We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Ranked #17 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
A TripAdvisor Member
“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

very nice hotel, our room was on the last floor, as we have requested. We had a small terrace, from where you could see the Dome. There were public works on the street but nothing to disturb you. Friendly staff, free internet on the hotel's computer. wifi paid in the room only.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    550
    179
    39
    25
See reviews for
102
449
103
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We booked three nonsmoking king-size rooms but got 2 smoking rooms. Since the hotel was full the staff informed us they don't guarantee nonsmoking rooms. After a while we all got nonsmoking rooms but sadly one of the rooms was downgraded. We informed the front desk that we had paid extra for the rooms, but they told us to take that up with the travel agency even though the room was specified on our receipt. After what felt like forever we were asked to leave the front desk without having resolved the issue. It took many hours but we were eventually upgraded.

The staff could not care less and was condescending.

The next day the assistant manager also informed us that the hotel does not guarantee nonsmoking rooms or any upgrades that you have made.

If you’re a nonsmoker an weary of smoke then our advice is to stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: In one night we managed to visit four different kinds of rooms. All had terrible aircondition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is certainly a good 3* in normal ratings and a tad better than Ibis. The toiletries in the room is just shampoo/shower gel, there's no tea/coffee facility, there's no iron/ironing board.

I don't think it's their fault but I find in general hotels in Germany seem to have different standard of ranking in stars than the rest of the world. I stayed in a 4* hotel in Dusseldorf only to get the same settings. I suppose they earn the ratings from the overal facilities (sauna, gym) but I wouldn't say the room quality is of four star.

On the more plus side, they have comfortable, firm bed. Very clean everywhere. The proximity to the centre and U-bahn station is really really something we appreciated as a tourist. Staff was great and friendly enough for German standard but may sound rude if you don't understand the German language/way of speaking.

On the minus side, I was here during CSD (gay pride) weekend in the summer where the city was full of celebrations & tourists. As we always got back late from going out, we were always woken up around 8-9 in the morning where the open terrace is open for breakfast. So, might worth taking some ear plugs if you're a quiet sleeper.

Room Tip: as high as possible and not facing/close to open terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I reviewed this hotel probably a couple of years back. Since then, I had always avoided it but found myself staying there again last month. The hotel is undergoing a complete revamp. The room I had (4th floor, maybe called superior room) really was superior this time around. Upon asking, I was told that the rooms on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floor had been renovated and those on the 1st floor were going to be soon.
The location is ok - it is a 15 minute walk to the centre of the Altstadt, even though you still have big roadworks going on outside due to the subsidence problem that caused the town archive to collapse a few years back. I would certainly stay here again - the rooms on the top floor have a balcony and are definitely worth booking if you get a good price. Perhaps it might be useful to ask for a renovated room upon check in, as - from my experience - the difference between renovated and not renovated is enormous in this hotel. I will stay here again now that I have seen the improvements made.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room - or one on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkbpkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
205 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and the rooms were just about okay. We got a courtyard facing room and if somebody was loud (there seems to be a bar of sorts ) then you could hear it all through the night.
Pros :
The beds were comfortable and the room very clean
Cheap price
Location, pretty close to the cathedral and there are good restaurants on the way.
Cons :
Pathetic service, the staff couldn't care less if you stayed elsewhere
Only a single elevator, it was easier to take the stairs than wait for the elevator

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed there for two nights on a weekend.
Very close to the city, you can even walk.
Breakfast is good but expensive, as well as the Wi-Fi. A lot of chains are switching to free Wi-Fi, Mercure should do It too !
First day just minutes after getting into the room, someone just bumped into my room without knocking the door, no excuse.
The boring thing was that I've had to wait every time I came to the desk as there was a queue and no other colleague was visible.
Quiet rooms but keep in mind that there is a construction in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#13 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
art'otel cologne
#28 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#8 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#9 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City

Property: Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Address: Severinstrasse 199, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#15 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#27 Family Hotel in Cologne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#40 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koln City is right at the heart of the lively metropolis, in the popular Severinsviertel area. In just a few minutes, you can reach the old town, cathedral, main train station, Lanxess Arena and exhibition center. The hotel has 253 modern rooms with free WIFI. We have 6 rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people available for your event. At our "No.199" Bar with adjoining terrace, you can enjoy a variety of regional and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Cologne
Mercure Severinshof Koeln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing