We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,416)
Filter reviews
1,416 results
Traveller rating
1,067
239
62
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
239
62
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanse stube leading hotels of the world piano bar train station the free mini bar beautiful hotel pillow menu renovated room cologne cathedral five star hotel cathedral view an upgrade perfect stay large bathroom the location is perfect breakfast buffet is in december
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 1,416 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A nice 5-star oasis at the foot of the Dom away from all the activities in Cologne but still at the heart of it. We were at the front with Dom view at quite a good two-day rate during weekdays. But the room(s?) in this part of the hotel were dated, going back to the 80s. Breakfast very nice but did not bowl us over. Downstairs Bar is a hit though if you like an all-lacquered-oak American style bar with great bartending. Those were our finest hours in the hotel. Rooms at the far back are allegedly fully renovated but without Dom view. Latter is not a problem as you can't escape Dom views wherever you are in Cologne anyway.

Room tip: Ask for the fully renovated ones.....
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendrikV536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I can't imagine a finer hotel in all of Cologne. It really wa a wonderful experience staying at this grand establishment. We chose a junior suite for myself, my husband and our 10 year old daughter. The room was lovely, large, well lit and had all the amentities you could ask for. The free mini bar which was replenished twice a day consisted of juices, sparkling and still water, and of course, Kölsch. There was also a menu for every type of pillow you could ever imagine. My daughter chose a horse hair pillow just for the fun of it and it was there for evening turndown. The hotel itself is in a wonderful area. It is located directly across the street from Dom Cathedral and if you are there for the Christmas markets you are a five minute walk from the doorstep to the entrance. There are wonderful restaurants next door or across the street including, Früe am Dom and Gaffel Haus to name a few. The shopping mile and the train station are also just a few minutes walk from the hotel making everything easily accessible. We will definitely return to Cologne one day and this is the only place I will stay....We have been completely spoiled!

Room tip: Join the Leaders Club (there is a fee) and book through their website for free room upgrades, wifi and breakfast.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melzyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My one night stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst was faultless. This is a classic, old-style 5 star hotel. Service is impeccable without being over the top. The rooms are large and immaculately clean with quality fittings and furnishings. They don't make hotels like this any more. Very conveniently located right next to the Cologne central station. Price was very reasonable (and certainly much better value than similar standard hotels in Australia. They could learn a thing or two...). Highly recommended

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greece0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

i loved staying here, the large suites are a treat and feel very special, under floor heating in the bathroom in the midst of snow storm was a bonus and as was sumptous breakfast buffet. Reception was smooth and solicitous and the free minibar a welcome change.

Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This hotel is simply wonderful. From being met at the train station, reception staff, fabulous breakfast, spotless rooms . Everything was excellent. I've travelled the world and stayed in some lovely hotels but this is the Best hotel I've ever stayed in.

Date of stay: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews