what I could see, the hostel must be quite a party during the summer months with warmer weathers!

For me, it was a perfect pick for our quick trip to Koln!

Room tip: Rooms in the attached building offer a better view and common space!
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cinemawaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for your great review! We would love to have an elevator, but since the building is under monumental protection, we can’t put one in – hopefully the character of the hostel makes up for the lack of elevator. Have a nice rest of your trip! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel is really close to the train station (hardly 5 minutes walking). We stayed at the hostel for 2 nights & it was great. Big rooms, high ceilings, amazing breakfast & helpful staff. The most famous Cologne Cathedral is just 10 mins away from the hostel.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ParichayMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for your excellent review. It sounds great that you had such a nice time with us. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip. Best regards from Cologne! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

The coolest thing about this place is it used to be a church. The kitchen is pretty big. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was spacious enough. They have a decent breakfast and you can also get some drinks from their bar. They have a pretty nice smoking area which is a cool spot to hang out if it's not too cold.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nirali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for your greatr review. We are really happy to hear that you had a nice time with us. Enjoy the rest of your trip! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

I booked a dormitary bed at on 7Feb 2018 for 29.90 Euro for Rosenmontag, 12Feb 2018. I had to request for cancellation fee waiver 2 hours after I book, due to transport complications and may not be able to come to Köln. This was followed by a telephone call, served by the hostel Front desk who says will speak to the "manager". I received notification from booking.com shortly, fee waiver rejected by Hostel. I proceeded to cancel at 29.90 Euro anyway, because It became firmed coming to Köln was impossible. I followed by another e-mail and another phone call, hoping that something can be done. There were absolutely no response to email, and I was charged 31.30 Euro which included City Tax, instead of the 29.90 Euro stated in Booking.com cancellation charges. I sent another e-mail for clarifications, and as usual, no replies. Then received booking.com initial reply, quoting hostel policies on charging city tax regardless. I held Booking.com responsible, and they eventually admit that it was inappropriate to charge City tax for cancellations, and booking.com reference refunded 5 Euro. Arrogance in the Manager is apparent, refusing direct reply, insisting on a non compromising policy for cancellation charges and insistence on charging city tax for cancellation.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank kimlausingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback. First of all, we always reply to emails and requests by our guests as we always reply to all reviews whether here or on other platforms such as booking.com or Hostelworld. We clearly mentioned that there is no free cancellation possible for Carnival on booking.com. You could have for example contacted us directly before doing the booking to see if we can book you in after you have fixed your transportation. In general it is easier to to book directly with the hostel to avoid such issues. The City of Cologne insists to charge city tax even for no shows. This is the current law and if booking.com is of another opinion, they are very welcome to try to change the law. :-) Best regards from Cologne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Overall this is a great hostel in terms of location, cleanliness, staff attention, hostel amenities, kitchen availability and hostel environment due to cool people from all over the world. It's a super recommended spot in cologne.
Location: close to train station, 2 mins away
Cleanliness: rooms and bathroom in outstanding condition of cleanliness
Attention from staff: great
Rooms: spacious, with lockers (just need a coin)
Pro Tip: take your towel and shower basics because it's not provided

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MartinPutallaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It makes us really proud to get such great reviews from our guests. We are looking forward to see you again. Best regards from Cologne! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews