We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We stayed a night at this absolutely wonderful Cologne hotel in December 2009. Situated beside both the Dom and the railway station, it has a great location. It was also ideally located for the Christmas market at the Dom and shopping streets. The staff are delightful - helpful but unobtrusive. We were given a deluxe room with our €145 GTA B&B booking, and it was great, with a large marble bathroom and separate hall area. Beds were very comfortable. A free mini-bar was a surprise bonus. We ate at the hotel's excellent gourmet restaurant and were not disappointed, and enjoyed drinks at the excellent Riesling bar and the main bar. Breakfast was reasonable as it was included (though would not be worth €28) and wifi reception was not great in the rooms. But the overall ambience and the excellent value we enjoyed made this a simply wonderful choice in Cologne.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristolreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2009

The rooms are quite lovely, the staff is fantastically attentive but...this hotel is stodgy beyond necessity in this century. Piano Bar dull, slow and the other dining venues off the charts in price. Here one is in a fabulously visual city, well located and their public spaces have not been reworked to take any advantage of it - other, similar properties have. One is free to drink anything in the minibar at no charge - but all it contains is water, a couple of beers, and some sodas. In an area that is already somewhat more expensive than other cities, this hotel is very expensive. And as one of your previous reviewers noted, it is not up to Leading Hotels of the World standards-most especially in Europe. Rooms are showing age in very obvious ways-paint, carpet, locks.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flysalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

The minute you step out of the entrance of this five star hotel you are practically standing outside the cathedral. It is the perfect location, a 20 minute car journey from the airport and within easy walking distance of the rest of the city centre. The service is exemplary, everyone smiles and says hello no matter what time of the day, the hotel is immaculate and I would highly recommend it for a short city break or romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelclicktv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

I stayed for one night in a beautiful, renovated, deluxe double room located on the first floor of the hotel's "Hanse"-Wing. What a delight!
The hotel calls itself Cologne's "Grand Hotel" and was founded in 1863. The current building dates from 1910. The German Emperor stayed there - back in the days. And like every house with tradition and history, you have to know it in order to make it worth your while.
One thing you can be sure about: the staff in a hotel of this class is truly exceptional, altogether professional, alert, friendly, and able to make your stay a smooth and pleasant experience.

The good points:
- Elegant, modern room built with utmost attention to every detail
- Separate sitting area with flatscreen TV
- Walk-in closet
- Complimentary Mini-bar with water, juices, beer, etc.
- Lavishly luxurious bathroom with marble all over, and heated floors!
- Amazing rain shower, generously sized soaking tub.
- Very comfortable bed, plus a pillow menu to choose from (!)
- Great, high quality breakfast with complete buffet plus made-to-order items

The bad points:
- None

Keep in mind:
- This kind of luxury does come at a price: even breakfast was 27,- Euros
- Only Deluxe double rooms and higher categories were completely renovated and updated in 2007. The lower category rooms look (and probably are) dated.

Restaurant:
The hotel's Japanese restaurant "taku" is perfect for a civilized dinner with business partners.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OK-in-MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

What a perfect weekend in this superb hotel. Upon arrival an upgrade and a free bottle of champagne. Very quiet and luxerious room, big enough, cleaned several times a day, fresh fruit every day, minibar for free, very nice spa area.
Staff : excellent, friendly and with a personal touch. This goes for everybody from bell boy, concierge, reception, restaurant, cleaning staff...everybody friendly and up to his or her job. Breakfast was very good. We also had dinner in Hanse Stube and Taku. Both restaurants serves very good food. We had nothing to complain about and enjoyed every minute of our stay. This hotel excellerates his rating. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I stayed in the Hotel during a Business Trip to Cologne.

The Hotel is centrally located (clos to the dome and the train station) which comes with the usual amount of noise from streets and pubcrawlers, but its bearable.

The staff is friendly but a bit to hesitant to go the extra mile. E.g., I have been falsely advised that my luggage had been brought to the room already. When inquiring at the front desk I was given my luggage but no one made the attempt to actually bring it to my room - not exactly 5 star standard I would say.

But that is nothing compared to the room. The Hotel is part of the "Leading Hotels of the World" network but definitely does not live up to this network's standard. The room was small and in a pitiful state. The last refurbishment must have been decades ago: old and dirty carpet, scratched and dirty walls, a mobile A/C with its supply lines going through a hole in the window, a 1970s pink bathroom with cracked tiles etc.

All in all, this hotel lives off its reputation without investing. So unfortunately I had to learn that even the "Leading Hotels of the World" brand is used for properties that - at least in my opinion - don't live up to the standard this brand represents...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank guessmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

This is a short review - everything was fantastic.

We stayed at the hotel for a small post wedding honeymoon weekend. Not only did we get an upgrade to one of the hotel's nicest junior suites (in the Hansefluegel), but also a free bottle of Vaux Sekt.

The room - the newly decorated rooms are just marvellous. Elegant and comfortable surroundings which are topped off with a stunning bath room featuring a rain shower, bath tub, floor heating, double sinks. Just check out their website.

The service - fantastic. We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental before and the Interconti Berchtesgaden and the Exelsior is in the same league of the very best concierge services and staff training.

The amenities - the Excelsior may be a business hotel, but this is no problem for leisure travellers as the service and the level of attention paid to guests is just excellent. Nice little spa on the 6th floor with views overlooking the famous Dom. Both restaurants are fantastic and the bar is nice too (if not too trendy!).

Overall - fabulous. I have stayed in many five star and five star plus properties and I have to say that this hotel is in my top 3.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,576 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#20 of 263 in Cologne
2,233 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#29 of 263 in Cologne
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 263 in Cologne
1,770 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 263 in Cologne
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#2 Family Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £145 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing