We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Ibis Koeln Am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
Ranked #36 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
El Paso, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A group of us stayed here for one night while visiting Cologne. We were there to see a concert at the Underground which was about a ten minute taxi ride from the hotel. I would stay here again, as the location is amazing you are literally right next to the Dom, the Hauptbahnhof is directly behind the hotel, and there are plenty of restaurant options around. Also surrounded by museums and other touristy things. I would say skip the breakfast as it wasn't worth the 10 Euro and just go to the Starbucks next door. Also there is a McDonald's around the corner and plenty of cafes by the river. Nice basic room, suited our needs for a one night stay. Our room faced the street and was a bit noisy, but was what I expected for staying downtown on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    448
    175
    29
    16
See reviews for
97
317
151
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lahore, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

this hotel is within the main Koln train Station, but is not worth payment Euros 150/night. rooms are small, but reasonable and clean. temperature was not comfortable for sleeping, and had to open room windows, and due to which a lot of outside noise came in and was very disturbing. breakfast was good and staff was good and helpful

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shehryar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very easy to get to and couldn't be more centrally located.
Reasonably priced. Clean.
Breakfast was good although the scrambled eggs were pretty congealed.
Only negatives are that the rooms are quite small and hot (AC did not seem to work in our room) so needed to have the windows open.
Quite noisy outside - late night revellers, hooting taxis and 2 lots of church bells - take earplugs!
Great for a weekend break with mates on a stag-do but I wouldn't take the wife there for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattandPollyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

As we were travelling around Europe by rail, the location of the Ibis Koeln Am Dom within the Hauptbahnhof was very convenient. Staff were pleasant and helpful, the room (typical Ibis) was comfortable, clean and well maintained, and the buffet breakfast offered a wide choice. The central location allows very close views of the Dom, and exploration of the old town. Only downside was WiFi in the room incurred a charge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalinya_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel was so convenient for the station, Ideal for just arriving after a long journey with a heavy suitcase, and also for getting about and seeing Cologne. Staff were extremely helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. We had views of the Dom and the main square with all the taxis from the window. It was rather noisy but that comes with the location. The breakfast scored 10/10 - loads of choice of cheeses, meats etc and the breakfast room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivanhoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Read lots of location of this hotel how 'near' to train station. Actually, I knows it's inside the station, but not really foresee how inside could be.
After I and my wife drag 2 bags down elevator, we asks people for information desk. Walk 25 meters then turn left, seeing information sign. During the way to information desk, here we go I reached hotel back entrance even before info desk!!!
Never been here, but definitely my highlight is the Dom. I heard it's 'nearby', but again how close that can be. After check-in, I go out of front door to have a smoke. Here we go again. The Dom is just right there. So, I could look at it when I come down from room to smoke.
The Room: I stayed in 412. Room is Ibis style: compact (european standard) and basic but clean comfortable and sufficient. Though, not recommend 4th Fl, as elevator stop at only 3rd Fl.
Staff is helpful and be there all the time.
Food: another important factor not mentioned frequently. as hotel is 'inside' busy train station. there are lots of fast food restaurant, Germanese, Asian, Pasteries, Burger (Mc and King). There are also few convenience store like FarmHaus where you could find all groceries you need. This is a big plus for me (as it has Asian cuisine here).

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank natthapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,087 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#73 of 261 in Cologne
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#58 of 261 in Cologne
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Koeln Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Koeln Am Dom

Property: Ibis Koeln Am Dom
Address: Bahnhofsvorplatz, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Koeln Am Dom 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Koln Am Dom hotel is located in the centre of Cologne, close to the railway station and a short walk from museums, the Musical Dome and the Stadttheater, the airport is 20 km away. Book one of our 71 airconditioned rooms with WiFi Internet andbenefit from use of the amenities we offer, including a bar and snacks available 24 hours. There is public undercover parking and a restaurant nearby. Tennis courts just 5 km from the hotel and golf 20 km, Fuhlinger See lake is 20 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Koeln Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Koeln Am Dom Hotel Cologne
Ibis Hotel Cologne
Accor Koeln Am Dom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing