We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, well located....awesome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ascot Hotel Cologne
Ranked #45 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Very nice hotel, classy and sober...great price.
There is a couple of convenience stores across the street for water, cigarettes, snacks, etc.
The bar is OK...no hot food in the bar though.
Breakfast, as usual in Europe, a lot of luncheon meat, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, a good selection of cereal, yogurt, and so on. And of course liverwurst...the best

Room Tip: ASK as soon as you arrive how to handle the heater.....otherwise you will freeze (if in winter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolnugam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

I came to Cologne for the exhibition – the ISM – and that meant that all hotels tried to get as much out of their customers as possible…
The rates were astronomical throughout Cologne apart from the AMERON HOTEL ASCOT …

The Ameron Hotel Ascot has FAIR PRICESS- is CONVENIENT- NICE STAFF … & CLEAN….

It is not a fabulous hotel to stay when you celebrate your honeymoon or want to woo a lover BUT when you need a clean bed, in a clean room, in the centre of cologne, than it is a good hotel.

The breakfast is very good and recommendable...otherwise the hotel doesn’t have much service to offer BUT you save this in the hotel rate!!!! And as I said… the STAFF is HELFUL & EFFICIENT …..

Would I stay again: YES
Would I recommend it: YES

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkypoo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of night in November last year. We found the service really good from the moment we arrived. Our room was huge! The bed was nice and comfortable with chocolates on the pillow - which is always a nice touch. The hotel could do with a refresh as it was looking a bit old but this didn't bother us. We had the breakfast which was pretty basic - bread, cheese meet, cereal etc.
We also enjoyed the walk into the centre (only took 10mins) and didn't find the clubs on the main road to be an issue.

Would go back again as it was reasonably prices and the staff were nice.

Room Tip: Our room was on a high floor and we weren't disturbed by the noise outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights during a major trade show. The hotel is in a very convenient location, close to all the major attractions, underground tube station and the international exhibition centre.
The rooms were acceptable, clean, with comfortable beds and coffee-making facilities.
Only downside was that the hotel is located on a major road, with night clubs that were playing loud thumping music until 4am in the morning on two out of the three nights we were there. Take ear plugs or sleeping pills if you want a good night's rest!
On the plus side, there are many restaurants and cocktail bars close by to choose from, great for relaxing after a long day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stelap01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

this is a great building for a hotel - however it is right across the street from an all night club. I stayed on a Saturday night and the police, with sirens, were called to the club three times. When I called the desk to move they advised that it was 2am and I could not move. People were screaming and yelling. Finally about 4am the street finally became quiet. -- The next morning, when i advised that it was a terrible night sleep, all that was said was "sorry to hear that". THE STREET NOISE IS TERRIBLE- I do not care what others say. It was as bad as any hotel I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: No street front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ameron hotel 14 - 16 Dec '11 on a short break to see the Christmas markets. Initially we were a little apprehensive when we found it was on a main road and we were on the first floor at the front but we found there to be very, very little road noise. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the underground station and at most, a 20 minute walk from the cathedral.

The room was massive (we were shocked to find we were in the second smallest!) with a very comfortably sized bathroom with complimentary White Company toiletries. It was very clean with fresh linen and towels each day. The beds are very soft but not a problem.

They offer a fantastic continental breakfast with a wide selection on breads, cold meats, fruits and cheeses.

We arrived hours before check-in and had a late flight but they were more than happy to store our luggage for us while we explored and allow us to sit in the lobby for an hour, long after check out, just waiting to leave for the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine10_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We (2 x couples) stayed at the Ascot as part of a Christmas market break from Friday 9th to Monday 12th December 2011.

The hotel is a lovely old 19th century building on the edges of the old town of Cologne. It looks to be one of the few in the area that survived the wartime bombing. It is a tall, narrow, ornate building that has been very tastefully restored. It is small (44 rooms only) and fairly intimate. It has a cozy and personal feel to it that is sometimes missing from larger hotels.

Good points: Our rooms were excellent. Both were very spacious with a small sitting area and vestibule for hanging up coats, boots etc. Each has a mini bar, tea/coffee making facilities (not as common as the British would like in continental hotels), trouser press, safe etc. All the things you'd expect from a 4 star hotel.

There was plenty of cupboard and drawer space and the furniture was very compatible with the overall ambience of the building. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean with maid service every morning. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The hotel also has a fairly extensive gym and sauna (not used by us) and a very small bar for guests. It is pretty handy for walking access to the city centre in about 10 mins. Just around the corner is the Paffgen brewery, the only remaining city brewery to produce and sell beer to its customers on the premises. If you like German food and drink this is very much the place to be.

Down Points: It is located in the middle of the "entertainment" part of Cologne. If your under 25 then that is pretty much a plus. If your our age (50), then not so much.

Loads of bars with luminescent strip lighting, offers of "Gang Bang Saturday nights" and SKY sports blasting from the enevitable televisions in the corner in the vicinity. With the resultant young human booze casualties clogging up the streets as the evenings get later at the weekend. Even if you don't speak a word of German, anyone from the UK will recognise the town centre alchohol abuse warzone instantly from home. A tad intimidating if you like to stroll quietly back to your hotel after dinner - although in mitigation, we had rooms overlooking the main bar street and didn't hear a thing once the windows had been closed over.

Breakfast was also a bit of a bust on one day. Waiting 45 minutes before anyone asked us for our tea/coffee order. Granted it was especially busy, and the 2 young managers trying to cope with the ravenous hordes did their best. But for a 4 star hotel you'd really expect better.

All in all a bit of a gem if you like personal, small and very cozy hotels, but don't linger in the surrounding area too long after dark.


T

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyCatMitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 263 in Cologne
1,842 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#53 of 263 in Cologne
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#6 of 263 in Cologne
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ascot Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ascot Hotel Cologne

Address: Hohenzollernring 95-97, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £71 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ascot Hotel Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ascot Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cologne
Cologne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing