We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Priceline
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/06/21
Booking.comUS$115
Hotels.comUS$114
eDreamsUS$115
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,246)
Filter reviews
2,246 results
Traveller rating
1,099
849
217
62
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,099
849
217
62
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass elevator great hotel minute walk deluxe room shopping area quality hotel breakfast buffet hotel bar in december business trip mini bar main shopping visit the christmas markets nice breakfast central location modern hotel train station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 2,246 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Overall the hotel is lovely, the staffs are friendly and polite, the breakfast is really good and well worth booking. Our room was clean, well proportioned, the bathroom was clean and the show was excellent. The only problem we had was the temperature of the room, it was like an oven. We checked in around 6pm and with both windows open it took until 5.30am for the room to cool down. We reported this to the staff who sent an engineer to look at the heating/cooling system. The second night was cooler but we still needed both windows open throughout the night for a comfortable temperature.

The hotel is well located only 5 minutes walk from the main train station and Cathedral and 5 minutes to a street rammed full of restaurants and bars. It’s only a 2-3 minute walk to the main shopping area and the river is only 10-12 minutes away too.

If it wasn’t for the temperature issue I would have scored the hotel much higher.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymondw756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen M, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Raymond W,

many thanks for your Feedback about your recent stay here with us in Cologne.

We have appointed our technicians to check on the air-conditioning system. To have ideal conditions, the windows needs to be closed as the AC turns off when the windows are opened.

But as you overall rating is positive, we are looking forward for your upcoming stay.

With kind regards,


Jeroen Mollé
Director of Operations

Pullman Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Spent a long weekend at the pullman in cologne. Very good setting and close enough to walk to the centre etc.... A big plus. This breakfast was superb also with great choices and quality. The only down sound to the whole stay was the fact that the air conditioning in the room didn't work! We highlighted this to 3 different members of staff and all said they would get it looked at, they didn't!! So our room was like a sauna for the duration of our stay. This would have been 5 stars in the air conditioning worked wasn't stuck on heat!! Staff didn't resolve this when highlighted dispite assurances they would.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com
Thank beard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen M, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear beard2,

many thanks for your comments! We will look into the process, as it is not our standard that our guests need to highlight their issue more than once!

Please do accept once more my apology for this inconvenience, but we would be delighted if you gave us once more the chance to show you that we have rooms with working air-conditioning as well. Our technicians have checked all the rooms to guarantee in the future a smooth stayover for our guests.

With kind regards,


Jeroen Mollé
Director of Operations

Pullman Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We arrived at the hotel on the Sunday just before Rosenmontag and stayed for five nights which meant we saw the hotel during and after the carnival. The Sunday evening was fairly busy in reception as there was a big party being held in one of the conference rooms. Despite this staff took the time to show us three different rooms as we'd asked for a high floor with a view of the Dom. We eventually chose a deluxe room on the third floor after being assured that it would be quiet and we wouldn't get any noise from the party. We also got a view of the Dom towers albeit over a few buildings but that was good enough for us.

The next day was very busy in the morning and really busy during the evening and the whole reception / bar area was taken over by a Carnival party. We made our way through the crowds and out past security. Coming back in we had to show our cards to be allowed through. I should add that we've got nothing against this and everyone was simply having a good time but there was no chance of a quiet drink in the hotel bar. The hotel was certainly taken over by Carnival as shown by a sign on the door which said Number one for Carnival. If you want to experience the unique aspects of the Carnival up close in your hotel then this is the one for you. I should add when we booked it we had no idea about Rosenmontag and when it was.

We didn't hear any noise through the hotel and slept soundly both nights so the recommendation by staff was correct. We were very grateful for that..

The rest of our stay the hotel returned to normal and we found staff to be very helpful whether it was giving directions or fixing the printer in the room which offers guests free internet usage.

The rooms were very clean and a fair size although the lack of a bath was a bit of a nuisance. Apparently deluxe rooms don't have baths but they have a walk in shower instead. This was a bit confusing on the hotel website as when you look at the deluxe rooms they appear to say that there is a shower and bath but a closer look shows that they list a shower, bath and other amenities for all rooms but there is a disclaimer that "Some of the facilities listed below may not be available for every room". My fault as I should have read it more closely but perhaps the management could consider listing the amenities by specific room type as many other hotels do.

There were free robes and slippers. The bathroom products were renewed each day unlike many other hotels. The widescreen tv had BBC 1 and BBC 2. We didn't use the breakfast or dining facilities as there were other options nearby.

The location was good with a ten minute walk to the Dom down Breite Strasse past lots of shops and less than five minutes to a few bars down Friesenstrasse. We didn't use the subway so can't comment on that. If you like the local Kolsch beer the Paffgen Brauhaus is less than five minutes walk.

If we came to Cologne again we would definitely stay here.

Room tip: Deluxe rooms are on the third, fourth or eleventh floors and don't have baths.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhosdduRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen M, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear RhosdduRed,

many thanks for your comments here at TripAdvisor.

Indeed we are the place to be within Carnival, as we host during approximately two months the "Cologne's Dreigestirn" or Triumvirate - the Prince, the Peasant and the Maiden of Cologne, which is settled in the history of the hotel.

Therefore the location is visited by a lot of citizens of Cologne and also friends of the Carnival Period, but invites as well tourists to enjoy the fifth season.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Cologne - within or outside the carnival season.


With kind regards,


Jeroen Mollé
Director of Operations

Pullman Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here for three nights during the week before Rosenmontag. Not an ideal time I admit - none of the benefits of carnival but a lot of the disruption. The day I arrived, the hotel lobby was packed with a brigade of brightly attired 'Oompah Oompah' members celebrating the run up to this season's carnival. Marvellous uniforms - but a bit noisy and certainly nowhere to sit. Same thing two days later. Fortunately, the reception staff had the good sense to install me on the eighth floor - far enough away from the jollities below to be completely quiet.

This is a first class business hotel with most of the facilities one would expect. My room nearly rated five stars: well designed, bright, quiet, first class view, tea and coffee making facilities, big flat-sceen television, easy to use safe, and comfortable bed. I could sleep well there. Unlike what it says on the leaflet in my room, the wifi is free to guests and is strong enough to support a decent video Skype call home. (You can even get BBC News and BBC 1 on TV if you scroll down far enough.) The only negative was in the bathroom. Now, I know hotels often use short baths, but this one was micro sized. I'm 5' 7'' tall and sitting in it, my knees could not extend beyond 90 degrees. But the rest of the bathroom was fine - and the whole room was spotlessly clean.

Most weeks, the public rooms would be fully up to four star standard. Breakfast was served in a large bright and very well laid out dedicated dining room. The choice was standard but the quality was good and the whole place seemed extremely well managed. But the main lobby lounge area was unusable - being given over completely to high round 'conference style' tables. Same thing for the bar.

I was in Cologne for a three day city break. The location of the hotel is not ideal - the U-Bahn stations at Appelhofplatz are just a little too far away - but it isn't nearly as bad as first appears. You don't need to run the gauntlet of the Zeughausstrasse and Burgmauer to get the the old city centre. Instead head south just one block and there is a very acceptable shopping pedestrian way called Breitestrasse which can take you all the way to the Hohestrasse in the old town, with just one major road to cross. And of course there are further shopping streets if you head still further south.

I didn't eat in the hotel. Leaving aside the Carnival celebrations, the restaurant is closed every Sunday and Monday evenings - and you do have to walk a fair distance to find lots of restaurants, There is room service if you can't be bothered.

The staff in the Pullman are excellent. Check-in and check-out are handled efficiently and in a friendly manner. Problems such as faulty equipment are dealt with within minutes.

At the beginning of my stay I was planning to give the Pullman just three stars (bath, location, public rooms etc) but that wouldn't have been fair. Its strengths exceed the irritations - which were largely due to the week in which I visited. Overall - even on that week - I enjoyed my stay there quite a lot.

Room tip: Go for high room. There are three lifts - I didn't have to wait more than a minute or so for one to come. And if you get an easterly facing room you'll have a super view of the Cathedral at sunset.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Pensioner_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here for a city break and enjoyed a really nice room, overlooking the cathedral. The room was clean, the bathroom was too - great shower, robes and slippers! We didn't use the restaurant as the breakfast was 24 Euros each, prefer to eat locally to experience the local fare. Hotel staff were great, helpful and knowledgeable of the area.

Room tip: We stayed on the 4th floor, not sure of the room type.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNCKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews