We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelsior Cologne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2008

Reading other reviews, I realize that there were two types of rooms: renovated and not. Luckily, we've stayed in a renovated room, and my review will be of that. We have requested a deluxe room with courtyard view, which was more expensive, so perhaps these better rooms are already renovated. I would take only courtyard rooms in this hotel, as the street is very busy and for those who need quietness that would be annoying.

So, the deluxe room was absolutely stunning. It was probably one of the most comfortable I've ever stayed. Large room with high ceilings, huge bed, which would satisfy even Princess on the Pea demands, with down comforter and pillows, large closets for those who travel in style and have lots of dresses - rarely I was not looking for space hanging out my gowns :) There was also a mirrored niche between the closets, so one can take a good look at himself, full-length, and I loved that.

The bathroom was beyond compare - separate three-way shower and a jacuzzi bathtub, heated floor, beautiful view on the top of the cathedral from the window.

Apart from the room, the service is outstanding, discreet and professional. The restaurant Hanse Stube must be one of the highest service standards possible, with impeccable cuisine, to match the quality of seating, service and atmosphere.

The bar is great, too, and it's possible to smoke there - at least it was in March 2008.

This hotel was really an oasis of exquisite taste and elegance in a city which is alas, quite faceless, due to the devastation of the World War II, apart from the magnificent Dom and great museums (Museum Ludwig and Wallraf-Richartz). The opera house is a short walk away, too.

All in all, an outstanding hotel in a perfect location, truly a royal experience.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This hotel is located directly across from the Dom (large cathedral) and the main pedestrian street. It's also a few minutes walk from tons of restaurants, the Rathaus (Town Hall), and the main square. Location cannot be beat.

Service is impeccable - someone is always waiting to help or assist. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms are huge and modern - with many luxurious additions.

Breakfast is more continental than anything else, but they have lots of continental options to choose from and of very high quality.

Not all rooms are air conditioned, so be sure to ask for one if you need it.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AlexBuckFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

We booked thru American Express platinum. Upon arrival service was impecable. We were escorted to our one bedroom suite which had a wonderful view of the Cathedral. A small balcony which was across the street from the cathedral. A beautiful fruit basket and bottle of champagne was brought in while we were touring the city. The spa and business center were awesome. The breakfast was wonderful.

Service was well beyond anyones expectations. This hotel had it all. I would recommend this hotel to eveyone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cindy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

My wife and I spent three days at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst in Cologne and would highly recommend it to anyone who prizes quality accommodation at reasonable prices. We booked through a website and thought the charge (around $200Australian a night) was more than fair given the standard of accommodation and service, plus the superb buffet breakfast included in the price.
The staff were superb, led by Fabio at the front desk, and backed up by every single person we encountered. Nothing was too much trouble, the welcome each time we met was warm and sincere. They remembered your name and room number and were quick to help with advice.
Cologne is a wonderful city and the Ernst is an exceptional hotel, just a minute's walk from the station and the cathedral.
Stay there, you'll love it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Drumdoolaghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2008

As another reviewer commented, there are two sides to this hotel. The old part, and the renovated part. I would definitely recommend requesting a renovated room, they are simply amazing. The room was one of the nicest I've ever stayed in, and also among the best in value for your dollar.

The staff was great at the hotel. Everyone was very polite and very helpful. They all spoke very very good english as well.

There are 2 great restaurants in the hotel. "Taku" offers a mix of Asian cuisine that was delicious. The other, "Hanse Stube" has a more international cuisine that was equally as good.

The location doesn't get any better than this if you're a tourist. The cathedral is literally right at your doorstep.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank buccsmf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

If you are looking for a deluxe hotel with classical interiors and
excellent service in Cologne, then this is the best choice.

Espec the restaurant Hanse Stube is a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HolyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,508 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#21 of 263 in Cologne
2,163 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 263 in Cologne
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savoy Hotel
#15 of 263 in Cologne
458 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 263 in Cologne
1,843 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 263 in Cologne
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#2 Family Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £147 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing