We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,322)
Filter reviews
1,322 results
Traveller rating
984
230
61
30
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
984
230
61
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshanse stubeleading hotels of the worldpiano bartrain stationthe free mini barbeautiful hotelturn down servicecologne cathedraljunior suitefive star hotelan upgradecathedral viewrooms are spaciousthe location is perfectin decemberchristmas marketbreakfast buffet is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 1,322 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We just stayed 2 nights after completing a river cruise down the Main and Rhine rivers. After being in a small room on the boat our room was extremely spacious and close to everything in Cologne. The staff were very helpful and recommended a great local pub where the beer and food were delicious and authentic! Would recommend this hotel to anybody holidaying in Cologne.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank SuellenRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear voyager,

Thank you for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst .Your personal opinion is the basis for our employees to guarantee a consistently high level of service. Thank you as well for the compliments on our rooms and the service. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your dinner at the local pub which was recommended by our concierge service.
Therefore, we are very happy about your positive evaluation and we would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to your acquaintances.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Amazing Hotel. Walked out of the train station and was inside the lobby within 2 minutes. The location is fantastic. The Dom, trainstation, shopping, food, etc... are all right outside your door - but when you enter the Hotel - it is 5 star all the way. Amazing staff - friendly and they speak English if you need them to. Quiet, luxurious, spacious, VERY helpful. It is expensive - but you get what you pay for!

A couple things to know:

They do not provide free WIFI. It's about $10.00 euro/day.

The great bar inside the Hotel allows smoking

Room Tip: Renovated rooms on 2nd floor - very quiet and peaceful and VERY luxurious.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Jeffrey,


thank you very much for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities.
Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed with my wife and two of our children for a couple of days to explore Cologne. We were given a comfortable room that consisted of two bedrooms: one for the children and one for us adults. The children were given teddy bears and some sweets, which impressed them. The windows gave straight to the Dom, which was a nice plus. Furthermore, we appreciated the free mini-bar and the excellent breakfast that was included in our room rate.

The location is perfect as it is next to the railway station and you can easily access all the places of interest in Cologne. If I ever need a hotel in Cologne again, I will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Finkki,

Thank you for your positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
It is great to read that we could surprise you not only with our excellent location next to the Cathedral and the fantastic view on the it but also with the little welcoming presents for the children. Our staff and we aim for making your stay an unforgettable experience.
We are happy that you had such a pleasant stay in Cologne and the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A nice place, well located to discover Koln and visit the messe.

Very friendly and helpful staff, nicely renovated rooms overall good quality. Hans Stube restaurant is excellent. Breakfast a bit clumsy setup and basic for a hotel at this level.

Wireless internet in the room a hassle to access, connection keeps dropping and slow. A 5 star hotel should simply provide free wifi in the whole place like, it's nothing different than water from the tap.

Overall OK.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanfromG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear JanfromG,

Thank you for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We are glad to read that you was pleased with the friendly and helpful staff and the facilities of the rooms. Thank you as well for the compliment regarding to our restaurant Hanse Stube. We deeply regret that we did not reach all of your expectations this time. We will verify your remark regarding to the internet access. We appreciate any kind of criticism. That way we can resolve your point of criticism satisfactorily.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have stayed at three others in the Leading Hotels of the World group, and they are all fabulous hotels if you like old-world style and excellent service (and are willing to pay for it). If you join the Leaders Club ($150USD/year) you get free room upgrades, Internet, and continental breakfast for two, which is probably worth it if you only stay for a few days. The Ernst is immediately adjacent to the rail station and the magnificent Dom, and Cologne is easy to get around. As others have said, the rooms are sumptuous; I particularly liked the offer of several different kinds of pillows. The concierge was most friendly and set up a one-day Rhine cruise for me, and ensured I knew exactly what to do, which was wonderful since I don't speak any German. The breakfast is excellent and is served until 11:00a.m. My only slight complaint is the Internet service; I stayed at three hotels in Germany on this trip and although the wi-fi service at the Ernst was the best, you're limited to 250mb uploads on any one session so your Skype call home will only last at most half an hour. You can keep renewing the sessions, but it's a bit annoying. All in all, though, I'm very happy with all the LHW and the Ernst was no exception.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOL55186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to evaluate the Excelsior Hotel Ernst as well for the compliments on our rooms and service philosophy on this portal.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and it is great to read that we could surprise you with our central location next to the Cathedral, the rail station and the historic centre.
We are very happy that our offer of several different kinds of pillows suits you.
Furthermore it we are glad that you are content with the exceptional advantages of being a Leaders Club member.
We would like to thank you for your constructive criticism relating to the internet access we will introduce the necessary steps to rectify the problem.

We hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.


Warm regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews