We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast - Nice Rooms, Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flandrischer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flandrischer Hof
Ranked #48 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Salford, Grt Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast - Nice Rooms, Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

Got this room quite cheap via Octopus Travel website. Decided to go to Germany with a mate for the beer. Was planning to head on to Prague after a couple of days but enjoyed it so much stayed in Cologne longer.

Hotel is nice, we had a room on quite a high floor. Breakfast was great, I spent ages down there. Hotel is a good location, quite close to the city. We didn't really do much apart from making our rounds through the cities bars and clubs.

Checked in really quick and staff all speak good English. Rooms kept very clean and was even left Haribo on our pillows.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2005, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moran_luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    225
    106
    26
    14
See reviews for
54
130
46
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

We have stayed at the FH twice now, most recently for a short trip to the Cologne Christmas markets.

The hotel is probably best described as a typical German mid-range hotel - clean, bright, with decent rooms, but a bit soulless. The rooms have no fridge/minibar, no iron, nor any coffee/tea making facilities (pretty normal for Germany at this level). There is satellite TV. Staff are helpful if not a bit curt.

The hotel is situated very near to Rudolfplatz (which has tram and underground stations); Rudolfplatz is also is home to one of Cologne's number of Christmas markets. There are a few restaurants nearby, but the Altstadt is a better bet if you seek a bigger choice. The Neumarkt, which marks the start of the extensive main shopping area, is an easy 10 min walk (or you can take a tram from Rudolfplatz).

The hotel offers a typical German breakfast buffet, which can get crowded despite an ample dining room.

The hotel has an underground car park which connects via lift to reception. But beware; it costs 13 Euros per night, and access is very narrow, with large concrete stanchions and a twisting and turning entrance ramp. Quite scary if like us you have a wide or long car.

So in short, not a bad place at all, and perfectly adequate for a short stay unless you are looking for a bit of extra luxury.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, service, convenient location.
  • Disliked — Underground car park expensive with difficult and narrow access.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestJohnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

second stay in hotel. went to cologne with a friend for christmas markets.
Great hotel, friendly staff and good breakfast.
My friend had to swap rooms on the first night as the one she had been given reeked of cigarette smoke - not pleasant. No problem in getting another room.
Very good value for money, and brilliant location. Plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby to go to.

  • Liked — cleanliness, pleasant staff and good breakfast
  • Disliked — smoky atmosphere in parts
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zanyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

Have stayed here 4 times over the past 4 years to visit the Christmas Markets.
I have had no problems with the hotel during previous years, however I found the hotel unpleasant during my last stay. The corridor outside my room were very smoky from cigarettes which leaked into our room. The music from the bar kept us awake until past 2-3am. Also the breakfast room during each of the 4 days we stayed was very busy with no available seating, we tried visiting at different times of the morning but still found it full and went without the breakfast we'd already paid for. I think the problem with the breakfast room was that 2/3's of the seating had been sectioned off and there was always plenty of available seating in that section but only guests staying on business were permitted to sit there.
However a big plus to the hotel is the location, it's just around the corner from one Christmas market and only a 30 minute walk from the furthest Christmas market. Also the hotel has always been very clean with very pleasant staff.
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — pleasant staff
  • Disliked — the mass of cigarette smoke in the corridor
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EddieLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

Cologne is such a fun town and the people are uniquely cosmopolitain and friendly for Germany. Again, another website that promises more than it delivers. Here, this hotel could theoretically meet expetation if the front desk and service staff were "pleasant". But if you are in town for other things you tend to forgive quickly.... unless something happens. If you arrive with a car, Take Care! Their neighbouring underground garage is a real challenge. Knowing this I asked when checking out if I could drive up and leave the car in front of the hotel while having a quick word with friends in the breakfast room. "Of course, it is Sunday morning we will keep an eye on it". Well, three weeks later came the parking ticket. The hotel manager promply replied to my email concern, and of course backing up the receptionists...without even checking with them. (I will just presume this because she answered so fast). Mistakes happen - and the ticket doesnt really bother. But this sort of attitude, for €90 oder €490 is what keeps making a travel experience an experience.

  • Disliked — The Staff and Mangement
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDude2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire Uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2007

Stayed for four nights at the beginning of December on the third floor agree with others there was a bit of noise from the night club but didn't find it overly annoying. The hotel is split into two parts, one with a lift direct to the floors the other with about 20 steps to the lift. , fine once you have taken your cases up. The staff spoke english, were very friendly and helpful. A wide choice for breakfast and very central.

We had a view of the Rudolfplatz christmas market from our window and it is within easy walking distance of Neumarkt and the tram system, the front of the hotel is in a back street but Rudolfplatz is the nearest tram/tube stop. Would recommend for christmas trips the markets are something everyone who loves christmas and shopping should experience. Would stay again.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank SugarStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2007

This is a nice hotel. Only 3* so don't expect any of the little luxuries you get in 4 or 5 * hotels like a hairdryer in the room or a minibar but a lovely clean hotel with friendly staff. Perfectly located for shopping and nightlife and only about a 20-30 min stroll to the Cathedral. The rooms are big and while I must admit I could hear the music coming from the downstairs Piano Bar (Bruegel - good food and good music byt the way!) at 2am it wasn't loud enough to keep me awake for long. I had been to Bruegel on a previous trip to Cologne and it was one of the reasons I chose the hotel in the first place... well worth a visit. The rooms are big and the breakfast was fine - only worth it if it's included in your room price though. The location is the best feature of this hotel being so close to the shops and a U-Bahn stop a few minutes walk away that is only 2 stops from the Central Station/Cathedral. Would definitely consider staying there again if I find a good enough offer on room price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No hairdryer in room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ems80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#12 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Astor & Aparthotel Cologne
Astor & Aparthotel Cologne
#69 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#8 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Neustadt-Süd
Conti Hotel
Conti Hotel
#119 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flandrischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flandrischer Hof

Property: Flandrischer Hof
Address: Flandrische Str. 3 - 11, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flandrischer Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City of Cologne is best known for its events and trade fairs that regularly take place. The privately run Hotel "Flandrischer Hof" is located in the Center of Cologne directly at the "Rudolfplatz" You can easily reach the shopping miles of Colgone, as well as lots of restaurants, bars and other localities. The Cologne Cathedrale is with about 2,3 km in a ten minutes walking distance. Besides the categories which fulfil a casual to enhanced requirement the lots in our parking garage build the comfort of placing the vehicle in striking distance and so you can spare the search for a parking lot in the City Centre of Cologne. Enjoy a substantial breakfast to start your day right. Bread rolls, fruits, cereal, cold meat or hot food - our buffet contains lots of tasty treats. Even if you suffer from a gluten intolerance an alternative can be offered. Please let the hotel know in advance if you would like to have your breakfast gluten free, so it can be arranged. Enjoy day and evening dining at the "Brasserie Brvegel", a local favourite known for its classy yet casual atmosphere. The restaurant features International and Mediterranean Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Flandrischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flandrischer Hof Cologne
Flandrischer Hof Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing