We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ascot Hotel Cologne
Ranked #75 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Just got back from cologne and can really recommend this hotel , the staff were really helpful , the rooms were large and very clean , only draw back is there is only the news Channel in English on tv, but we were not there to watch tv so it didn't matter .
There is a laptop in the lobby with Internet connection (free) for public use , the free gym is excellent and the sauna is really good too (towels supplied) .
The rooms have a kettle , trouser press, phone , free safe , air con , tv and iron on request .
Breakfast is continental but very nice with plenty of variety .
The hotel is well located just 200m from the underground ( fritzenplazel) underground tram 5 from the main train staition costs €1.70 for a single ticket and fritzenplazel is the second stop.
If you are flying in and are catching the train from the airport to cologne then you need to catch the s13 db train costs €2.50 for a single ticket and takes 14 mins , note if you buy a db train ticket and you board the ice train which costs €7.50 for a ticket and get caught you will face a large fine .
Recommend you go to the top of the Dom €3 well worth it for a view of the city .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    74
    33
    10
    11
See reviews for
10
51
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lilburn, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We choose the Ameron Ascot through reviews on Tripadvisor and were not dissapointed. Upon approach by car to the hotel, we had a hard time seeing the entrance, LOL. Once inside, we were greeted warmly by the staff. The room was large, clean, and well appointed. Bed was great. It is only a 10 minute walk to the Dom. Many restaurants around from which to choose. Plenty of nightlife too, but we had a room on the backside of the hotel (with a nice balcony) and did not have any issues with noise.

Breakfast was very good too. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayban5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We booked the Ameron Ascot hotel because of location to family living in the Belgium Quarter nearby. We had a warm welcome from reception and our room was very spacious with teamaking facilities,trouser press. couch,desk and coffee table. The windows open which was a bonus and with the windows closed at night we heard no noise. A bright breakfast room with an adequate breakfast and obliging staff. We had a very comfortable stay there and found the atmosphere to be warm and welcoming. It is easy walking distance to the cathedral and main city. I recommend this hotel to anyone. We stayed in a comfort double room 601.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We choose to stay at Ameron Ascot hotel after looking at its s great reviews. The hotel itself was centrally located which was good. The service was ok, we booked a double comfort room but they did not have that available when we arrived and they asked us to pay extra for another room!!! Anyway they finally managed to get us our room.

The room was very dated but it was massive!!! The hotel is located adjacent to few night clubs which stay open till early hours of the morning play very very loud music!! We were at the hotel for 4 nights and 3 of thoes night we struggled to sleep due to the noise.

The breakfast was basic but was ok!!
This hotel claims to 5* which it definitely isn't!! So if you want to stay here then you need to manage your expectation in that way!!

P.S - It does not have wifi!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhanAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in room 702. Room is very spacious and quiet, being on the top floor. Walking distance to dome, shopping, river. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellicos0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had a lovely extended weekend stay at Ameron Hotel Ascot. The hotel is cosy and the staff really warm and helpful. The only downside was the noise from the busy nightlife (Hohenzollernring has A LOT of bars, many right next door to the hotel). It might be a good idea to request a room from the other side of the building or bring along your earplugs if you're a trouble sleeper.

There are great restaurants within blocks and it's really easy to get around with the U-Bahn. The Dom and Hauptbahnhof (main station) are only two stops away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v1rva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

I have just spent 4 nights at the Ameron in Cologne during a business trip. I chose this hotel after reading good reviews from Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. My room was very quiet at the back of the hotel and had everything you needed. A special mention of the bathroom which was big and very clean and had a great shower. Breakfast was included in the room price and had a good selection. The hotel is only about a 15 minute walk to the main station and close to many restaurants and shopping areas. A special mention to Bettina on tthe front desk who was very helpful in directions and where to shop.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Astor & Aparthotel Cologne
Astor & Aparthotel Cologne
#71 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
#25 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#46 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Royal Inn
Hotel Royal Inn
#165 of 262 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#12 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ascot Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ascot Hotel Cologne

Property: The Ascot Hotel Cologne
Address: Hohenzollernring 95-97, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ascot Hotel Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ascot Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cologne
Cologne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing