We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel Santo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santo
Ranked #18 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and I were in Dusseldorf for a trade show, but found the hotels in Dusseldorf just unreasonably expensive so we ended up staying in Cologne. The hotel is a bit too far from Koln Hbf for us as we needed to catch a train to Dusseldorf everyday and by the time we come back from the trade show our legs were all too tired to walk back to the hotel. Aside from that, the hotel is friendly, modern, surprisingly spacious! (we can lay both of our open luggages down and still have room to walk). Wifi is free and fast, although it might cut you off once in a while and make you log back on again. Breakfast is really nice for a hotel its size.

Things I liked

- Clean, spacious, modern, BIG windows, plenty of storage room (if you are staying for more than 3 days), strong water pressure in the shower (very important to me).

- Grocery store, restaurants, cafe, pub, and cell phone store all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There is a really nice plaza near the hotel (opposite direction from the DOM) with some really nice restaurants, it a shorter walk than going to restaurants near the river & Dom.

- Staffs are friendly

Things I disliked

- Due to the nature of our visit, the hotel is a bit too far for our liking. We were there attending a trade show for 5 days and everyday was a drag to walk back to the hotel. To be fair though, if we were there on vacation, the distance would not be as much as a problem.

- Hotel was a bit hard to find, google map took us through the long route and the hotel sign is not very obvious. We did manage to find a short cut after our first night.

Overall,
A pretty nice hotel for its value. I would return to the hotel as vacationer, but might have to look for something closer to Koln Hbf if attending a trade show in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hleeluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

A clean friendly hotel. Good location, not far from the Dom.
Good rich-tasty breafast included in price.
Recomanded :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very nice small hotel - clean stylish and well run. walking distance to DOM, river and trains.

Room Tip: Get as high up as possible as street noise can be an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renoman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

First of all, this hotel is great, ultra modern, spacious rooms, really diverse and tasty breakfast and in a good location, near the city center yet in a quiet street.

As we arrived, we were greeted by a modern, cozy lobby, and at first, a friendly-looking receptionist, who just gave us the key and breakfast details. We went to the room which was all we could want: modern, spacious, warm, tastefully decorated with a few details to break the overall minimalistic feel of the room. The bed was really comfortable, and the shower was nice.
The breakfast was as I mentioned, great. A lot of food to choose from, all of which was prepared very well. The waiters were friendly, and really tried their best to help you with anything.

The evening before our departure we wanted to settle our bill. When we booked this hotel via Booking.com , the full price was taken from our credit card. But, the receptionist said that they have no record of payment, and he insisted that we settle the bill.
After a couple of calls to our bank back home, and about 2 hours of arguing and the unprofessional laughing and smiling from the receptionist, we somehow cleared everything, and exhausted, went to bed, as we had an early train in the morning.
I am only giving this hotel an Average rating because of the hotel itself, but the overall experience was poor, ruined by the reception.

The area of the hotel is amazing, there is a beautiful park with a lake nearby, and be sure to take a walk in the neighborhood to really feel the atmosphere of the place. As for Cologne itself, we have nothing but recommendations, be sure to visit this beautiful city, and if you're interested, go to the nearby Bonn where you can visit Beethoven's house :)

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to face the street, but there was absolutely no noise or anything that bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UniqueGlobeTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed one night with my mother in Hotel Santo to visit Cologne's christmas markets. Upon arrival the receptionist was very friendly, 2 hours before check-in time our room was already available so we could check in. There is a private (paid - but compared with other hotel parking not too much, I think 12 euro) parking place (super modern - a system that rotates car up in the air!). A lady of the hotel needs to join you to the parking. Again, a very enjoyable and friendly person. I was so surprised of the parking system, she showed the working with a big smile. Also when we left she was very helpfull, advising us a public parking area for our last day in Cologne.To get to the center you can take the subway but we went by foot, a good 5min walk and you need to pass trough the train station. Not that far from the centre. The room was modern, nice and clean. A comfortable bathroom and good bed. Also a minibar with affordable prices was present. Nice extra are those "sauna slippers" so you can get off your shoes in the room and get comfortable. The breakfast offered a wide range of possibilities and was good. You had eggs with tomotoes and onions, mini meatballs, sausages, bacon, etc. Different fresh fruits salads, different mini desserts, cheese, good tea selection, etc. We paid about 72 euro for 2 persons, breakfast included.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jolijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

we only stayed here for one night, spending NYE there. the room was very good and the bathroom was very spacious. I liked the green lights in the hall with the room numbers. Breakfast was very late because it was the first day of 2012, from 8 until 1 in the afternoon. And we got a glass of sparkling wine to stay in the festive mood. you can choose hot or cold breakfast, the waiters were friendly and quick with cleaning the tables. you could see out on the street, both Dagobertstrasse and on the Domstrasse, but I didn't mind. The checkout was delayed until 3 p.m. I will certainly stay here again !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EgyptAndSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We visited to enjoy the Koln Christmas markets and Santo completed an enjoyable stay. From the provoking art on the walls to the crisp clean rooms, we were seduced by the charm and professionalism of the staff.

Our room had a twin bed, a large bedroom and was situated at the back with a view on a roof terrace with trees and more art.

The prices of the minibar were more than reasonable at 1,60 Euro for a coke and we managed to park our car for 15 Euro per night. Add 90 Euro for room included an extensive, original and healthy breakfast and you can do the matts yourself: perfect value close to the city center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - I think the are numbered x01 and x02
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rianbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 263 in Cologne
734 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 263 in Cologne
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domstern
Hotel Domstern
#33 of 263 in Cologne
591 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#55 of 263 in Cologne
323 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#9 of 263 in Cologne
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo

Address: Dagobertstr. 22-26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#24 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £73 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Santo in a quiet location, in the heart of Cologne, and walking distance to the Cathedral, has a straight forward atmosphere since its renovation, but is not lacking in warmth.The stylish rooms are fitted with parquet floors, and have high shine varnished furniture and natural stone floors in the bathrooms.The hotel in the middle of art and culture in the lively cathedral city, has the philosophy “attention as a present to the guest “.Since August 2012 all rooms at the Hotel Santo are refurbished. We are convinced to meet your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing