We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveller rating
1,035
237
61
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,035
237
61
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanse stube leading hotels of the world piano bar train station the free mini bar beautiful hotel turn down service cologne cathedral five star hotel junior suite wonderful stay an upgrade rooms are spacious the location is perfect in december christmas market breakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location with a view of the cathedral and walking distance to all of the sights. Staff is attentive but the hotel was clean but felt dated. The bathrooms could have used a face lift and the furniture in the bedroom was a bit worn and from another decade. Overall our stay was nice and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zosia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Zosia B,

Thank you very much for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return to our Hotel.
I appreciate your constructive critism about the hotel room and I am very pleased to inform you that we are updating and renovating our rooms continual. Two weeks ago we just finished the renovation of nine guest rooms, which will be presented on our Website and on Facebook very soon.

We are hoping to welcome you again in the not too distant future and remain

With warm regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I would say, it was really a Nice hotel just what we always expected for the 5* hotel. Me and my husband took this weekend get away coz it was nearby the tourist spots in Keulen, shopping streets, restaurant, and just 2 mins from the train station. The public parking we paid was 42euro for 3 days and it was just in front of this hotel.

I would say that it was really great to stay in this hotel. We stayed in superior room no. 509 with bubble Bath, apart shower and apart toilet. We have our own walking closet. The bedroom was just ok , i would not say a Wow feeling but the important it was clean. But the bathroom floor to the toilet was lots of stains maybe from the cleaning product but it was not good to look when the sun is there.The frame from the toilet door had a stained too and the heating nxt to the toilet the cleaning woman forget to cleaned and If I noticed it so everybody who occupied the room will noticed too.

5* hotel without free internet, if u need it so badly u need to Pay 24hours for 9€. If u want to rent a movie in your room that can Cost 17euro. For all the hotel we had been this is the only hotel no free internet.

The staffs are very attentive and friendly. The breakfast you will not regret coz it was excellent. The decors in the breakfast room was subliem in my own taste.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sharon G,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for sharing your impressions with us.

Please accept our apologize for the stains and the uncleaned heating next to the toilet. I would like to assure you that this is absolutely not to our standard and we will make sure that these kind of shortcomings will be eliminated in the future.

Regarding the Internet I am pleased to inform you that we are planning to provide Internet on all Mobile Devices free of charge in the nearest future and that we will implement a SuitePad on every room. This is kind of tablet PC which will inform our guests about all news about the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and the destination Cologne and which will also give our guests the possibility to check Emails and to use the Internet.

We are glad to read that our staff and our breakfast convinced you about the service and quality and we are looking very much forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

With kind regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times while traveling on business. The location of this hotel is hard to beat, given it is right next to the train station. The staff is lovely and helpful. My biggest complaint about this hotel is that it is somewhat old and outdated. I would highly suggest asking for a room in the newly renovated wing. I think the rooms are much nicer there. The wifi connection at the hotel is a bit temperamental, which is annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer wing. They are much nicer there.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelsnobbija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear hotelsnobbija,

First of all we would like to thank you for your several stays with us and for taking the time to share your impressions via Tripadvisor.

Please be assured that we are continously anxious about updating and renovating our rooms and that we are also in a period of updating another wing of our hotel right now. Our staff would be glad to show you around during your next stay so that you could get an impression about the future planning at our traditional hotel.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and we are wishing you a lovely summer.

With warm regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I loved just about everything about this hotel. It is beautiful, immaculate, quiet, and perfectly located near the train station and across the street from the cathedral. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The staff was wonderful with little touches throughout our stay all the way to our departure. Breakfast was incredible with the best hot chocolate in the world. One suggestion - instead of having the minibar included in the cost of the room, provide free wifi. It was the one aggravation of our stay.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank NRMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear NRMomof4,

Thank you for patronizing the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and we hope you had a safe journey back home.

We appreciate that you took the time to leave this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor and I will be glad to share it with the entire team. It means a great motivation for us and our endeavour of creating unforgetable stays for our guests.

Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously and will consider your advise regarding free wifi in our future planning.

We are looking forward to your next visit of Cologne and the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and remain

With best regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Echoing the positive comments by other reviewers, it's hard to fault the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We stayed with two children aged 11 and 8 and arrived by train with lots of baggage, but we had no trouble reaching the hotel from the central station on foot. Just cross the square at the foot of the cathedral and you're there. No taxi required.
A couple of street smarts: there is free WiFi at Starbucks at the train station, if you're not willing to pay for the internet in the hotel. But, frustrated with the slow internet at Starbucks, we ended up paying for WiFi in the hotel anyway and found it was significantly faster.
The hop-on hop-off bus tour departs every half hour directly opposite the hotel. Very convenient.
We had booked a family room but our 8-year-old slept on the couch because there was no space for a second spare bed. This wasn't ideal, but the hotel had forewarned us when I called them to confirm our booking.
The continental breakfast buffet was exceptional and the service impeccable. But at around 20 Euros per person (including children), bring a big appetite. Or order a la carte. We ended up at one of the many bakeries at the train station on 2 out of 3 mornings.
Like other reviewers, I would have no hesitation in staying at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst again, or recommending it to friends. We loved every minute and the hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay special.
First, the hotel had taken down our children's names and arranged for a plate with some chocolates, a cupcake and a drink for each of them, with their names written on the plate. Very nice touch.
Second, our departure was a little rushed due to changes in the train schedule, so the hotel staff loaded our baggage onto a trolley and brought it from the reception right up to the train platform. What amazing service!

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard, and it was exceptionally quiet. We didn't need a view of the cathedral, because you can't miss it anyway when you leave the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mark L,

Thank you for leaving this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor and sharing your impressions with us.

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel comfortable.

As we are confident that our little guests are as much important as the grown ups we are generating a variety of kids amenities and specials right now to extend the "Excelsior Hotel Ernst Experience" for all children.

We are looking very much forward for your next stay with us and we are tens for your feedback.

With warm regards to you and your family

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews