We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,375)
Filter reviews
1,375 results
Traveller rating
1,029
237
61
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,029
237
61
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshanse stubeleading hotels of the worldpiano bartrain stationthe free mini barbeautiful hotelturn down servicecologne cathedralfive star hoteljunior suitewonderful stayan upgraderooms are spaciousthe location is perfectin decemberchristmas marketbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 1,375 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 reasons:
1. Location
2. Culinary experience at Hanse Stube Restaurant.

However, we were very disappointed with the check-in service.

We arrived at 12pm, and we had been told the room was not ready.
It was fine the first time as I already booked our lunch at Hanse Stube Restaurant for our culinary experience.

Three and a half hour later, we'd been told, the room was still not ready prepared.

A staff informed us, if we were in the hurry, they could give us another room, but the room won't be nicer than the current one.

So, we waited.

We paid good money for a-night stay here; and as a holiday maker, we really wanted to a good experience from the stay.

The staff offered us complimentary drinks and asked us to come back half an hour later.
It was 330pm.

Trust me, after having a lunch at the restaurant, there was only "this" much you can stomach in. All we wanted was to check in and a shower!

4pm. Still no room.

Nearly half of my day gone here in Cologne.

430pm and the room was ready finally.

Despite all the positive comments about professionalism, our stay was way to brief to leave another positive note.

Never again.

Check in date: 31st May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pharmerfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear pharmerfoo,

Thank you for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor and sharing your expressions with us.

As we received your feedback also on a more direct way, we replied personally to you.

We are looking forward hearing from you and would be delighted for another possibility to convince you of the service and quality of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

With warm regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent three nights staying at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. A truly wonderful experience. A beautiful hotel in the perfect location. We had requested a superior room and were most fortunate to be upgraded. Room 401 was fabulous, overlooking the Cathedral. Comfortable bedroom and spacious bathroom with a large sitting area. The staff were all extremely welcoming and friendly. We attended a champagne reception one evening which was superb, followed by a VIP dinner in the lovely dining room. The food was delicious and the service exceptional. The hotel is beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean.
I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to family and friends and would be delighted to return myself on our next visit to Cologne.

Room Tip: Room 401 was delightful, extremely spacious with a pleasant decor. There was a small balcony which overlooked the Cathedral. The free mini-bar was an added bonus.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear DeborahLBrisbane,

Thank you very much for leaving a comment about your stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

The entire team of the hotel would like to thank you very much for your compliments. We are delighted that you felt comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay with us. This is a huge motivation in our quest of creating unforgettable moments for our guests.

We are very glad to hear that you will keep us in mind for your next visit of Cologne and that you will recommend us to your friends and family.

Looking very much forward to welcome you again I remain

With warm regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just arrived back home today from Cologne after spending three nights at the Excelsior. The hotel is well situated with Cologne Cathedral immediately opposite along with the shopping district and many bars and restaurants. From the moment we arrived, we were looked after by the staff who were very professional, welcoming and friendly. We were shown to our room personally by one of the reception staff and our luggage was brought up separately as part of the concierge service. Our room was on the fourth floor and was excellent, you are supplied with bath robes, slippers, free mini bar, a choice of pillows but ultimately the housekeeping was first class with fresh towels every day. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The concierge had arranged our transfer to and from the hotel from the airport and this was also faultless. We were here for our wedding anniversary and the hotel arranged for some fresh chocolate covered strawberries and a card to be delivered to our room on the day, which was a lovely touch. We did not eat here as we found the prices a little too expensive, however, we did have a drink in the piano bar, which was excellent. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel and will be stopping here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firecon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear firecon28,

We would like to thank you for patronizing the Excelsior Hotel Ernst for your wedding anniversary and hope you had a safe journey back home.

Thank you for taking the time to share your expressions about your stay with us and for your warm compliments.

Each of our employees is anxious to create unforgettable moments for our guests and we are delighted that we have been successful while your stay.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was in Cologne for the day and spent a very pleasant lunch in the restaurant.

The staff were really professional and well trained. I had the daily three course lunch special for €33 and it was excellent - the petite fours at the end were a special bonus. I had a couple of very good glasses of German wine and would highly recommend the experience.

I was the youngest by a decade or so ( I'm 47 !!) so don't go there to meet the hip youngsters of Cologne

Location is second to none, opposite Cathedral and next to the station - I cannot wait to go back again - this time to stay !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivanpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Ivanpowell,

Thank you very much for visiting our Restaurant and for leaving this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor.

The entire team of the Hanse Stube has been delighted to read your great compliments. This is a fantastic motivation in our quest of quality and service and approves the hard work of all of our employees.

We are looking very much forward to your first stay at our hotel.

On behalf of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team I remain

With best regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is perfectly located. The employees are really professional, careful and the rooms are amazing!
At breakfast you can request eggs tailor made cooked,plenty of juices,... they have gluten-free, lactose-free and bio food.
Great service and great location!

Room Tip: We have booked a superior room and had the chance to be upgrated so I don't know the price of lux room but they are worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ophélie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Ophélie G,

We are more than glad to read your wonderful comment here at Tripadvisor and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your expressions with us.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and would like to assure you that your comment will be shared with our entire team. This is a huge motivation in our endeavour of creating unforgettable moments for our guests.

We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future and remain

With best regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews