We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little splurge, but not unreasonable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little splurge, but not unreasonable!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a very nice, albeit aging, hotel convenient to the train station, cathedral, and other sights of Koln, including breweries if that's what you're looking for. The age of the hotel is a bit of the charm, but the air conditioning mostly does the trick and the bathroom is luxurious. Would definitely recommend this hotel for either a sightseeing or business visit.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the inner part of the hotel, so no noise problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Kathryn C,

Thank you for visiting the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you would recommend us and would like to thank you for your generous rating. Please be assured that we are taking your feedback very seriously and take it as a chance to improve ourself. It is very important to us to make sure that our traditional Hotel constantly enhances.

We are looking very much forward to your next trip from Boston to Cologne and to welcome you back at the Excelisor Hotel Ernst.

With best regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    214
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
197
473
92
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

"Excelsior" can be defined as 'superior'; for us, the term was the equivalent of 'perfection'! For me, every travel experience is determined by our interaction with "people" and the staff at The Excelsior exemplify - "customer service". From our welcome by Luciano at the train station to our greeting by Sabrina at check-in through our daily interactions with Concierge and other staff to our send-off by Patrick, the employees of the Excelsior - excel.
A week at the Excelsior was destined to be a delight until I ended up having emergency surgery in a local hospital... It was bad enough that I couldn't enjoy our beautiful room for 3 of the 6 nights but my sadness was made better when a beautiful bouquet, from the staff, arrived in my hospital room; the Excelsior cared for my husband while hospital staff cared for me.
Our room was beautiful, the location - perfect and the staff - exceptional!

Room Tip: Top level/6th floor 'just' reopened following extensive remodeling. BEAUTIFUL rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livs2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear livs2eat,

Thank you for your compliments regarding your stay and our Team. It will be a great pleasure for me to forward your compliments them. The entire Team is the heart and soul of our hotel and it is a huge motivation for us to know that our guests feel welcome and enjoying the Excelsior experience. We feel sorry that your visit of Cologne has been interrupted through your emergency surgery and we all hope that you recovered meanwhile.

So, thank you again for your lovely comment and we are looking very much forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The location is great next to the main train station (200m) and front of the Cathedral. There are many pubs and restaurants in the neighborhood.

The restaurant is very good. The room was very cozy and comfortable and I was quite satisfied overall. The bed was very comfortable albeit a bit small.

THE WIFI WAS PAID AND DIDN'T WORK VERY WELL.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcosCaseiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear MarcosCaseiro,

Thank you for visiting the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding you advise with the Internet I am pleased to inform you that we will provide WiFi free of charge for all mobile advices in the nearest future.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and to present all renewals at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst to you.

With best regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location of Hotel Ernst is excellent and the restaurant and lobby are comfortable and elegant. The room was very cozy and comfortable and I was quite satisfied overall. The bed was very comfortable albeit a bit small.

The only issues I had were that I arrived quite early and understandably the room wasn't ready. I waited a few hours for the room and it was ready exactly at the time they told me (oddly coincidental as this was exactly the listed check-in time for the hotel). Also, the internet is quite expensive and not very strong which nowadays is a rarity in high end hotels. I was asked to provide feedback by email after my stay and when I mentioned this it was strongly defended by the manager in his reply which I found a bit out of touch.

Overall lovely though and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLM235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear JLM235,

Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay with us in November 2013.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your expressions with us and I would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding the check-in time and the Internet. Please be assured that it was not our intention to defend orurself against your Feedback via email.

But we are glad to read that you are willing to visit us again and that you have beenn satisfied with our service and quality overall.

We are looking very much forward to your next trip to Cologne and to welcome you back at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

With best regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Can only concur that this is a brilliantly located hotel with delightful staff. The restaurant Hans Stube was the best food we had in Germany (albeit this is not saying a lot). We were sad that the restaurant Taku was closed for the annual holiday (first couple of weeks in August) as the menu looked right up our street. Only issue for us was the wifi was patchy - particularly in the bar area - which if you charge for it (which this hotel does) it should be first class.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Fleetcat,

Thank you very much for visiting the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for sharing your impressions with us.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit of the Restaurant Hanse Stube. Regarding your advise of the wifi I would like to apologize for the inconveniences and assure you that we will check the connection at the bar.

We are hoping to welcome you again at our hotel in the not too distant future and hope you have the chance to try our east Asian restaurant taku.

With warm regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a huge old Grand Hotel that is kept in perfect condition. It is beautiful, elegant, and so big that it almost seems like a world of its own.

The public staves, including the lobby and the hallways, are vast, and there are all sorts of sitting rooms al,mover the place. The bar is great for late night dining and the breakfast was lavish. The bathrooms are luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Stee E,

Thank you for your generous rating and for taking the time to share your expressions with us. We are glad to read that you have been overall pleased with our service and quality.
It is a pleasure to forward your wonderful comment to our entire team because it means a great motivation to all of them.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future and to present all renewals to you.

Sincerely,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A true 5 star hotel - impressive rooms, superb service and with a location second to none. The staff were attentive but not overbearing and it is a wonderful base to explore the city. We had a double room and it had everything you want ; the bed was really comfortable.

We spent each night relaxing in the piano bar - a great location though with prices to match. The beer is great but at 4 euros for 0.2 litres !!!! Best to sip it slowly!

All in all a top rate hotel in an excellent city

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricketdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Cricketdad,

First I would like to thank you for your stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are glad that you took the time to give us a constructive feedback and for your generous rating.

Please be assured that we are taking your feedback very seriously and take it as a chance to improve ourselves every day. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt comfortable with us.

We are looking very much forward to your next visit of Cologne and the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

With best regards

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,352 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,761 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 261 in Cologne
1,641 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#19 of 261 in Cologne
428 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing