We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”
Review of Hotel Lyskirchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lyskirchen
Ranked #21 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked to stay here for our first stop driving to Athens after reading the reviews on here.
We wanted to receive a friendly welcome at a safe, clean, quiet hotel with safe parking, and one near enough to the cathedral and city centre so we could have a quick sightseeing walk for an hour in the morning, all at a reasonable cost.
This hotel ticked all the boxes.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lyskirchen.
We would be glad to welcoming you the next time when you are in cologne.
Best regards, your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last weekend when I saw beyonce at the local arena (lanxess)

The hotel was in a very good location.

5 mins to shopping high street, 10 mins to train station and 3 minutes to chocolate museum.

The hotel itself was very clean. The beds were comfy and the duvets clean and fresh.

We paid €152 for two nights - well worth it.

Was to busy to check out the swimming pool / sauna.

Good value for money.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank RachelGeorgina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Rachel, Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lyskirchen.
We would be glad to welcoming you the next time when you are in cologne.
Best regards, your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is certainly not a four-star hotel as advertised. It is probably a 3 star hotel for European standards - I think the only reason it's listed as four stars is because they have a sauna and swimming pool.

Location - about a 20 minute walk to the train station and the cathedral, which is why I chose this hotel. However, after having spent a weekend in Cologne, I would've preferred a hotel that was closer to the lively shopping area with the bars/restaurants. If you want to just stick with being close to the Old Town though and not venture out to areas of Cologne, this is probably fine. Either way, a taxi ride to breweries in a livelier area are only about 8 euros. A taxi ride to the train station is also about 8 euros.

Beds - Whoa, I am only in my early 30s and even my back hurt after sleeping on these sunken-in beds! They are really two twin beds put next to each other with separate comforter covers. But they really sink in! Again - this is not four-star quality.

Internet - They charge you for Wifi (17 euros for one day, which is ridiculous). Since we were only there for a weekend, I thought, fine, we'll use the hotel lobby's computer, but they actually charge you for that too! What kind of four-star hotel does that? Hotel Lyskirchen, apparently.

Amenities - They provide a shampoo/body wash combo, body lotion, nail file, blow dryer and a bar of soap. No shower cap, no q-tips. I imagine if we asked, they might have been able to provide this though?

Bathroom - I didn't have a problem with the open view of the shower - but I was with my husband. There is a privacy curtain that splits up the room, so you have that if you're traveling with someone else.

Staff - They were professional. Not exactly the super-friendliest bunch, but not unfriendly either. I would say their responses to questions and the check-in experience were pretty much no fuss, no muss. When asking for ideas on where to go, they didn't really have much advice. Your best bet for that is to ask the tourism office.

Overall, it was a decent hotel, but I probably wouldn't stay here again if I visited Cologne.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApresNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry, that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Best regards, Your team from the Hotel Lyskirchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Close location to the city centre (just 15 minutes walk from the Dom).Quiet location with nice room and comfortable beds.It is a bit basic on amenities and shower is integrated in the room so If your room mate is not your couple, you will feel a bit uncomfortable.However, it is more than enough to rest and sleep. Very friendly staff that can guide you on your visit.We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel that was 66€ return and 6 people could fit :
Helmut Jakob
+49 15731333996
helmuttaxi@t-online.de
Definetly, this hotel is a good choice for your visit to Cologne

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fenomenopucela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lyskirchen. We also have rooms with a separat bathroom. So if you prefere this roomtype we can reserve one of this rooms for your next stay at Hotel Lyskirchen.
We would be glad to welcoming you the next time when you are in cologne.
Best regards, your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

River, Chocolate Musum, Cathedral, bahnhoff all close by. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast buffet - all good. But... No free wifi. Small rooms, minimal desk space, no desk chair, lobby looks like a lunch room, no mini bar, etc.

Room Tip: Room 250 was LOUD!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for the time writing your feedback about your stay with us. We are sorry that you are wondering to pay for the internet. To provide you with a very good bandwidth, we work with a trustful third party that provides the highest possible security in the net at the best possible rates.
It is right, that the Minibar was empty. We have a new concept in our hotel. Your can buy the drinks, snacks and some care products at our Market Place in our lobby.
See you next time in cologne.
Best regards, your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel was lovely, the rooms were clean, modern and spacious, although lack of free wifi in the rooms is a bit of a negative point. Contrary to some negative reviews on Trip Advisor my partner and I found the staff to be very polite.

The location is great, close to the river and U-Bahn stations, with the city centre only a train ride away. A short walk from the pretty 'Old Town' and also set in the midst of one of the city's gay districts, particularly catering for the Bear scene.

The sauna, pool and fitness suite were beautifully designed and very quiet, although a few pieces of gym equipment were in need of repair.

All in all we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kernowcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lyskirchen.
We are sorry that you are wondering to pay for the internet. We are working with a solid third-party supplier. So we can guarantee the best possible security for the best possible price.
We would be glad to welcoming you the next time when you are in cologne.
Best regards, your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked the Lyskirchen Hotel based on the price and it's advertised proximity to the Christmas markets and local attractions. I was surprised on arrival at just how well located it was. It was on a side road just off the river, with the fantastic chocolate museum (a must-do!) and the harbour christmas market literally across the road, a couple of minutes walk away. The cathedral, the main shopping streets and all but one of the Christmas markets were within 15 minutes walk (the Aldstadt market being very close). Lots of restaurants and traditional Brauhaus' nearby.

It was very easy to find on arrival - the train station was about 10-15 minutes walk along the riverfront (look out for the chocolate museum and you will see the hotel on your right just before). The train from Cologne-Bonn airport was every few minutes, takes about 15 minutes and costs about £3 so it is very easy to reach from the airport.

The hotel itself was very nice. The room wasn't very big but wasn't expected in a city centre hotel, it was comfortable, clean and quiet. The ensuite bathroom had clear glass walls all the way round so make sure you remember keep the curtain pulled if you don't want to see more of your travelling companion than you were expecting!! Toiletries were provided and there was plenty of hot water.

The breakfast was approx. €20 per person for what looked like a continental buffet so we opted out of that and just bought food from the supermarket which we kept in the fridge and ate at the small table in our room which worked well for us. There is a computer in the lobby which was available for guests to use, but this seemed a bit expensive too (approx. €5 for 15 minutes). There was a gym and swimming pool but we never came across these as we didn't have time.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We arrived early on our first day and were shown straight to our room to freshen up despite arriving a good 4 hours prior to our designated check-in time. On our last day they stored our luggage for us after check-out until we were ready to leave for our flight home.

All in all a great place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilly476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time writing your detailed feedback about our Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit of cologne. We do hope to welcoming you next time. Warm regards, your team from the Hotel Lyskirchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
art'otel cologne
#25 of 261 in Cologne
1,056 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 261 in Cologne
1,372 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#18 of 261 in Cologne
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Novotel Koeln City
#38 of 261 in Cologne
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyskirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyskirchen

Address: Filzengraben 26-32, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#23 Family Hotel in Cologne
#30 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £72 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyskirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lyskirchen is a modern four star business hotel, which welcomes its guests with a lot of comfort and personal flair. The hotel is located right in the heart of Cologne. From there you can reach the old town, Gurzenich, the Cologne Cathedral, the Trade-Fair grounds, the Lanxess Arena and the Rhine promenade in just a few minutes. Named after the nearby Church "St. Maria Lyskirchen", this boutique hotel impresses with its unique combination of historical exterior facade and modern interior design. All 103 rooms are equipped with cable television, high-speed Internet access, a desk and Tassimo coffee maker. On the first floor is the wellness area with a swimming pool, sauna and fitness center. Here guests can spend their time working out or relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lyskirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyskirchen Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing