We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sorgenfrei

Sorgenfrei
Ranked #113 of 2,367 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Contemporary, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Neustadt-Nord
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

An excellent steak with fries and a small green salad. It's not a cheap restaurant but the quality makes it worthy of a repeat visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurens R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Private Dining Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This lovely little restaurant is known for its wine, but for my private dining experience (organised for 20 people) they even organised a local bar tender so that our cocktail reception was pitcher perfect. The food was tasty and well presented and the accompanying wine was wonderful. The staff were accommodating and friendly and the overall experience was well received by all 20 guests. A great find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlowerFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
1 review
“warm & friendly fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Service: 9 out of 10
Food: 9 out of 10
Wine: 8 out of 10
Ambiance: 9 out of 10

During a walk through the Belgian quarter, we stumbled upon this lovely restaurant. The building had scafolding in front, and the restaurant had decorated it tasefully which gave as an impression that the restaurant was good as it took the effort to also care for its outer surroundings. We decided on a late dinner and made a late reservation for 21:30 which was no problem. We were warmly welcomed by the waitress.

We were given the menu and the waitress took the time to help us with our questions as our German is near non existent.

The dinner itself was very tasty. Great care was made by the chef to make a diverse palet of flavours for each of our dishes. It was well prepared, nicely presented and tasted very good. The perfect mix and combination of different flavours is what won me over personally.

Throughout the whole evening, the waitress constantly checked up on us. The service was authentic, timely and never intrusive. We felt welcome and would defenitely return for the great food and warm-hearted German hospitality!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meldert, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very cosy, great taste, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Visiting Koln for the weekend, coming from Belgium.
We booked the restaurant via their website, which went very easy.
The staff made us feel very welcome. They made a great effort to explain everything in English for us.
The interior felt very cosy.
We choose the menu with 4 dishes with wine-assortment. All plates were prepared with care, and with broad palet of tastes. Some surprising but successful combinations of ingredients.
The wines were carefully chosen and fitted very well with the menu.
For us they score very high on the price/quality balance !
We had a great time.
Will certainly return when we get back to Koln sometime !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoDC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
340 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Just plain good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stumbled over this restaurant while waiting for my laundry to dry at the nearby laundromat. Nothing was in English, but the waitress immediately took the time to explain everything on the menu.

I had 3 course meal starting with the herring. It was unique for me, but tasty. It was very nicely presented as well. For the main course, I had the ox cheek, and it was amazingly tender. The sauce was really good too. And dessert was a small glass of spiced yogurt with a pomegranate sauce. It was delicious.

It's a little on the expensive side, but if all the dishes are as good as the ox cheeks, I wouldn't mind. If I lived here, I might become a regular.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redningja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorgenfrei also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Sorgenfrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing