We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION. GOOD RELATION PRICE QUALITY”
Review of Ibis Koeln Am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
Ranked #36 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION. GOOD RELATION PRICE QUALITY”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel is very well located in terms of train station. Their is a door inside the station that allows you to access the Ibis Hotel. Cologne Cathedral is within a 5' walk. Rooms, reception and breackfast room all in perfect conditions. Morning breackfast was good. Reception team is helpfull.From my room I could see the Cathedral.

Room Tip: My room was 209.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHL573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    448
    175
    29
    16
See reviews for
97
317
151
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Up in the Airways
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here in 2009; 2010; and 2012 for the Christmas markets. Great location just above the railway station and a nice short walk from the centre of town (perfect if you've lots of shopping!). The railway station below is almost like a shopping mall and provides a number of street-food style restaurants if you don't fancy the Ibis food. Friendly staff and a good price, I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highflyer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is literally at part of the Cologne train station. Outside the door of the train station/hotel is the Cologne cathedral, for all intents and purposes, the only landmark tourist destination in Cologne. For most people on a whirl wind European tour, there is probably no reason you have to stay in Cologne. Nonetheless, I have spent several nights as a tourist here over the last couple of years, including most recently in September. Cologne is a very convenient stop on your way to Benelux, or Paris. The square in front of the hotel is populated with many street performers and the like. The area is ripe with restaurants and quite pleasant shopkeepers. While I cannot gush about sightseeing you can find enough guidebook sights to make it worthwhile and rewarding. But since I retired early, frequently travel solo, use a Eurail pass for intra-continental travel, and often have no real agenda and plenty of time, I have been very happy in Cologne staying at the ibis Koeln Am Dom hotel. The situation is probably different for most visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is in the best location in Cologne.
If you arrive by train to the city, you walk out of the train station and its along the front wall of the train station because its in the same building.
Then when you walk out of the front door of the hotel, you simply look left and there is the majestic Dom… And what an impression it makes on the traveller.

The service by staff at the desk was very efficient and they were pleasant and easy to deal with.
Our room was basic but very clean and tidy and the decor very appealing, but this came at a very good price. So we were extremely pleased. It had everything needed, mainly lots of power points for camera and phone charges. And the bed was very comfy. Our room was overlooking the square and had a bit of a view of the Dom.

Breakfast is an extra. But as we knew we would be out touring early each morning we didn't add this and just got something while on the go. So I think this was good by the hotel, and it saves patrons a little money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel is located in the train station with a back door which gives you direct access.Perfect for us since we arrived on a Thalys train.

The staff were super nice and friendly, no issues at all here.

Room was fairly small but what can you expect with such good prices. Everything was in good working order, bed sheets were comfy and there was even a tv and hairdryer. The only thing missing was a safe which I would have liked.

Didn't try the brekkie so can't comment, there are a lot of food places and cafes nearby or in the station so didn't bother eating in the hotel.

Location is great and was perfect for the Xmas markets and town centre shopping.

The only reason I didn't give excellent is because there were a few renovations being completed which although not noisy, lots of workmen around taping stuff to the carpets etc and also the windows are not soundproof. Being so close to Xmas there was a guy outside with a steel drum playing Xmas songs ALL DAY which in the beggining was a novelty but after a day or two was a little annoying!!

All in all a very good hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelifeholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

You could not get closer to the main station or the Dom. The hotel is literally part of the train station. So close to Christmas markets and the reception staff were a bit hit and miss as to how helpful they would be. Would recommend as it maintains the expected ibis standard. There are plenty of bakeries in the station so skip the breakfast

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,089 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#73 of 261 in Cologne
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#58 of 261 in Cologne
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Koeln Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Koeln Am Dom

Property: Ibis Koeln Am Dom
Address: Bahnhofsvorplatz, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Koeln Am Dom 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Koln Am Dom hotel is located in the centre of Cologne, close to the railway station and a short walk from museums, the Musical Dome and the Stadttheater, the airport is 20 km away. Book one of our 71 airconditioned rooms with WiFi Internet andbenefit from use of the amenities we offer, including a bar and snacks available 24 hours. There is public undercover parking and a restaurant nearby. Tennis courts just 5 km from the hotel and golf 20 km, Fuhlinger See lake is 20 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Koeln Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Koeln Am Dom Hotel Cologne
Ibis Hotel Cologne
Accor Koeln Am Dom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing