We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,382)
Filter reviews
1,382 results
Traveller rating
1,036
237
61
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,036
237
61
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanse stube leading hotels of the world piano bar train station the free mini bar beautiful hotel turn down service cologne cathedral five star hotel junior suite wonderful stay an upgrade rooms are spacious the location is perfect in december christmas market breakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 1,382 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I loved just about everything about this hotel. It is beautiful, immaculate, quiet, and perfectly located near the train station and across the street from the cathedral. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The staff was wonderful with little touches throughout our stay all the way to our departure. Breakfast was incredible with the best hot chocolate in the world. One suggestion - instead of having the minibar included in the cost of the room, provide free wifi. It was the one aggravation of our stay.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank NRMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear NRMomof4,

Thank you for patronizing the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and we hope you had a safe journey back home.

We appreciate that you took the time to leave this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor and I will be glad to share it with the entire team. It means a great motivation for us and our endeavour of creating unforgetable stays for our guests.

Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously and will consider your advise regarding free wifi in our future planning.

We are looking forward to your next visit of Cologne and the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and remain

With best regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Echoing the positive comments by other reviewers, it's hard to fault the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We stayed with two children aged 11 and 8 and arrived by train with lots of baggage, but we had no trouble reaching the hotel from the central station on foot. Just cross the square at the foot of the cathedral and you're there. No taxi required.
A couple of street smarts: there is free WiFi at Starbucks at the train station, if you're not willing to pay for the internet in the hotel. But, frustrated with the slow internet at Starbucks, we ended up paying for WiFi in the hotel anyway and found it was significantly faster.
The hop-on hop-off bus tour departs every half hour directly opposite the hotel. Very convenient.
We had booked a family room but our 8-year-old slept on the couch because there was no space for a second spare bed. This wasn't ideal, but the hotel had forewarned us when I called them to confirm our booking.
The continental breakfast buffet was exceptional and the service impeccable. But at around 20 Euros per person (including children), bring a big appetite. Or order a la carte. We ended up at one of the many bakeries at the train station on 2 out of 3 mornings.
Like other reviewers, I would have no hesitation in staying at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst again, or recommending it to friends. We loved every minute and the hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay special.
First, the hotel had taken down our children's names and arranged for a plate with some chocolates, a cupcake and a drink for each of them, with their names written on the plate. Very nice touch.
Second, our departure was a little rushed due to changes in the train schedule, so the hotel staff loaded our baggage onto a trolley and brought it from the reception right up to the train platform. What amazing service!

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard, and it was exceptionally quiet. We didn't need a view of the cathedral, because you can't miss it anyway when you leave the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mark L,

Thank you for leaving this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor and sharing your impressions with us.

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel comfortable.

As we are confident that our little guests are as much important as the grown ups we are generating a variety of kids amenities and specials right now to extend the "Excelsior Hotel Ernst Experience" for all children.

We are looking very much forward for your next stay with us and we are tens for your feedback.

With warm regards to you and your family

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel has owned and managed by the same family for 150 years but the rooms are fully modern and up to date. Curiously beverages from the fridge are free but there is a 9 euro per day charge for wifi.
Despite being located on the plaza between the central train station and the cathedral, two highly trafficed areas, the rooms are quiet. Service is impeccable, the breakfast buffet, endless, but beware of the push to have you take the full menu in the expensive restaurants. The hotel is a shot walk from the concert hall and two of the principal museums, in brief the location is superb. There is map with jogging and walking routes which was very handy. The rooms were exceptionally comfortable and good sized.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clematis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Clematis_10,

I would like to thank you for patronizing the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with your stay at our Hotel and take this as a motivation for our endeavour of creating unforgettable moments.

Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and will note your advise regarding the internet prizing for our future planning.

We are looking very much orward to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and remain

With kind regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 reasons:
1. Location
2. Culinary experience at Hanse Stube Restaurant.

However, we were very disappointed with the check-in service.

We arrived at 12pm, and we had been told the room was not ready.
It was fine the first time as I already booked our lunch at Hanse Stube Restaurant for our culinary experience.

Three and a half hour later, we'd been told, the room was still not ready prepared.

A staff informed us, if we were in the hurry, they could give us another room, but the room won't be nicer than the current one.

So, we waited.

We paid good money for a-night stay here; and as a holiday maker, we really wanted to a good experience from the stay.

The staff offered us complimentary drinks and asked us to come back half an hour later.
It was 330pm.

Trust me, after having a lunch at the restaurant, there was only "this" much you can stomach in. All we wanted was to check in and a shower!

4pm. Still no room.

Nearly half of my day gone here in Cologne.

430pm and the room was ready finally.

Despite all the positive comments about professionalism, our stay was way to brief to leave another positive note.

Never again.

Check in date: 31st May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pharmerfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear pharmerfoo,

Thank you for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor and sharing your expressions with us.

As we received your feedback also on a more direct way, we replied personally to you.

We are looking forward hearing from you and would be delighted for another possibility to convince you of the service and quality of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

With warm regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent three nights staying at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. A truly wonderful experience. A beautiful hotel in the perfect location. We had requested a superior room and were most fortunate to be upgraded. Room 401 was fabulous, overlooking the Cathedral. Comfortable bedroom and spacious bathroom with a large sitting area. The staff were all extremely welcoming and friendly. We attended a champagne reception one evening which was superb, followed by a VIP dinner in the lovely dining room. The food was delicious and the service exceptional. The hotel is beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean.
I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to family and friends and would be delighted to return myself on our next visit to Cologne.

Room Tip: Room 401 was delightful, extremely spacious with a pleasant decor. There was a small balcony which overlooked the Cathedral. The free mini-bar was an added bonus.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear DeborahLBrisbane,

Thank you very much for leaving a comment about your stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

The entire team of the hotel would like to thank you very much for your compliments. We are delighted that you felt comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay with us. This is a huge motivation in our quest of creating unforgettable moments for our guests.

We are very glad to hear that you will keep us in mind for your next visit of Cologne and that you will recommend us to your friends and family.

Looking very much forward to welcome you again I remain

With warm regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews