We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfotable with quirks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Santo
Ranked #18 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfotable with quirks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed in this quiet hotel on business for three nights. It is within a ten minute stroll of the central railway station but otherwise feels a bit isolated.

The hotel is clean and comfortable for a business trip. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. The wifi works everywhere and is free. My room had a shower only [I like a bath!] - but I did not ask if rooms with bath are available.

I had lost my luggage and was glad that I had bought toothpaste and toothbrush and a hairbrush a the airport since none of these was provided.

But the hotel is fit for purpose and I would stay there again.

The only incongruity is in the large photographs set by the lifts. On the ground floor is a topless lady who seems to be wearing a surgical collar and lead - very off-putting. On my floor, you emerged from the lift to a naked, rather bony, lady holding her hands strategically but her pubic hair still on view. Also very off-putting.

So if you want modest business comfort at a good price with friendly and helpful staff, and don't mind naked women on the walls, this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    198
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
171
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
US, formerly Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

What started out as a semi-hip hotel not too far from Köln Dom and the train station turned into one of the worst overall experiences in many years. I am a 35-50 night/year guy so I have seen a lot to then rank it so low.
Issues on my two-night stay
- no air conditioning (not working). Hot days and warm nights meant I had to keep the window open to get any air. Still very hot. Cold showers kept me cool but at night the open window kept me awake many many times due to road noise etc below. They told me it was a long-term problem and it "can't be fixed on the weekend." Sorry, I checked in Weds and out Fri and it was broken before I got there. Weekend??
- no water (at all) for several hours. Not their fault as there was a break far away but no water to use to cool down was injury to insult.
- towels like sandpaper. Seriously, the roughest towels I can ever remember using.
- 2nd smallest room I have ever stayed in. A room in Korea is my personal winner for smallest. This was close. Yes, I had a "single" room but all furniture (bed, desk, TV) was touching. Hey, at least I didn't have to go far to open the window!

Positive:
- included breakfast was pretty good the first day. The second day the server gave me serious attitude for asking if they had more pancakes since the ones there had been sitting for hours = rubber.
- nice lobby/dining room
- they let me check in early after an overseas flight

I asked for a discount since I had no A/C for three days and two nights (and for nearly no sleep the first night). €20 off each night on my rate of €179. Wow, thanks for helping me feel great about this hotel.

I highly recommend you get a good deal or don't go here. Or at least confirm there is AC and bring your small suitcase.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Jefe_de_viaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Some aspects of this hotel warrant a higher rating than average. Location is good, breakfast is good, reception are efficient and the price is fair. Unfortunately two things are really bad. The rooms are very small. I am not talking as an American tourist expecting huge rooms but as a man used to London and Paris hotels with their compact rooms. The room I had was minute ! I was on my way to reception to ask for another ( surely bigger ) room when I bumped into my business associate and he said his room was exactly the same. We were rushing to a meeting so decided to put up with the rooms. When I got in that evening I found there was no air conditioning in my room and so it was stifling in there. My work colleague had air conditioning in his room so I managed to find space on his floor to squeeze in and dossed down for the night.
I should think the air conditioning is being added room by room so check for it and room size before you accept what you are allocated

Room Tip: Make sure you have one of the rooms with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uetze, Niedersachsen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

First time we stayed at the Santos for a short stop in Cologne. Its only 5min walk from the train station. Rooms we're great, with enough space for a short stay. The breakfast was lovely and is served late until 12am.

Clean, modern & friendly! Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennGarriock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The hotel is really 4 stars. I spent 3 nights here, during summer and vacation period sadly, to work…
Front desk very helpful, details like shinning your shoes if you ask and considering the breakfast including things like fresh fruits flavored yogurt, champagne, scrambled and poached eggs, sausage, fruits, salmon, cakes, breads… Be prepared an high standard stay and to have delightful meals.
It’s 5 to 10 minutes walking from the Köln Hauptbanhof (Dome), in old side of the town, not exactly near to the crowd, but if you need silence to sleep and do not complain to walk a little, or even got a car, it works.
It’s not the cheapest, especially during the events at the Kölnmesse, but I would stay again, even paying EUR 100/night for a single room.
I got a single’s room, it means a smaller than the average, nevertheless, there was enough space to sleep and work in a decent manner. Besides, unlike other hotels where the room and the bathroom are small, the room has a good size bathroom, including room heater (which I did not use) and automatic water temperature control.
Refrigerator, vault, good hangers, LCD TV and a desk, nice and clean sheet and pillows, everything you need, no flaws but one little consideration, there is no air conditioning in cooling mode!
Yes, that’s a surprise to me, there’s heater but no way to cool my room. Anyway considering that we are talking about a place where it’s unusual more than 22 Celsius (72 Fahrenheit) and I live in a tropical country, 27 (the way it was during my stay), even 30 Celsius to me is “piece of cake”, but be aware to the weather forecast if you are from a “normal” country, you may not like it.
Summarizing my stay: really nice, great breakfast, helpful staff, almost perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning (cooling mode) during the summer time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were a couple and stayed here in May2013 for 2 nights. The hotel rooms are nice and clean. The style is modern. The staff is very friendly and gave us good guidance on the things to do and places to eat and drink. The location is about 10 minutes walk from the central station and the cathedral. It makes getting around quite easy and convenient. Having said that the location is on one of the street corners so doesnt offer a great view. But that didnt matter much coz we used to be out the entire day. The breaskfast spread was pretty good as well. And not to forget the price is relatively reasonable. So overall good value for money and a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuntal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed here for one night in May, having just arrived in Germany on a business trip.

The room I stayed in (a single) was very clean and comfortable and had all the amenities one could need. The bathroom was especially good, with a huge, powerful shower.

The location, while not far from the city centre, wasn't the greatest - it's not in the prettiest spot, being just off a main road and a good 15-20 minute walk to the Old Town.

Having said that though, it was excellent value for money, the staff were lovely and the breakfast buffet was very good. There's also a nice little square about 5 minutes walk away that has a good selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Savoy Hotel
#16 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard Cologne
Courtyard Cologne
#20 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#9 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo

Property: Hotel Santo
Address: Dagobertstrasse 22-26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#24 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Santo in a quiet location, in the heart of Cologne, and walking distance to the Cathedral, has a straight forward atmosphere since its renovation, but is not lacking in warmth.The stylish rooms are fitted with parquet floors, and have high shine varnished furniture and natural stone floors in the bathrooms.The hotel in the middle of art and culture in the lively cathedral city, has the philosophy “attention as a present to the guest “.Since August 2012 all rooms at the Hotel Santo are refurbished. We are convinced to meet your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing