We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand style and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grand style and comfort”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

As soon as you arrive in the classy hallway, you feel like ryalty. A kind, efficient and professional staff guarantee a care free stay. Very large and confortable rooms (love the floor heated bathroom!!!) and great beds. Excellent location. Breakfast was excellent, but little did we know we got one step closer to cullinary heaven in the japanese style restaurant Taku, just down the stairs.
One remark: pool is tiny, but this is understandable for a city center hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
It makes us proud that we could convince you with our service philosophy “Your individuality is our excellence”. To all our staff it is priority to make our guests feel at home as much as possible and that is why we go for the extra step. We are happy that you felt at ease in our room and that we could introduce to the culinary world of the taku, our star restaurant.

We hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

Warm regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    209
    58
    29
    13
See reviews for
189
459
88
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed at the Excelsior prior to a Christmas Markets Rhine cruise. We came in by train from Frankfurt so we could rest and get a head start on seeing the markets (Cologne has 7). The accomodations were lovely and very comfortable. Our room had a separate sitting area with a large, rotating flat screen TV. I was traveling with my elderly Mother and it was perfect. Items in the mini-bar are complimentary (the water was all 'sparkling') and when I looked out the window at night, the view of the cathedral in lights was a wonderful surprise.
I had emailed ahead of time and staff met us at the train station to help with our luggage (since I was traveling with my Mother), it is just a few minute walk away from the hotel. In fact, the location is so convenient, across from the Cathedral, near a number of the Xmas markets and a great spot from which to walk and explore. The hotel staff was very good with answers to my questions and directions.
We really enjoyed the afternoon high tea - which we had as our dinner on the day we arrived; it could not have been more perfect, included more than enough goodies, was totally unrushed and very relaxing. The day our rivercruise was going to depart, the staff graciously extended our checkout until 2pm - affording us some extra time in the morning to get to one more Xmas Market.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandfatherbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
We are glad that we could surprise you not only with central location next to the cathedral but also with the interior of our rooms. It is also great to read that we could convince you with our service philosophy. That our guests have the most enjoyable and comfortable stay is an important aspect to all of our staff. Thank you also for your compliment on our High Tea. It seemed like you had a great experience what makes us happy.

We hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

Warm regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Having read mainly good reviews for this hotel we decided on it for our Xmas market break. We were not disappointed! Everything about the great staff and hotel are true. We booked. Junior suite which is just amazing, with a fabulous bathroom, separate lounge area and dressing room.

This is the first hotel anywhere that has a free mini bar in the room which is re-stocked daily.
My only fault is that there is no coffee making facility in the room, and with a ten euro room service charge, it's a bit expensive if you just want a coffee.

The hotel has a lovely piano bar and great for a night cap or pre dinner drinks.

We ordered some visits and stollen to bring back home, which was excellent, made by the hotel, and packed in a lovely wooden box.
Highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again if in Cologne.

Room Tip: The junior suite is amazing and worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSZTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
It is great to read that we could meet the expectations you had upon arrival. We are also happy to read that you were more than satisfied with the Junior Suite and the Piano Bar.
House made “stollen” are sold every year at Christmas time and it is great to read that you took them even home with you. We are proud that we could convince you with our service philosophy.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at the Excelsior as we wanted to visit Cologne's Xmas markets.
We travelled by train to Cologne and as soon as you get out of the train station you see the magnificent cathedral and the hotel is less than a minute away.
Right from the outset the staff were superb - they were helpful, courteous and friendly and made us very welcome. They arranged 2 adjoining rooms and upgraded us.
The rooms were plush and extremely comfortable.
We had afternoon tea at the hotel which was excellent and definitely worth doing.
Finally, as we checked out the hotel we were told that due to a national strike in belgium there would be no trains that day - deep joy!. The receptionist checked flights out for us and helped book flights back to the UK for us. His help made a stressful situation manageable.
All in all, this has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I would have no hesitation in recommending it

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chedrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
It is great that we could surprise you with our central location next to the train station and the cathedral. We are glad that you felt so much at ease and that we could convince you with our service philosophy. It is important to all of our staff that guests have an unforgettable stay and that is why we are always eager to solve problems our guests may face during their stay.

We hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durris, Scotland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Having stayed for 1 night in July, we had high expectations for our return in December. Happily, the hotel is as good as ever. The levels of comfort in the bedrooms are very high, Taku restaurant is as superb as ever, but the outstanding aspect is the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. One slight niggle: we used the two remaining tissues in our bathroom just after arrival, and the box was not refilled during our 2 night stay. This minor lapse in housekeeping apart, we wholeheartedly recommend the hotel and shall return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
It makes us proud to read that we met and/or exceeded your expectations for a second time. It is great to read that that we could convince you with our service philosophy. That you were satisfied with our rooms and our restaurant “taku”, makes us proud. Our apologies for the inconvenience with the tissues and thank you for your comment on that. Of course we will keep this in mind when checking the rooms in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Another great Christmas shopping break in Cologne. An excellent Hotel, friendly and helpful staff well worth a visit. The Hotel was well situated for the shops and markets. Look forward to my visit again next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on our Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
It makes us happy that you had a wonderful time in Cologne and at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. It is great to read that we could surprise you with our central location. Thank you as well for your compliment to our staff. The service philosophy “Your individuality is our excellence” is not just a slogan; it’s a promise to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

First of all, the first thing I would say about this hotel is THE location... Just great, you walk from the railway station and this is it. It's opposite to the Cathedral and one of the Xmas markets (there are several in Cologne). Staff is very pleasant. Hotel lovely and as a Leading Hotels Club Member was upgraded to a Junior suite. Bathroom of the Junior suite are just great. Wish I could have the same at home. Unless mistaken, I did not find the hotel service directory in the room and breakfast was just OK. The buffet was relatively simple. I did not mind as I'm not a big "buffet breakfast". Hotel is nicely decorated especially during the Xmas season. Staff is friendly and helpful. I will definitely come back to the Excelsior next year. I was on business trip on my way to Bonn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
It is great to read that we could surprise you with our central location next to the station, cathedral and Christmas Markets. We are happy that we could convince you with our service philosophy and interior design in the Junior Suite. Thank you very much for your compliment to our Christmas decoration.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
2,218 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
1,689 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#15 of 262 in Cologne
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#26 of 262 in Cologne
1,983 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing