We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Old Elegant Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Old Elegant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a huge old Grand Hotel that is kept in perfect condition. It is beautiful, elegant, and so big that it almost seems like a world of its own.

The public staves, including the lobby and the hallways, are vast, and there are all sorts of sitting rooms al,mover the place. The bar is great for late night dining and the breakfast was lavish. The bathrooms are luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Stee E,

Thank you for your generous rating and for taking the time to share your expressions with us. We are glad to read that you have been overall pleased with our service and quality.
It is a pleasure to forward your wonderful comment to our entire team because it means a great motivation to all of them.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future and to present all renewals to you.

Sincerely,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    207
    58
    29
    14
See reviews for
188
459
87
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

A true 5 star hotel - impressive rooms, superb service and with a location second to none. The staff were attentive but not overbearing and it is a wonderful base to explore the city. We had a double room and it had everything you want ; the bed was really comfortable.

We spent each night relaxing in the piano bar - a great location though with prices to match. The beer is great but at 4 euros for 0.2 litres !!!! Best to sip it slowly!

All in all a top rate hotel in an excellent city

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricketdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Cricketdad,

First I would like to thank you for your stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are glad that you took the time to give us a constructive feedback and for your generous rating.

Please be assured that we are taking your feedback very seriously and take it as a chance to improve ourselves every day. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt comfortable with us.

We are looking very much forward to your next visit of Cologne and the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

With best regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Despite my last review's complaints about the WiFi we chose to stay here again because the Hotel itself is so good. The WiFi this time worked perfectly but is still chargeable which is a pet hate of mine in this day and age but to balance it out the minibar is free !!

This really is a great Hotel. Perfectly situated 1 minute from the train station and just across the road from the magnificent Dom cathedral.

I cannot fault the staff, they really are exceptional with special praise for the Concierge. Nothing is too much trouble and they organised everything we needed without any drama.

I think that next time we stay I'll try and get a rate with breakfast included. The buffet breakfast is excellent but fairly expensive especially when teenage son barely eats !!!

Many hotels claim to be 5 stars but not all achieve it on a daily basis.......The Excelsior Hotel Ernst certainly does.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Phil G,

Thank you again for visiting the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for sharing your expressions with us.

Regarding your advice of the free WiFi I am pleased to inform you that we will implement a SuitePad in every room this year. This SuitePad is a kind of tablet PC and informs you and all guests about news of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and the destination Cologne. With this SuitePad it is also possible to use the Internet for checking mails etc. Due to this implementation we are also planning to provide WiFi to all mobile devices free of charge.

And please just talk to our wonderful ladies at the reservations department about your next stay with us. They will love to help you to find a rate including the breakfast and to make sure that your next visit of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst is going to be planned perfectly.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future and to present all renewals to you.

With best regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a real 5 star hotel in the heart of Cologne (only 1 min from the railway station (Köln Hb).
Impeccable service, very nice room (and bed) and close to 'everything'.
Cafe Reinhard acroos the road has a nice breakfast (if it's not included in your room).
A dinner at the hotel restaurant (Hans Stube) is recommended.

Room Tip: Had a room against back yeard, very quiet. Air condition can be regulated by guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear EuropeanMan,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay. It will be a pleasure for me to forward your compliments to the entire team, because this means a wonderful incentive in our endeavour of creating unforgetable moments to our guests.

So, thank you again and we are looking very much forward to your next stay with us.

With warm regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Simply put, I loved this hotel. The service from check-in to check-out was first rate. The location, which is right across from the Koln Dom cannot be beat. The room was well appointed with large comfortable beds and a large modern bathroom. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've experienced at a hotel, with a large selection. I would definitely stay here again when visiting this city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SquishyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear SquishyNJ,

First of all I would like to thank you for visiting the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor.

The entire team is delighted to read that you have been pleased with your stay at our Hotel and that you will definitly visit us again at your next trip to Cologne.

We are wishing you all the best and are looking forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This is my third week staying at Excelsior Hotel Ernst. Making this outstanding property my pied-à-terre in Cologne was a very wise decision! The owners have managed to keep the hotel up-to-date and still maintain its personality of a 150-year-old grand hotel. What I appreciate in particular is the fact that the hotel is family-owned and run. Being very luxurious and somewhat formal it still made me feel at home instantly. It's not one of those corporate style generic luxury hotels à la Hilton or Hyatt but a property with it's very own soul and charm! The rooms are generous with huge marble-clad bathrooms. Breakfast buffet is with mentioning and served in a beautiful setting.
The staff is very competent and warm-hearted without loosing a certain professional distance. The atmosphere is slightly formal but not stiff at all. Being a Leaders Club member I received a true VIP treatment throughout my stay. There is no reason not to stay at Excelsior Hotel Ernst. It deserves it's 5 star superior rating and ranks among the best hotels in German. And did I mention that it is virtuallt just next to the spectacular Cologne Cathedral? Thank you very much. I will be back for sure!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank xiaocai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear xiaocai,

The entire Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team is delighted to read your wonderful compliments on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you feel at home by visiting our hotel and that you are rating us as one of the best hotels in Germany. This means a lot to the entire team and is a wonderful motivation to everyone of us.

We are looking Forward to welcome you again in the nearest future and remain

With warm regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel, ideally located, in front of the train station (but no noise) and on the side of the Cathedral. The hall dates back from the 50's when the hotel was rebuilt, but it is sober and pleasant. The personel at the front desk is friendly. the rooms are modern, not too large but well equipped as well as the bathroom. Clients enjoy free access to the minibar. Breakfast is great with the buffet and a lot of things to eat from salmon, eggs, bacon... muesli, pastries, a wide range of breads, fruits..... only thing is that there doesn't seem to be wifi, and internet connection is very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luke393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear luke393,

I would like to thank you for taking the tiome to leave a comment on Tripadvisor and for satying with us.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will forward your compliments to the entire team as a motivation in our quest of quality and service.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

With best regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#17 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Hilton Cologne
#28 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 262 in Cologne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing