We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Ranked #20 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This is my first time to Cologne City. I have stayed at several hotel in europe. I think this hotel is very good. The price is good, and the room is good, clean,big enough for 2 person.
They have cattle, coffee and tea for free. Also the bathroom is cleand, good and have a normal size.
The location is good near the city.
I think this hotel will be one of my favorite hotel in europe. And of course i will be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ars127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    576
    186
    43
    26
See reviews for
110
471
108
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at this hotel, and I was very impressed! Having changed my mind at the last minute about my accommodation, I booked a superior room at this hotel the night before my stay for a very reasonable rate. It was incredibly easy to get to, thanks to a tip from a fellow tripadvisor reviewer. From Hauptbahnhof (main train station), take the U18 or the U16, on the right hand platform (hint, the sign above says NEUMARKT), get off at the second stop (Neumarkt) and switch to either to U3 or U4, and get off outside the hotel at Severinsstrasse-- sounds complicated written down, but so simple! Other reviewers have said it is within walking distance from the city centre, however, we arrived very late and left very early, so didn't really fancy walking in the dark!
First impressions were that it was quite stylish, and well maintained. It was clean, and had a fantastic shower. The reception staff speak English, which is handy as most people don't know too much Deutsch! The beds are comfortable, and the rooms very adequately sized. Many reviewers have remarked that wifi is not available for free, but it actually is.. If you look closely enough at the web page it offers free wifi but at a slightly lower speed, and despite it requesting your details, that is optional. I didn't notice the supposed 'slower' speed at all! There are printing facilities in the lobby for those who need to print a boarding pass or suchlike, or just don't have an internet accessible device and want to research the area.
However, despite all these positives, there were a few downsides to my stay. Breakfast was a standard continental, which I have no problem with at all, but they charge 18 Euros per head, which I quite frankly find ridiculous. NOT worth it. Also, I have stayed in many hotels throughout Europe in supposedly expensive cities, and never paid as much for a drink as I did in this hotel. When in the restaurant, there is no price list for alcohol in the menu, so be careful when ordering, as I ended up paying 12 Euros for a single Jack Daniels and coke. The food is good, but again quite pricey. The staff were helpful, but some did not have a very good attitude toward the guests.
Having said all that, I did thoroughly enjoy my stay here, and I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very spacious and well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel back in April. The rooms were very nice, nicer than we had expected for the price we payed, so very good value. The bathroom was nice, and the bed slept fine. Although the highway and a construction site were right beneath our window, the windows were so well insulated you could not hear any of it, but as soon as you would open them, it was like you were hit by a hurricane of noise.

The hotel is on walking distance of the city center, there's a bakery near the hotel where you could choose to have breakfast, and there is a Thai Imbiss across the bakery that offers pretty good Thai food, so you don't even have to go far for food! The only thing I found lacking was that the hotel offered wifi at a considerable fee, another option was to use the public computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2881q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We booked a nice junior suite room on the fifth floor. The room is decent with a small living room, tiny kitchenette, modern and clean bathroom (shower only), and cute but small bedroom. For a business stay, the room is perfect but lacks a few amenities like an iron, filled minibar, cutlery (why have a kitchenette if there are no cutlery), and most importantly working wifi, and coffee kettle. Hotel dining is decent. Breakfast though is great. Ok, now where the major negatives are: when i asked for plates or somebody o take my laundry, i was told to go to reception to get them or drop them. I was hanged up twice when i called fron desk to ask something. Several times i have to actually wait five to ten minutes for someone to come to take my order. In a nutshell, service needs to be improved (or at least introduced) to earn four stars and be comparable to hotels in asia or the middle east. Oh, to reach the fifth floor, elevator goes only to fourth and then you have to climb the stairs. Amenities like shampoo and soap are not replaced. We stayed four days without a change or refill. Even the glasses were not cleaned. Location is great.

Beds are good but not four star level. Maybe this is the standard in europe but sure not in the us, asia, or mideast. Some were complaining about noise at night. Frankly, i am a light sleeper and havent had that issue at all.

Construction in front of hotel but not really a problem if your room is to the side. Frankly, if small changes are done and service is improved, this hotel would be ideal four star for cologne.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisserbroek, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Typical business hotel handy for visiting the centre of Köln. Good choice for breakfast, friendly staff, quiet comfortable rooms, and the room was very clean. Has garage parking (small spaces though) - but you have to pay.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the central quadrangle - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Wow, this hotel was terrible. Given a smoking room when asked for non-smoking. Flush was totally broken. When I complained they say, basically, tough. We'll get someone to fix the flush. Of course, they had zero urgency and did not bother. Rude people at the reception. Its should be a 2 star hostel and that would be generous.

Take your money and your good humor elsewhere because this place will hurt you on both fronts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itspokemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

stayed in mercure with friends and found it to be just what we needed for a short break in Cologne.Rooms were clean and tidy, with a nice breakfast included.
Location was a stroll to the city centre., but not excessive and a few bars dotted along the route which was handy.
All in all for what we paid, could not fault and would use this brand again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#16 of 261 in Cologne
1,331 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 261 in Cologne
1,762 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#15 of 261 in Cologne
474 reviews
Hotel Lyskirchen
#19 of 261 in Cologne
563 reviews
Novotel Koeln City
#34 of 261 in Cologne
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City

Property: Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Address: Severinstr. 199, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#23 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#27 Family Hotel in Cologne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#40 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City is right at the heart of the lively metropolis, in the popular Severinsviertel area. In just a few minutes, you can reach the old town, the famous cathedral, main train station, Lanxess Arena and exhibition center. The hotel has 253 modern non-smoking rooms with free WIFI. We have 6 rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people available for your event. At RELAX - FOOD, DRINKS & YOU, you can eat and drink in a relaxed lounge atmosphere with a large sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Cologne
Mercure Severinshof Koeln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing