We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Santo
Ranked #17 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We (mature couple) really liked the location, i.e. walking distance to the cathedral and rail station. In that same vicinity are a great number of good restaurants. The area around the hotel is full of one-way streets and parking for "over-size" vehicles requires one of the staff to go along and open garage doors. The staff was most accommodating, the room was spacious enough and very clean. We'd return given the chance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    198
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
171
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel Santo with several friends for a bachelorette party, and it was a terrific experience. The hotel is quite modern, with sleek furniture and unique touches throughout. The room was a decent size, as was the bathroom, and the beds were comfortable. Location was decent, perhaps a 10-15 minute walk to city center. The best part about this hotel, however, was breakfast - easily one of the best breakfasts I've had at a European hotel in regard to variety and quality, and the staff were especially attentive. I would definitely recommend this hotel for solo travelers, couples, and friends. I'm not sure how kid-friendly it is (and a word of warning to parents - the artwork on the walls features nudity, so if that bothers you, this is not the hotel for you), but I would absolutely stay here again for a romantic getaway with my husband or another girls' trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I spent one night at Hotel Santo . The Hotel is small (small lobby ) . However it is very close to the main train station, which make it easy for travel. There are few restaurants in the area. The rooms are very clean and with a simple and “ clean design” the only problem I had, is with the mattress. The mattress was very hard, and personally I could not sleep well.
The breakfast is a buffet, with an excellent verity of food. Good food quality and fresh.
Bottom line : if you are coming to one day meetings in Köln, use this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rani0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed two night at Hotel Santo and was very satisfied with our stay. First of all the staff was very helpful in for example making early check-in possible. The rooms are nice and although we had a room facing the street we did not experience noise being a problem. The breakfast had a great variety and most importantly tasty quality food and attentive waitresses. The location, not very far from the central station and the area around Ebertplatz with cafes and restaurant was perfect for our stay. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JensenLykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one evening in business. Staff very helpful indeed. Hotel very clean and room very comfortable with great facilities and everything I could possibly need. Good quality towels and bedding which smelled fresh.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mand789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Well placed in the city, but no food offering in the evening. Ensure you plan to go out or have had lunch! Parking is possible but needs to be in a car of a certain size as the garage of the hotel has a restricted hight. This hotel will find serious competition when the Marriott Courtyard opens opposite.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GastronomeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Difficult to access due to traffic and they could not accommodate our Range Rover in the garage as it was too big, had to find street parking. Reception very friendly and staff very accomodating.
Rooms modern but well appointed and spotlessly clean. Definately a business stop over rather than family but the breakfast was well presented and priced At 160 euro for two not bad for a city location.

Room Tip: Lower floors the lift was very slow and busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Savoy Hotel
#14 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard Cologne
Courtyard Cologne
#20 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#8 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo

Property: Hotel Santo
Address: Dagobertstrasse 22-26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#24 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Santo in a quiet location, in the heart of Cologne, and walking distance to the Cathedral, has a straight forward atmosphere since its renovation, but is not lacking in warmth.The stylish rooms are fitted with parquet floors, and have high shine varnished furniture and natural stone floors in the bathrooms.The hotel in the middle of art and culture in the lively cathedral city, has the philosophy “attention as a present to the guest “.Since August 2012 all rooms at the Hotel Santo are refurbished. We are convinced to meet your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing