We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Excelsior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Excelsior”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

First of all, not everyone expects the same of an accommodation. Meaning, if I like something, it doesn’t mean that you (the reader) will also like this hotel.

For us, important are:
1. Location
2. Service
3. Cleanliness
4. Room / Quiet room
5. “Design”
6. Breakfast / restaurant

1. Location:
We came to Cologne to experience the start of the Carnival season. We wanted to be close to the “madness” but not in the smack middle of it.
The Excelsior Hotel Ernst is about a 90 second stroll from the train station (very convenient!), right across from Cologne’s most famous sight – the Koelner Dom (beautiful and impressive), and a short walk of about 5 minutes from Old Town and Heumarkt. As well, if you like shopping, you basically just stroll 2 minutes to one of Cologne’s main shopping areas.
2. Service:
I expect friendliness, efficiency and help, when we need it.
The Excelsior Hotel Ernst more than fulfilled all these requirements without ever coming across as being pushy or “we know better than you anyways”. Room service was great, too: Professional and polite and friendly.
You get the feeling, the staff just wants to help and please you wherever possible!
3. Cleanliness:
Very satisfied with it! I felt comfortable enough to walk around in our room barefeet.
4. Room / Quiet room:
Our purpose for a hotel room is to stay and SLEEP in it. I am waking at the tiniest bit of noise.
Of course, you never can guarantee not to have rowdy hotel guests that spoil it all for you. But street noise and such is something that you can avoid.
Upon booking, we asked for a quiet room. The staff graciously upgraded us to a suite: Room 305/306
The living room faces the square in front of Koelner Dom – what a beautiful view we had. Not only of the Dom, but also of all the fun Carnival activities below (without needing to be in the middle of it).
The bedroom was out to the quiet back, courtyard area of the hotel.
It was quiet, and we had a wonderful time!
And: I am sure, that even without our upgrade the hotel would have done everything to put us into a quiet regular room!
5. Design:
I am not a fan of hypermodern everything. I want my amenities, but prefer some kind of charme.
This hotel is it! Our room had a nice mix of old/antic furniture in the living room and nice and modern (but not cold) looking furniture in the bedroom. The bathroom was clear cut, yet stylish.
6. Breakfast / Restaurant:
I have to admit, we are probably food snobs. Yes, we can go and get a Kebab or go to a fast food restaurant (plenty of these around the hotel!).
But for a nice dinner we prefer a peaceful venue with well prepared food out of excellent ingredients, but still sort of homestyle and not too fancy. Meaning: The ambience should not feel like you are in a church where you don’t dare moving or talking, and food with “infusions” of something sometimes makes me wonder, if they don’t know how to bring out the best of basics.
Breakfast: buffet style plus staff offering cooked items for you.
Everyone should be able to find something out of these German style breakfast offerings. They even had soy milk. My favorite: Honey directly from a honeycomb!
Piano Bar: Just a little more upscale than others hotel bars I know. My favorite is French champagne – and they had THREE to offer BY THE GLASS!!!
Restaurant: We went to “Hanse Stube”. Clean cut, yet cozy and WONDERFUL, EXCELLENT food! It was exactly what we were looking for! Another example for the hotel’s great service: At the end of dinner you were being offered sweets – a tray of choices of chocolate truffels. The pure thought of it makes me topple over in excitement again ;->
Also: We had a bottle of wine with dinner, that we did not finish. It was the most normal thing for the restaurant to send the remaining ½ bottle up to our room (with new glasses mind you!) to enjoy it there in peace and quiet.

For more details check out the hotel’s website: http://www.excelsiorhotelernst.com

Bottom line: We absolutely LOVE this hotel! It was OUR perfect stay and I can only recommend it!
This is one out of the many hotels we have been to where we looked at each other many times and said “this feels almost like home”!

Thanks to the ENTIRE staff at the hotel again to pamper their guests and really make you feel welcome and well cared for!

Room Tip: If you have special requests for a room, I urge you to call the hotel directly - they will ensure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear familynomad,

Thank you for your detailed and positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities. Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    215
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
202
478
93
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

this hotel is completely enchanting. we were offered a free upgrade to a beautiful suite with a magnificent view of the dom. the hotel itself is slightly worn out, but this really just adds to the character. it really is beautiful. our suite was huge, everything you need, and we felt like a royal couple. lol.
the restaurant completely blew us away. fine dining at its best. yes with prices to match but you get what you pay for. and boy was it an experience. tried things we would never normally try. and it was all beautifully presented and so tasty. cannot wait to go back. xx

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBtheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear voyager,

Thank you for your detailed and positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities and that we could introduce to the culinary world of our restaurant. We are especially happy that you felt so comfortable and royally in our suite.
Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

If you are traveling by train, the Excelsior Hotel Ernst is ideally located, just across the plaza from the train station (two minute walk) and next to the Dom. The hotel is somewhat costly but is well worth it. Our (recently remodeled) room was spotless, with a small view of the cathedral, but facing the interior, so it was very quiet. The bathroom was simply decadent -- dual sinks with separate (huge!) standing shower leading into a bathtub.

The breakfast room was an experience -- very pricey but well stocked and located inside two beautiful rooms. The staff was wonderful, always eager to help out. I cannot say enough about them, always welcoming and pleasant.

The only downsides are that internet was quite expensive and required 24 hour passes, and the room key (which you can leave with the concierge) was heavy and cumbersome. However these are very minor. Despite the cost I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Pierre J.,

Thank you for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our hotel in this portal. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests.
From that we take our aspiration to guarantee a consistently high level of service.
Therefore we are especially happy about your positive evaluation. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Thank you as well for the compliments on our rooms, bathrooms and the breakfast. It is great to read that we could surprise you with our central location next to the Cathedral and train station.

We hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

Warm regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Don't know why I choose 5 star hotels - they are impersonal and expensive! Next time ill get a smaller one which includes breakfast, €29 each is too much. This is a quality hotel though, more so in the public areas. Our room was large but the furniture was worn and tired and out of date.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear matt c,

We appreciate your effort to assess our hotel.
We deeply regret that we did not reach your expectations in every way this time. We will verify your remark immediately. That way we can resolve your point of criticism satisfactorily.


For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed in the hotel with our two kids (7&9) for a week.
We had connected rooms which were perfect for us. Both rooms were spacious, clean and nicely arranged.

The staff was always helpful, friendly and supportive in case of questions.

The breakfast was always on the high side ... enjoyed it very much!

As the hotel is just around the corner from the Dom and the central train station, the location is really perfect to explore the city.

A tip if you arrive with the train. Ask the concierge to pick you up from the train station directly in case you have some larger pieces of luggage as it is quite cumbersome to get all the stuff to the hotel in one go (no baggage cart available).

All in all a perfect stay - THANKS

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4_On_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your positive evaluation on ”tripadvisor“.
It is great to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and that we could surprise you with the central location of the hotel opposite the Cologne cathedral.
We are glad that the interior of our rooms convinced you and we are especially happy that you was content with the breakfast .

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards
Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

From the moment we crossed the threshold we were treated to service of the highest quality. The staff were professional, attentive and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring that our stay was a good one; they succeeded. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was extremely well appointed, comfortable and entirely appropriate for a wedding anniversary weekend. The room was immaculate and despite overlooking a road extremely quiet.

The hotel is ideally situated for the Dom, being only 30 seconds away, and for the main shopping area and several tourist spots. There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance and a plethora of nice cafés to enjoy kafee and kuchen in a typically German style.

We would happily stay in the Excelsior again it was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for taking your time to evaluate the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on this portal.

We are very proud to read that you appreciated our service quality and we are very happy that you felt at ease in the Junior Suite. We are delighted to read that you had such a pleasant stay in Cologne and enjoyed the habitation at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.


For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I was lucky to be upgraded to a suite, a great room with all confort.
I strongly suggest to prove the breakfast that is awesome and incredibly rich. You can spend an entire morning. The service was in all aspects perfect.
A great experience that I would suggest to everybody!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuppieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear GiuppieG,

Thank you very much for taking your time to evaluate the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on this portal.

It is our daily ambition to create a comfortable atmosphere for every guest each day anew; therefore we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt well attended by the service team. Furthermore we are glad that you relished our comprehensive breakfast offering.

We hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

Warm regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,396 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,659 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 260 in Cologne
1,770 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#22 of 260 in Cologne
433 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 260 in Cologne
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing