We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly renovated and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lyskirchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lyskirchen
Ranked #20 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Newly renovated and comfortable”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel offers spacious modern rooms with excellent bedding - soft down cushions and duvets in crisp cotton. The open view bathroom is modern but the hand basin far too small to wash your hands or shave, with the result that water is all over the place.There is a spa with a huge indoor swimming pool and sauna. Unfortunately no loungers to relax in.
WiFi is not included and expensive. I used less than 5 minutes, but was charged 27 euros. I requested a detailed bill and the charge was dropped.
Breakfasts are expensive (around 20 euros), so I skipped that and had something to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rianviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the time writing your feedback about your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you are wondering to pay for the internet. We are working with a solid third-party supplier. So we can guarantee the best possible security for the best possible price. Next year the internet will be free of charge until 512K.
See you next time in cologne.
Best regards, your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    257
    80
    17
    2
See reviews for
73
207
52
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here at the end of May while travelling around Germany by motorbike. Nice hotel, bit difficult to find as it's tucked away in a little side street. Parking isn't cheap and we had a bit of a nightmare getting back out of the garage.
Location wise it was in the middle of everything with little tour buses going to the Cathedral etc, its just opposite the Lindt chocolate museum!
Hotel reception is ok, there was a lot of building work going on so it was quite loud, not great views from the room windows but as we were only there for a good nights sleep, we weren't too bothered.
Breakfast wasn't included but plenty of little cafes to eat nearby. The room itself was nice and clean, large bed with a TV, good shower area etc altough it was a see through bathroom with no locks, bit awkward!
Pool and sauna in the hotel were ok, gym looked nice although we didn't use.
Overall a nice hotel for a quick stop, although could probably find something similar for less money!

Room Tip: Try a room higher up. First floor was noisy and had a bad view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Stephanie,
Thank you for your time writing your detailed feedback about our Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit of cologne. We do hope to welcoming you next time. Warm regards, your team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our first visit to Germany and Cologne. A nice friendly hotel, has a business feel rather than a quirky family run hotel but atleast you know what to expect. Rooms were standard for a business themed hotel, clean, modern, small but just big enough to be comfortable. The hotel had a nice small pool and gym which we used and was also clean and tidy.
The hotel provided a good base in which to go out and explore Cologne. We visited the Catherdral, many pubs and restaurants, a jazz bar just a few minutes walk away and also the Lindt factory which was also just over the road from the hotel.
If you are on a budget but want a safe bet then i would recommend this hotel. Although, you will need to go out for meals etc as it is not really a fine dining or German themed restaurant/hotel in which you can experience some German cuisine/life.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lyskirchen.
We would be glad to welcoming you the next time when you are in cologne.
Best regards, your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is 5min walk from Heumarkt Metro Station, at the Rhine River Border. The rooms are spacious and modern. We didn't book the breakfast (quite expensive 19 E pp). Check in and check out is a breeze when you booked in advance. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your time writing your feedback about our Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit of cologne. We do hope to welcoming you next time. Warm regards, your team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Reasonable hotel in a good location.
Comfortable rooms and a nice pool.
Breakfast was overpriced for the quality of fare on offer.
But, still charging a small fortune for WiFi is ridiculous! Free internet is a must in the 21st century.
Rooms do not have tea/coffee making facilities - also a must these days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryAFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for you comment. We want to inform you that we will change some things at the Hotel Lyskirchen. At the end of the year we will have in each room tea and coffee making facilities. From the beginning of 2015 we will have Internet free of charge for all our hotel guests. Hope to see you soon. Best regards, Your team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally placed just off the riverside, with shops, bars and restaurants a 5 min walk away, and the train station about 10 min. The room was situated on the fourth floor facing the road, and even with the windows open the noise was minimal. I was told by other people in my party that in their rooms on the third floor on the opposite side of the hotel the chimes from the clock tower next door were audible from 7am onward.

The room we had was sufficiently sized for two people, the shower was good and the room was clean and well maintained. One complaint would be that the room was very warm and the air con was not very good. At €202 for three nights I thought it was very good value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelbod04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We are sorry, that the air conditioning in your room was not working. Please contact our staff for all personal needs during your stay. So we can guarantee to make your stay according to your taste immediately. Hope to see you soon.
Your team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently as part of a group trip to Cologne. The hotel is centrally located and just a short 50 yard walk to the Rhine.

The hotel is very modern inside and our room was very large and spacious. The cleanliness was exceptional. The pool and the sauna are superb but please be aware that you may see some nudity in the sauna.

The staff are superb, very polite, friendly and speak excellent English.

The value for money at this hotel was exceptional and we would certainly look to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamboroughman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback.
Also many thanks for your comment about the cleanliness in our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards, your team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#14 of 262 in Cologne
1,242 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#9 of 262 in Cologne
440 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
1,690 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyskirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyskirchen

Property: Hotel Lyskirchen
Address: Filzengraben 26-32, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#23 Family Hotel in Cologne
#30 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyskirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lyskirchen is a modern four star business hotel, which welcomes its guests with a lot of comfort and personal flair. The hotel is located right in the heart of Cologne. From there you can reach the old town, Gurzenich, the Cologne Cathedral, the Trade-Fair grounds, the Lanxess Arena and the Rhine promenade in just a few minutes. Named after the nearby Church "St. Maria Lyskirchen", this boutique hotel impresses with its unique combination of historical exterior facade and modern interior design. All 103 rooms are equipped with cable television, high-speed Internet access, a desk and Tassimo coffee maker. On the first floor is the wellness area with a swimming pool, sauna and fitness center. Here guests can spend their time working out or relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lyskirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyskirchen Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing