We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don’t think I’ll bother in future!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum Hotel Mariella Airport
Ranked #139 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I don’t think I’ll bother in future!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was a Mercure hotel so was expecting something quite special - the pictures on the website certainly give that impression.

I was given a room in what was more or less the attic - I took the lift to the top floor of the hotel then had to fight my way through doors and up stairs to find the room, which at first sight seemed ok. although the bed wasn’t that comfy.

I didn’t realise until I returned back to the room at night that it was a smoking room and when I lied down to go to sleep, could tell it was. There was also a constant humming noise which I assume was the air conditioning units on the roof of the hotel where I was. If the noise couldn’t get any noisier, the cleaners storeroom was directly opposite mine so I was woken up by them.

On top of that, wifi was chargeable - it’s free in Ibis Budget!

If this is what Mercure have to offer then I don’t think I’ll bother in future!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBeerDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    52
    38
    14
    7
See reviews for
17
40
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Relatively small business style hotel. Very clean but dull looking hotel. Big enough rooms but you should avoid the ones facing a noisy street if you can. They are equipped with a safe and a mini bar but no AC.
Note that the hotel is not adjacent to the airport and requires a short drive. There is an S-Bahn station within a few minutes’ walk that takes you to the center of Cologne and the main station.
The Rhine is just a block away along with a couple of nice restaurants overlooking the river and footpaths following the river for jogging.
Internet package a bit pricey, best to take their “business package” that also includes breakfast.
Friendly service but the infrastructure is disappointing to Mercure’s standards. You’ll want to stay there only if the price is right and if you’re on a short business trip.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in July, had a good stay and loved the location. It is NOT within the grounds of the airport however, but is a short taxi ride away, it cost me a mere 13 Euro for the cab, there are thousands of cabs when you exit the airport so getting one is not a problem.

Located on a main road, it is best to ask for a quiet room, which I did (309) and I heard nothing in all the time I was there. Room had two twins, a desk, TV (which only has CNN in English), mini-bar and lots of space. Notably missing is air-con, it was 25 degrees when we were there and very stuffy. Bed was comfortable enough and I was ok to put my own drinks in the mini-bar as it isn't an electronic one.

Bathroom is pleasant enough albeit the shower curtain a bit stale (aren't they always) but the shower itself was one of the best I've used, loads of power and easy to control the temperature.

Location is superb in the town of Porz, excellent Italian restaurant opposite with charming owners (Il Cavallino) which serves great food at terrific prices! Calzone and a beer for just over 10 Euro, and they were both excellent...there is also the Rhine within a 2 minute walk of the hotel (come out reception turn right then right again at traffic lights, two nice restaurants here too on the banks of the river) and a good bar above the hotel serving until reasonably late. To get to central Cologne couldn't be easier, tram station is a 5 minute walk from hotel then 15 - 20 minutes to get to the town centre, tickets are very cheap and available from machines (in English) at the station. There is a grocery store a 5-minute walk away which sells pretty much everything. The good thing about being 20 minutes outwith the town centre is that we did note everything was a lot less expensive.

Couple of minor negatives as well as the lack of A/C - Wifi is not free but charged at 12.50 Euro per day. Breakfast charged at over 10 Euro is ok (ish) but there's a bakery within a 2 minute walk of the hotel which is a lot better, and nowhere near as expensive, the breakfast should be inclusive at this level of hotel as should the wifi.

Definitely recommend this hotel, I only booked it as friends were staying there and I have to say I wasn't looking forward to it, my pessimism was unfounded and I would most certainly go back for the excellent value and terrific location.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms look out back of hotel, 109, 209, 309, 409 or 509
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monaco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

First to discuss the location. It says airport hotel, but it is about 15-20 minutes from the airport, hotel does not offer free transfer service so if you need airport it will be 20euro by taxi (approximately). However, it is located in a convenient little area called Porz right on the Rhine river. Two minute walk from the hotel there are several excellent restaurants, and across the street from the hotel (two minute walk again) there is a shopping area that also has multiple bakeries which are great for breakfast.

The room is average size, and was very clean. It is basic furnishing however, nothing luxurious, but very functional. I was there for two nights, we were pleased.

The hotel does not offer free wifi.

If you do not have a car and you want to go into the city Koln, you can walk 5 minutes from the hotel and there are trams that are convenient into the heart of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Due to delays in flights and the need to get up for an early flight we arrived at 01:00 and left at 03:30. The Night Porter was faultless and arranged our early taxi for us. The room was fine and I slept comfortably. The only fault I have with the hotel is its description as being near to the airport. It wqas a 15 minute and 20€ taxi ride away. From the description on the Accor web site I had expected it to be on or next to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lemp
Hotel Lemp
#111 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Terminal
Hotel Terminal
#219 of 262 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Spiegel
Hotel Spiegel
#91 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Koeln City Center
4.6 mi away
Novum Hotel Silence Garden Cologne Brueck
2.4 mi away
Hotel Geisler
Hotel Geisler
#227 of 262 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Mariella Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Mariella Airport

Property: Novum Hotel Mariella Airport
Address: Hauptstr. 369, 51143 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Koeln Airport)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Mariella Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Mariella Airport is in close proximity to public transport and the airport Cologne-Bonn. All our rooms are equipped with practical amenities. Free wireless Internet access Modern comforts. The central location of the Novum Hotels are the ideal starting point for activities of any kind. With an extensive breakfast buffet to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Mariella Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing