We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING HOTEL”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Probably one of the best hotels in Germany. It is located by the train station and cathedral in a luxurious building. Staff are pleasant and helpful and rooms well equipped with a free bar, although strangely no free Wi-Fi. All that could be expected is in place. Food is superb and service outstanding. What can I say, but you have to be well off or get a deal!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear reiver59,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our hotel in this portal. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests. From that we take our aspiration to guarantee a consistently high level of service. Therefore we are especially happy about your positive evaluation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    214
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
196
470
92
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Where to start? This outstanding hotel in an outstanding location with an outstanding staff, rooms and restaurant. I cant recall ever staying at a hotel that is so absolutely conveniently and centrally located. It is right across from the Cologne Cathedral, Christmas Markets, shopping and restaurants. It is also about a 30 second walk from the Cologne Hauptbanhof which really comes in handy if one is adventuring out on an early morning train which we did a couple of times.For that matter it is also extremely convenient if you return to Cologne late at night.

The rooms are large with high ceilings and every possible amenity one could want. The service throughout the hotel from doorman to front desk to room service to housekeeping and the restaurants is absolutely the very best in every possible way. The morning breakfast was to die for it was so delicious and freshly baked rolls too!

An extra plus was the balcony in the lobby where coffee or drinks are served. It has a wonderful view overlooking the cathedral and plaza. It was even more special being able to look out into the Christmas decorations and lights around the cathedral.

It seems that even by giving the hotel the maximum 5 stars we are not giving the hotel its proper credit. This hotel is truly a gem in every possible way. I am quite sure that some Christmas we will be returning to this wonderfully charming hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear B G,

Thank you for your detailed and positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities. Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a elegant and charming hotel bang in the middle of the city. The rooms are large and well allocated with everything you would need an expect. The hotel offers a great sense of space. The service was great - all the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tillytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear tillytastic,

Thank you for your positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities. Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very elegant and old fashioned five star hotel. Looks spectacular throughout and is perfectly located in the very centre of the city. High class establishment and everything is exactly as you would expect from this kind of place. The service is top quality, friendly staff who are happy to help with any enquiries, and everything about the hotel just oozes class and elegance. Spectacular large rooms, beautiful communal areas and the restaurant and breakfast was amongst the best I've experienced. The free minibar was an excellent touch and you can swap what you have in there, which was great.

The only downside was that the "spa" was extremely disappointing, very small and basic which was completely out of character with the rest of the hotel. But as this would have been a bonus I won't let it affect my overall view of the hotel, especially since I got such an amazing deal on my stay here. This is a perfect base for exploring the beautiful city of Cologne.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our hotel in this portal.

We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities. Your comments help us to improve our personalized service and to anticipate our guest’s individual desires.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Beautiful hotel in the middle of Cologne facing directly the Dom. We had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate a second to return if opportunity would com up. Both restaurants deliver good food at respectively high prices.

Room Tip: See if you can get good view on the Dom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear William S,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our hotel in this portal. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests. From that we take our aspiration to guarantee a consistently high level of service. Therefore we are especially happy about your positive evaluation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnegie, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is definitely a five star hotel but in the "old fashioned" or "fancy" style in our opinion. That suits some people more than others.

Check in was fast and we were taken to our room, which was one of the newer ones or at least in a newer or renovated part of the hotel. It was a great room - spacious, comfy beds, a pillow menu, air con that worked, and a lovely large shower with an overhead showerhead as well as a side one. The room was kept super clean and tidy each day by friendly housekeepers. In fact, the staff were all fantastic and a special thanks to Patrick the concierge for his assistance on a number of occasions.

We were given a small treat from the kitchen each day eg macaroons, cakes, fruit, which was a nice touch. We had room service dinner twice - decent range and tasty food. EUR10 for each delivery other than drinks seemed a bit steep though. The food arrived quite quickly each time. We had breakfast each day in the restaurant (EUR32 per person), and it was probably a little below average in terms of variety compared to other five star hotels we have stayed in, particularly on the hot food in the buffet. You can have a continental version for EUR23 but note that they bring this to you as opposed to most other places where this entitles you to all bar the hot food. It's basically bread, a croissant, a pile of cheese and ham, some jam and honey and coffee/tea/juice. There were also other a la carte options, but we didn't try any of them.

The hotel is really well located for the main train station (2 minutes walk) and the Cathedral (right across the road), as well as many other attractions. The guys working on the front door were always really friendly.

The fitness room/gym lets the hotel down a bit at the moment, but these things are easily fixed. There is one bike (with removed feet straps and nowhere to put a water bottle or an ipod), two treadmills (one is broken and the other one is confused about miles and kilometres but it works), one cross trainer (again nowhere to put a water bottle or an ipod) and some free weights and other machines. The room is heated (!!) rather than having an air conditioner that can be turned on to cool it down, which is more common in five star hotels now. Water bottles are provided as are clean towels.

We stayed at the hotel for New Year's Eve and this is really where my "old fashioned" comment comes from, and it's more about the other guests than anything. We were on a long trip from a long way away and so were not travelling with ball gowns, suits and other evening wear. We went to the New Year's Eve "walking dinner", where the food was great but the lack of tables to actually sit and eat was not so great (I guess that's the point of a walking dinner). A lot of people were seriously dressed up and we dressed up a bit (as much as we could but definitely underdressed compared to the ball gowns) and kept getting all these looks from other other guests up and down. This was definitely a special occasion for them and we were not told it would be black tie! Now, being thick skinned Aussies we didn't care at all and kept walking and eating, but it did become a bit annoying. We even found people dressed up the following day at the New Year's Day brunch! So it was sort of "fancy old fashioned" five star hotel rather than "relaxed" five star where you are accepted as is. So we didn't really fit in with all that, but as I noted above, we found the staff in the hotel very welcoming and helpful. So if you want fancy old fashioned five star, then this is a good option for you. But if you want a bit more relaxed five star, then I'd suggest you look at other places.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Feeber,

Thank you for your detailed and positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and have forwarded your kind comments about our staff to the referred employees. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests. From that we take our aspiration to guarantee a consistently high level of service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel looks magical from the outside so when I saw on there Xmas market stand that they did afternoon tea I thought we would try it out. They recommend you book in advance so I went in to book and found they were very helpful and spoke good English. My booking was taken and no pre-payment required.
When we arrived for tea our coats were wisked away and we were shown personally to our table. There was an extensive 'tea' menu and the accompanying cakes and sandwiches were delightful and plentiful. Don't be afraid to ask them to box up those you cannot eat so you can take them away for later !
Oh and you do not have to be a resident to enjoy this service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear John N,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our high tea in this portal.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon at our hotel. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests and are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,302 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 260 in Cologne
1,738 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 260 in Cologne
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,034 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 260 in Cologne
425 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing