We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Nearby Hotels
US$123
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$82
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Koeln Messe(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$74
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$118
US$79
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$111
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$132
US$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Wyndham Koeln(Cologne)
US$111
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,321)
Filter reviews
1,321 results
Traveller rating
983
230
61
30
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
983
230
61
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshanse stubeleading hotels of the worldpiano bartrain stationthe free mini barbeautiful hotelturn down servicecologne cathedraljunior suitefive star hotelan upgradecathedral viewrooms are spaciousthe location is perfectin decemberchristmas marketbreakfast buffet is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 1,321 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2009

I stayed for one night in a beautiful, renovated, deluxe double room located on the first floor of the hotel's "Hanse"-Wing. What a delight!
The hotel calls itself Cologne's "Grand Hotel" and was founded in 1863. The current building dates from 1910. The German Emperor stayed there - back in the days. And like every house with tradition and history, you have to know it in order to make it worth your while.
One thing you can be sure about: the staff in a hotel of this class is truly exceptional, altogether professional, alert, friendly, and able to make your stay a smooth and pleasant experience.

The good points:
- Elegant, modern room built with utmost attention to every detail
- Separate sitting area with flatscreen TV
- Walk-in closet
- Complimentary Mini-bar with water, juices, beer, etc.
- Lavishly luxurious bathroom with marble all over, and heated floors!
- Amazing rain shower, generously sized soaking tub.
- Very comfortable bed, plus a pillow menu to choose from (!)
- Great, high quality breakfast with complete buffet plus made-to-order items

The bad points:
- None

Keep in mind:
- This kind of luxury does come at a price: even breakfast was 27,- Euros
- Only Deluxe double rooms and higher categories were completely renovated and updated in 2007. The lower category rooms look (and probably are) dated.

Restaurant:
The hotel's Japanese restaurant "taku" is perfect for a civilized dinner with business partners.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OK-in-MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

What a perfect weekend in this superb hotel. Upon arrival an upgrade and a free bottle of champagne. Very quiet and luxerious room, big enough, cleaned several times a day, fresh fruit every day, minibar for free, very nice spa area.
Staff : excellent, friendly and with a personal touch. This goes for everybody from bell boy, concierge, reception, restaurant, cleaning staff...everybody friendly and up to his or her job. Breakfast was very good. We also had dinner in Hanse Stube and Taku. Both restaurants serves very good food. We had nothing to complain about and enjoyed every minute of our stay. This hotel excellerates his rating. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I stayed in the Hotel during a Business Trip to Cologne.

The Hotel is centrally located (clos to the dome and the train station) which comes with the usual amount of noise from streets and pubcrawlers, but its bearable.

The staff is friendly but a bit to hesitant to go the extra mile. E.g., I have been falsely advised that my luggage had been brought to the room already. When inquiring at the front desk I was given my luggage but no one made the attempt to actually bring it to my room - not exactly 5 star standard I would say.

But that is nothing compared to the room. The Hotel is part of the "Leading Hotels of the World" network but definitely does not live up to this network's standard. The room was small and in a pitiful state. The last refurbishment must have been decades ago: old and dirty carpet, scratched and dirty walls, a mobile A/C with its supply lines going through a hole in the window, a 1970s pink bathroom with cracked tiles etc.

All in all, this hotel lives off its reputation without investing. So unfortunately I had to learn that even the "Leading Hotels of the World" brand is used for properties that - at least in my opinion - don't live up to the standard this brand represents...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank guessmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

This is a short review - everything was fantastic.

We stayed at the hotel for a small post wedding honeymoon weekend. Not only did we get an upgrade to one of the hotel's nicest junior suites (in the Hansefluegel), but also a free bottle of Vaux Sekt.

The room - the newly decorated rooms are just marvellous. Elegant and comfortable surroundings which are topped off with a stunning bath room featuring a rain shower, bath tub, floor heating, double sinks. Just check out their website.

The service - fantastic. We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental before and the Interconti Berchtesgaden and the Exelsior is in the same league of the very best concierge services and staff training.

The amenities - the Excelsior may be a business hotel, but this is no problem for leisure travellers as the service and the level of attention paid to guests is just excellent. Nice little spa on the 6th floor with views overlooking the famous Dom. Both restaurants are fantastic and the bar is nice too (if not too trendy!).

Overall - fabulous. I have stayed in many five star and five star plus properties and I have to say that this hotel is in my top 3.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews