We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were wowed by this beautiful hotel from the minute we arrived, soaking wet from the train station! We were greeted with warmth and helpfulness and that continued throughout our stay. The breakfast was absolutely amazing! Too much to choose from! The free mini bar was a nice touch, but we agree that we would forego that for free wi fi. Otherwise, a definite thumbs up for this hotel that is so close to everything!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wbunny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Sn0wbunny44,

Thank you for your generous comment and for taking the time to share your expressions with us. We are glad to see that you have been pleased with our service and quality.
Regarding your advice of the free WiFi I am pleased to inform you that we will implement a SuitePad in every room this year. This SuitePad is a kind of tablet PC and informs you and all guests about news of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and the destination Cologne. With this SuitePad it is also possible to use the Internet for checking mails etc. Due to this implementation we are also planning to provide WiFi to all mobile devices free of charge.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future and to present all renewals to you.

With warm regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    214
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
196
470
92
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
594 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location with a view of the cathedral and walking distance to all of the sights. Staff is attentive but the hotel was clean but felt dated. The bathrooms could have used a face lift and the furniture in the bedroom was a bit worn and from another decade. Overall our stay was nice and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zosia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Zosia B,

Thank you very much for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return to our Hotel.
I appreciate your constructive critism about the hotel room and I am very pleased to inform you that we are updating and renovating our rooms continual. Two weeks ago we just finished the renovation of nine guest rooms, which will be presented on our Website and on Facebook very soon.

We are hoping to welcome you again in the not too distant future and remain

With warm regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I would say, it was really a Nice hotel just what we always expected for the 5* hotel. Me and my husband took this weekend get away coz it was nearby the tourist spots in Keulen, shopping streets, restaurant, and just 2 mins from the train station. The public parking we paid was 42euro for 3 days and it was just in front of this hotel.

I would say that it was really great to stay in this hotel. We stayed in superior room no. 509 with bubble Bath, apart shower and apart toilet. We have our own walking closet. The bedroom was just ok , i would not say a Wow feeling but the important it was clean. But the bathroom floor to the toilet was lots of stains maybe from the cleaning product but it was not good to look when the sun is there.The frame from the toilet door had a stained too and the heating nxt to the toilet the cleaning woman forget to cleaned and If I noticed it so everybody who occupied the room will noticed too.

5* hotel without free internet, if u need it so badly u need to Pay 24hours for 9€. If u want to rent a movie in your room that can Cost 17euro. For all the hotel we had been this is the only hotel no free internet.

The staffs are very attentive and friendly. The breakfast you will not regret coz it was excellent. The decors in the breakfast room was subliem in my own taste.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Sharon G,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for sharing your impressions with us.

Please accept our apologize for the stains and the uncleaned heating next to the toilet. I would like to assure you that this is absolutely not to our standard and we will make sure that these kind of shortcomings will be eliminated in the future.

Regarding the Internet I am pleased to inform you that we are planning to provide Internet on all Mobile Devices free of charge in the nearest future and that we will implement a SuitePad on every room. This is kind of tablet PC which will inform our guests about all news about the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and the destination Cologne and which will also give our guests the possibility to check Emails and to use the Internet.

We are glad to read that our staff and our breakfast convinced you about the service and quality and we are looking very much forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

With kind regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times while traveling on business. The location of this hotel is hard to beat, given it is right next to the train station. The staff is lovely and helpful. My biggest complaint about this hotel is that it is somewhat old and outdated. I would highly suggest asking for a room in the newly renovated wing. I think the rooms are much nicer there. The wifi connection at the hotel is a bit temperamental, which is annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer wing. They are much nicer there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelsnobbija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear hotelsnobbija,

First of all we would like to thank you for your several stays with us and for taking the time to share your impressions via Tripadvisor.

Please be assured that we are continously anxious about updating and renovating our rooms and that we are also in a period of updating another wing of our hotel right now. Our staff would be glad to show you around during your next stay so that you could get an impression about the future planning at our traditional hotel.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and we are wishing you a lovely summer.

With warm regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I loved just about everything about this hotel. It is beautiful, immaculate, quiet, and perfectly located near the train station and across the street from the cathedral. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The staff was wonderful with little touches throughout our stay all the way to our departure. Breakfast was incredible with the best hot chocolate in the world. One suggestion - instead of having the minibar included in the cost of the room, provide free wifi. It was the one aggravation of our stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NRMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear NRMomof4,

Thank you for patronizing the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and we hope you had a safe journey back home.

We appreciate that you took the time to leave this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor and I will be glad to share it with the entire team. It means a great motivation for us and our endeavour of creating unforgetable stays for our guests.

Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously and will consider your advise regarding free wifi in our future planning.

We are looking forward to your next visit of Cologne and the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and remain

With best regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Echoing the positive comments by other reviewers, it's hard to fault the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We stayed with two children aged 11 and 8 and arrived by train with lots of baggage, but we had no trouble reaching the hotel from the central station on foot. Just cross the square at the foot of the cathedral and you're there. No taxi required.
A couple of street smarts: there is free WiFi at Starbucks at the train station, if you're not willing to pay for the internet in the hotel. But, frustrated with the slow internet at Starbucks, we ended up paying for WiFi in the hotel anyway and found it was significantly faster.
The hop-on hop-off bus tour departs every half hour directly opposite the hotel. Very convenient.
We had booked a family room but our 8-year-old slept on the couch because there was no space for a second spare bed. This wasn't ideal, but the hotel had forewarned us when I called them to confirm our booking.
The continental breakfast buffet was exceptional and the service impeccable. But at around 20 Euros per person (including children), bring a big appetite. Or order a la carte. We ended up at one of the many bakeries at the train station on 2 out of 3 mornings.
Like other reviewers, I would have no hesitation in staying at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst again, or recommending it to friends. We loved every minute and the hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay special.
First, the hotel had taken down our children's names and arranged for a plate with some chocolates, a cupcake and a drink for each of them, with their names written on the plate. Very nice touch.
Second, our departure was a little rushed due to changes in the train schedule, so the hotel staff loaded our baggage onto a trolley and brought it from the reception right up to the train platform. What amazing service!

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard, and it was exceptionally quiet. We didn't need a view of the cathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mark L,

Thank you for leaving this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor and sharing your impressions with us.

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel comfortable.

As we are confident that our little guests are as much important as the grown ups we are generating a variety of kids amenities and specials right now to extend the "Excelsior Hotel Ernst Experience" for all children.

We are looking very much forward for your next stay with us and we are tens for your feedback.

With warm regards to you and your family

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel has owned and managed by the same family for 150 years but the rooms are fully modern and up to date. Curiously beverages from the fridge are free but there is a 9 euro per day charge for wifi.
Despite being located on the plaza between the central train station and the cathedral, two highly trafficed areas, the rooms are quiet. Service is impeccable, the breakfast buffet, endless, but beware of the push to have you take the full menu in the expensive restaurants. The hotel is a shot walk from the concert hall and two of the principal museums, in brief the location is superb. There is map with jogging and walking routes which was very handy. The rooms were exceptionally comfortable and good sized.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clematis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Clematis_10,

I would like to thank you for patronizing the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with your stay at our Hotel and take this as a motivation for our endeavour of creating unforgettable moments.

Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and will note your advise regarding the internet prizing for our future planning.

We are looking very much orward to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and remain

With kind regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,320 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,742 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,620 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#20 of 261 in Cologne
426 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing