We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ranked #4 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having booked a hotel for a romantic getaway in cologne through hotels.com, we were very disappointed to be given a twin room which was set up for single occupancy and so had to request extra towels from reception on our first night there. At check in the person on reception failed to explain any of the facilities available at the hotel, understandly he was training but the person supervising him did not once correct and he failed to tell us our room number, we had to ask before he moved onto checking in the next people. At one point during our stay we required the use of an iron, but sadly it took two visits to reeption for them to bring it. Although this sounds like a terrible review, the hotel was very modern and clean, not too far from the centre with brilliant access to the trams.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toad1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Wednesday to Saturday to visit the Christmas Markets. When we arrived at the hotel we were told there was no booking us after nearly half an hour our booking was found as we had 2 rooms booked. They gave us 1 room on 2nd floor and the other on the 14th. The 14th room had an excellent view however it was a sofa bed and in the other 1 set of towels for 2. The location was great 5 tram stops from centre and 6 from the river. The guy behind the bar was really nice and English excellent.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank madlizzie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We drove to the hotel which has easy parking underneath and were greeted by friendly and helpful staff on arrival.
The hotel is spotlessly clean in the rooms to the public areas, with nice wooden floors and comfortable beds and a good shower.
The rooms are functional rather than large, but we enjoyed our stay.
It is well connected into cologne on the tram which takes 15 minutes and cost €11.60 for a family ticket for all day travel.
We did have breakfast in the hotel as there are so many options if you go on the tram.
I would definitely stay again if I in the local area again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank jamescim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Ameron Regent is in easy reach of public transportation and close the highway. Parking is available. Nice touch - they do not boast a huge limousine, but a small Volkswagen...
The restaurant offers a good selection with local and health food as well as standards such as steaks or pasta.
Breakfast is OK but not great - I have tasted better quality salmon in a 4Star Hotel. Good - self service coffee specialties such as cappuccino.
Internet (LAN) is available for free - WLAN at a nominal fee of 5 € per 24hrs - good quality and overall coverage.
This is a big hotel - 14 floors with a full conference area. The hotels is only a couple of years old and in a very state of maintenance. I had a slight problem with the (rain)-shower-head in my room which was swiftly taken care of.
If I have business in the area I will see to return to this hotel if the rate is right.

Room Tip: The 14th floor has a nice view over the city - ask for the side NOT facing the ERGO building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

If travelling by car this restaurant ticks the boxes. Good underground, safe, car park. Hotel and staff are everything you would expect from Germany. Location is a bit out, but the tram runs from a few metres from the hotel and takes you straight into the centre without having to change. We really enjoyed our stay here in the wonderful city of Cologne.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBluetac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in an executive room for 2 nights for the Ireland v Germany game in October 2013, at a very good rate of €118 per room per night, including breakfast, free minibar, free parking, spacious bedroom, with air con / heating controls, and view of the city on the 12th floor. No noise from traffic, or indeed from anywhere at night. Polite and helpful staff who were fluent in English, in particular Christina our waitress at breakfast time, which was served up to 11.00 am and 'til 12.00 midday on Sunday.
Highly recommend the Ameron Regent, and also nice touch of 2 vouchers on arrival for glasses of Kolcsh, the local beer. Beside tram lines to city centre and Rhein Energie Stadium.

Room Tip: Get the weekend rate for an Executive room, one of the best we stayed in...ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed with family for two days in end of September. Relatively new hotel of ‘green building’ level. Very highly automated, rather easy-to-use. I was given angle two-sided room on 12th level. View of central Cologne is so impressive! Breakfast consisted of array of healthy food, could be broader, but quality goes prime in my view. 3,8 km till downtown, few minutes with tram from adjacent tram stop. Wi-FI is paid and expensive but rooms are equipped with wired Internet, it is complimentary.

Rooms have TVs with impressive International TV package – from Russian (tens of channels) to Vietnamese! It is very much valued with family trips.

In the restaurant below you can feed yourself and your small kid.

So, no complaints and I put my five marks in general.

Room Tip: Ask for angle rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
1,820 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#5 of 262 in Cologne
2,474 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#20 of 262 in Cologne
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameron Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Regent

Address: Melatenguertel 15, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Lindenthal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#6 Business Hotel in Cologne
#18 Family Hotel in Cologne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £68 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ameron Hotel Regent is located right next to Cologne's Stadtwald (city forest), the 'green belt' of the popular cathedral city. Awaiting you here is sufficient space for your meetings of all sizes, as well as highly modern comfort for a relaxing business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ameron Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Cologne
Regent Cologne
Cologne Best Western
Cologne Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing