We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, easy access to city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ranked #5 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Very nice, easy access to city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Ameron is a little bit to the west of Cologne center and access is easy with a car. Parking is available, but you have to pay extra. There is no luggage service, but you can rent a trolly and do it yourself (which is OK with me anyhow). Checkin was quick and friendly. The good thing is that Internet over LAN is FREE and fast (finally free Internet again). We did also get coupons for free beer :)

Breakfast was OK, nothing special. Rooms are fairly new and stylish. The only drawback we had was that our room (219 if I am not mistaken) was next door to service room for the maids and each morning they were slamming this heavy doors very loudly, so try to avoid that room.

Tram station is across the street!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are next door to service doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALiEN2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    219
    44
    4
    8
See reviews for
61
164
43
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel seems to be fairly new, rooms are decorated in a contemporary style, very nice, clean, and efficient. The hotel is located near various tram stops that will take you wherever you need to go in no time. We did use the hotel parking (15 Euros daily) but did not want to spend 17.50 Euros per person on breakfast. There is a nice little cafe (Cafe Bonner) at the corner that has a wide variety of choices for about half the price. The bar was lively and active. We enjoyed our stay a lot and would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are able to get it for around $120.

Room Tip: Select one of the higher floors, you will have a nice view of Cologne's skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanGuy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Germany is a lovely place to travel, visit your friends, Cologne is a beautiful city, unfortunately The Ameron Regent is BAD place to stay there, i'd recommend you'd stay in Hilton.

Staff is very rude, they don't have anyone to help with luggage, and the worst part, you pay for a Superior room, and you get a ridiculous comfort room, very small , no bathtubs or much of the stuff what was promised on purchase.

Very bad experience, i really don't recommend this hotel, but i definitely recommend this Country and City which are both great !

Room Tip: Dont go there, they will trap you into a smaller room than what you've paid for, and with some b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreFRibeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp L, Manager at Ameron Hotel Regent, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear André,
Thanks for your review on Tripadvisor. We both met 15 minutes after your check inn and your complain about the room. We moved you and your family to room 501 where you had everything you were looking for. I hope that the rest of your stay was nice and relaxing.

Please let me know about your next stay in Cologne, would be a pleasure to have you onboard again.

Safe travels

Philipp Lennartz
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed for a weekend while visiting Cologne and this is a definitely good business hotel. The location is not really great for leisure trips though. We had a trouble free stay, decent breakfast in the morning, staff a little slower, but overall it was ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights coming from Netherlands. Easy to reach from the Autobahn by car. Very good location, easy to get into downtown by tramway in 5 mins.
Rooms were nice and clean, beds good. Not much noise in our rooms facing the parking lot. International TV with a multitude of channels.

Only let-down was Wifi. We could have Wifi in the rooms, but this was a pay per hour service by german Telekom. Extremely unstable when we were there, but this was not the hotels fault. Cabled LAN was free available.

All in all recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot may be more quiet - the street side faces a tramway crossing in a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed one night on business trip with colleagues and was very pleased with this hotel. Location just few minutes by tram to the city centre, the stop was located about 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Staff at reception was very friendly and helpful.

Rooms are very good size and nice design, I had a room on 14th floor with amazing view of the city. Bathroom had both bath and separate shower and was spacious too. Breakfast was delicious, full buffet with large choice of meals and beverages.

One minor point - I am not sure if the hotel offers free Wifi, when I tried to get connected I only found the network with extra charge and none offering free internet connection.

Apart from that, this hotel is worth to recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelenec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights in late June. Recommended by a local clinic- I was attending for medical reasons- the hotel did not disappoint. I had diverse special requirements eg a pressure-relieving mattress, extra pillows, gluten-free diet and this was all arranged prior to our arrival at 2:30am.

Service was exceptional, even washed up our personal Tupperware boxes from our journey the previous evening! Nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent, fresh and tasty, local and regional specialities.

We paid a big extra for a quiet room at the top of the hotel, a "superior room" I believe they call it, well worth it as it was very quiet- of course there is road noise but double glazing is very good so if you keep the window shut you can't really hear it.

NB Location is 4 tram stops from centre, but it's an easy 10 minute ride.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillathehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#14 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#12 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#11 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameron Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Regent

Property: Ameron Hotel Regent
Address: Melatenguertel 15, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Lindenthal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#6 Business Hotel in Cologne
#18 Family Hotel in Cologne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ameron Hotel Regent is located right next to Cologne's Stadtwald (city forest), the 'green belt' of the popular cathedral city. Awaiting you here is sufficient space for your meetings of all sizes, as well as highly modern comfort for a relaxing business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ameron Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Cologne
Regent Cologne
Cologne Regent
Cologne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing