We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A satisfactory visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lyskirchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lyskirchen
Ranked #16 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A satisfactory visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice we have not got a bad word to say against it in terms of the room or facilities. Upon arrival everything was done with great efficiency parking in their underground car park was a real help. The room was fine and what you would expect from this type of hotel. I would say that it is not a typical tourist hotel but seemed like they had alot of business visitors. Sadly the worst part was something that had been commented upon in other reviews and that was the breakfast offered. It was very enjoyable but for 20 euros each it was for too expensive. Our meal the previous night was cheaper and better value. I thought it puts it into perspective when you could stay an extra night for the price of two days breakfasts for a couple. We ended up going into Cologne for our breakfast which was great to see the city waking up. Combine it with a walk around the dom when there are less visitors at 8.00 am or earlier.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 220807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    255
    80
    17
    2
See reviews for
73
206
52
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We took two singles and a double on 4th floor for 4 nights. The double was good size with balcony, the singles as expected smaller but fine. All had conventional en suite shower and toilet arrangements. Everything very clean and new looking. Staff fine and happy to speak English. Professional rather than fake-friendly, very happy with that personally. Surprised by some of the recent reviews, as not similar to our experience at all. Pool and small gym were very pleasant, no separate reception but lots of towels available. I did use the sauna, but it has to be turned on when requested (which is no problem though it takes 20 minutes to warm up).
No noise issues but we did find the room very hot at night despite turning heating off. Air conditioning not working but unsurprising at this time of year.
We did breakfast once it was very nicely done but a bit expensive for all of us to do. No other meals available on site but plenty of other venues nearby.
Minibars not functioning but drinks, chocolate, coffee etc available in the foyer/bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time writing your detailed feedback about our Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit of cologne. We do hope to welcoming you next time. Warm regards, your team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is hotel is definitely not four star. Its more like a better 3 star hotel. I picked it based on tripadvisor reviews and was really disappointed. Was surprised that people haven given it a good rating. I assure you this is not of four star rating.
The lady at the reception at the time of check-in was pretty rude, though the other staff were better. We arrived at 11a.m, and she made us wait till 2pm, before check-in. Don't expect any leniency. They don't even have a luggage room; its just kept at the side of the reception. The shower and wash basin are in the room itself, only seperated by a shower curtain. The only two plus points of the hotel was that its clean and its close to the centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I picked this hotel based on positive Tripadvisor reviews. I don't understand what people like about this place. The rooms are very very small, dark and worn out. You can hear every little noise from neighbor rooms. During my one night stay, I did not have any hot water. When they came to check out the problem they trampled all over the hallway and bathroom with mud on their shoes- and left the mess! Reception staff is at best uninterested, most times they don't even answer the phone. There is no way I would recomend this hotel to anyone for any reason.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry, that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
Best regards, your team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

An excellent hotel close to the city centre, clean and comfortable, excellent breakfast and helpful staff. I have stayed there many times and always get a warm welcome and very good service. There is underground parking, and a swimming pool too.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a relatively quiet street so no problems with noise or traffic. All the rooms are we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Peter,
thank you very much that you express your personal experience at our hotel. We will share your impressions with our team. We would be delighted if you enjoy our hospitality and our friendly atmosphere during your next stay in Cologne.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skewen, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in an apartment which was attached to the hotel. The apartment was lovely, airy and plenty of room with our family 2 adults and 2 children 14 and 10. The apartment had a cooker, microwave and fridge which was good if you wanted to self cater. There was no crockery or plates in the cupboards but it did state they would be available if you require them. It's a 5 to 10 minute walk to the main bars and restaurants. Swimming pool was an added bonus as you could get to it straight from the apartment room. Sauna available but didn't use. Overall we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your positive Feedback about your stay with us. We are happy to reach 100% guest satisfaction.
We do hope to welcoming you the next time when you visiting cologne.
Your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel is very well situated in the old town, just a short walk from the Dom and the main shopping area and restaurants. Our room was very clean and comfortable although it could have been a little larger. It was fairly quiet but there was some traffic noise if the window was left open, so we kept it shut at night and used the air conditioning which was efficient an quiet.

The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a lovely swimming pool which we used every day and a very well-equipped fitness centre. There is a breakfast room, but we did not have breakfast in the hotel, preferring to walk to one of the numerous nearby cafes.

There is also an underground garage for which the hotel charges 16 euros a day.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank foggie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lyskirchen.
We would be glad to welcoming you the next time when you are in cologne.
Best regards, your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#13 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
art'otel cologne
#29 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyskirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyskirchen

Property: Hotel Lyskirchen
Address: Filzengraben 26-32, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#18 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#23 Family Hotel in Cologne
#30 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyskirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lyskirchen is a modern four star business hotel, which welcomes its guests with a lot of comfort and personal flair. The hotel is located right in the heart of Cologne. From there you can reach the old town, Gurzenich, the Cologne Cathedral, the Trade-Fair grounds, the Lanxess Arena and the Rhine promenade in just a few minutes. Named after the nearby Church "St. Maria Lyskirchen", this boutique hotel impresses with its unique combination of historical exterior facade and modern interior design. All 103 rooms are equipped with cable television, high-speed Internet access, a desk and Tassimo coffee maker. On the first floor is the wellness area with a swimming pool, sauna and fitness center. Here guests can spend their time working out or relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lyskirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyskirchen Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing