We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room and the service were incredible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our room and the service were incredible”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst for one incredibly memorable night. We were passing through by train and wanted to enjoy Cologne for one night. Due to the incredible location of the hotel, we were able to see a lot of the city in little time. First, the hotel is steps away from the train station, but not so close you can hear the trains, so you can be off the train and checked in within minutes. It is also directly across the street from the Cologne Cathedral. It is truly a site to behold. The service at the hotel is impeccable. We were informed when we checked in that we had been upgraded to a suite. It was a beautiful room and the views of the Cathedral and downtown from the room were amazing. We ate dinner at Hanse Stube, one of the hotel's restaurants, and we had one of the best meals of our lives. The mini bar in the Suite was complimentary although wifi was available but not complimentary. When we were there it felt like whatever we asked for the hotel provided. We ate very late (10:00pm) at the restaurant in the hotel and left a note on the pillow in the room for the hotel staff to change our pillows to hypo allergenic pillows. We were very pleasantly surprised when we discovered that our pillows were changed while we were eating after we returned to our room at midnight. The concierge was also incredibly helpful. In light of the amazing location, impeccable service and wonderful restaurant, we made memories that will last a lifetime. We would absolutely stay here again and we absolutely recommend the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

Room Tip: Request a view of the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, geschäftsführender Direktor at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your positive evaluation on ”tripadvisor“.
It´s great to read that you and your wife enjoyed the stay in our house.
We are really glad that you relished the dinner at Hanse Stube.
One of our main goals is to maintain a high service quality every day and to respond to the individual needs and requests of each guest. We are pleased to hear that the service of our concierge made you have memories that will last a lifetime.
We want you to feel at home as soon as you walk into the door of our hotel.
Thank you again for your comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    214
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
196
470
92
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Would like to offer compliments to all of the staff we encountered during our weekend stay. The hotel was fabulous in all respects and in addition it was very near the train station and the cathedral thus offering the perfect location for a short weekend stay in Cologne. Would most definitely recommend this for a sophisticated and understated hotel whose staff were all well informed, courteous and above all highly efficient.

Well done to all.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshfield08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführender Direktor at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel on “tripadvisor”.
We are proud to read that you appreciated our service quality since the employees of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst see it as a daily challenge to turn each guest’s stay into an unforgettable experience. Your comment that “the hotel was fabulous in all respects” shows us, that you were overall satisfied. This of course makes us more than happy.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Our six year old son found the magic mirror on the fifth floor. That is his reason for wanting to come back. For him this was a palace, fit for a princess. Excelsior Hotel Ernst is a great place to stay in Cologne. It has that grand style to it, not intimidating but accommodating. A lot of the right kind attention was given to our son, including his own slippers, bath robe and stuff in the room. Adds to parents pleasure, obviously. Nice and spacious room so that an extra bed was no stand in the way. Great breakfast. We did not try the restaurants at the hotel but that we will certainly do on our next visit.
Instead: Gaffel am Dom is the neighbouring very German 'brasserie'. Lots of noise, beer and good local food. Recommended. Sansone is the kind of authentic Italian restaurant that serves simplicity that you will remember for quite a while.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ennea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführender Direktor at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Ennea,

Thank you for your positive evaluation on ”tripadvisor“.
It is great to read that you and your family enjoyed the stay in our house. We are especially happy that your son had a great time here and wants to come back, because it is one of our main ambitions to also satisfy the needs of our little guests. Moreover, we are pleased that you were satisfied with your spacious room and that our breakfast gave you a great start into the day. We hope to also get the chance to convince you of the cuisine in one of our award-winning restaurants soon and your son again, perhaps in front of the magic mirror.

With best regards

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We arrived at the hotel and was overbooked...we had the smallest rooms I ever had in my life...but they make it look as the best room I ever stayed!!! THANK YOU..They offered us to move to other hotel around (Hotels in town were full) They made our stay the most confortabel possible even in a small...old... and too warm room...Was just for one night..EXCELSION HOTEL ENRST is 5* PLUS..Only in Cologne..TOP LUXURY. I understand why they are the top hotel in Cologne... Rooms Manager, Mr Christoph Spielvogel.. He was there, waiting for us to explain the situation and offer different alternatives... we decided to stay and he made our stay the best... he went beyond of normal...they are part of the Leading Hotels of The World... I'm a memeber of LWH as well... they treat me like Royalty... THANK YOU!! Christoph...EXCELLENCE in Customer Serivce!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführender Direktor at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Mancho,

Thank you for evaluating the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on “tripadvisor”.
We are very happy to read that despite the situation we faced and the small room you stayed in you obviously enjoyed your stay so much. Again we apologize for the inconvenience and hope to get the chance to accommodate you in one of our many beautiful and modernized rooms and suites some day. One of our main goals every day is to maintain a high service quality and to respond to the individual needs and requests of each guest. Mr. Spielvogel and his team at the front office want to make our guests feel at home as soon as they walk into the door. Therefore we are especially pleased to read your positive comments.
We again thank you for your evaluation and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damme, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Hy,

I just spend three nights in Cologne with my wife and kid.

This hotel is less than 2 minutes walking from the train station and right downtown (the old city).

We took the deluxe room (more room) because we were with three. Minibar included.

I asked also for breakfast and everything was included at a fair rate.

Staff personel are awsome and can arrange anything for you in Cologne.

I really enjoy our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe room are spacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2playgolf4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführender Direktor at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on “tripadvisor”.
We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that our services were to your satisfaction.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon here in Cologne.

With best regards

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here twice. Our first stay had some major disappointments and we complained at check out and again via email when we were back home. We received an apology from the general manager and an invitation for a second stay. Now THIS is service! The hotel has beautiful rooms and phenomenal bathrooms (in the renovated part of the hotel!!) The breakfast was outstanding, the staff very friendly. The only thing we did not like was that both times we stayed they rented most of the nice public spaces (inkluding half of the entrance hall which they can shut off with doors) to a privat function.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Managing Director at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear KarenE,

Thank you for evaluating the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on ‘tripadvisor’. We are very pleased that you accepted our apology after your first stay with us and that we were able to convince you of our house and our services during your second stay. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests and it is our main ambition to guarantee a consistently high level of service. Therefore, we are especially happy about your positive evaluation.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I am very impressed with this hotel and if you are looking for a good hotel, I recommend this hotel for you. Make sure you include the breakfast with your room rates. The breakfast is phenomenal. Staff here are wonderful too. The rooms are huge. water pressure in the shower is very good. Right next to the Dom and the train station. They don't have the wireless connection. you have to connect to telecom at the rate of 35 euros for a month.

Room Tip: facing the dom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Managing Director at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to evaluate the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on “tripadvisor”.

We are pleased, that you were impressed and enjoyed our breakfast buffet. It is our daily ambition to provide high service quality and to create a warm and cozy atmosphere. We are happy to read, that you were satisfied with your room and our outstanding location.

We thank you again for your evaluation and look forward to welcome you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,320 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,742 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,619 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 261 in Cologne
426 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing