We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely with a pinch of salt” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lyskirchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lyskirchen
Ranked #14 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely with a pinch of salt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The overall experience was okay-ish at best. Excellent location, wonderful staff, and really quite afforable rates. Soundproofing was hideous, though. If you want to wake up at 3AM when your friendly neighbour calls it a drunken day by calling his spouse over a speaker phone then rest assured you will hear each and every word of their conversation on whole. €19.50 breakfast and €17/day internet were also quite... awkward, really. All in all, could've been worse but given all the hidden costs and the quality of sleep (dependable, admittedly), I think my next stay in Cologne will be somewhere else.

Room Tip: Book via the hotel's website and you at least get one hour of daily internet for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalarymanDaishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your comment.
We are realy sorry, that you heared the phone call of your neighbour. Normally the equipment of our rooms can garuantee you a restful sleep.
There are also good news concerning your comment to the internet. Wifi will be free of charge next year.
Hope to see you soon at Hotel Lyskirchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    255
    80
    17
    2
See reviews for
73
206
52
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely hotel in quiet street off main road, close to river and shopping and sight seeing areas of cologne. Hotel is very clean and modern, lovely pool and sauna and fitness centre,staff all very friendly and helpful. we did not have breakfast has at 19 euros thought this was too expensive. Plenty of places to get breakfast locally, a massive collection of bars and eateries, you could stay for a year and eat at a different place every day.Cologne is a fantastic city with great transport links only 2.80 euros from airport to main station on train, takes about 15-20 mins, hotel about 15 mins walk from main station along the river. One word of warning for the ladies, don't pack any heels has most of the old town is cobbled, flat shoes is must. If the weather is nice grab a some lunch and beer and sit by the river and watch the world go by, nice and relaxing. All in all wonderful safe city, and would recommend Lyskirchen as your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarneyBodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Barney,
Thank you for your positive comment and for your caring words about our city cologne.
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards, Your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just come back from a great weekend in Cologne celebrating my husbands birthday and booked this hotel for 3 nights. We couldn't fault the hotel at all, the room was clean and spacious and the staff were helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel was great, about a 5 minute walk into the old town and river. The only one thing was that the air conditioning in the room could have been better, but we would definitely stay their again and would recommend it to anyone going to Cologne for a break.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoef1ferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Many Thanks for your nice comment .
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lyskirchen.
We would be glad to welcoming you the next time in cologne.
Best regards, your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

It was a nice and warm hotel, the people who work there were friendly and very helpful. We only had problem with the loud noises of the church behind the building and some trucks that were passing by. It's not the fault of the hotel, but someting to keep in mind if you're light sleeper.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kabo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your positive comment.
Hope to see you soon in cologne.
Your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent stay, clean, good value and friendly staff, it was lovely to get up and have swim before breakfast. We walked down the street to it. We enjoyed are stay an recommend others to stay. We left our car their for the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Marianneejj,
Thank you for your positive Feedback about your stay with us. We are happy to reach 100% guest satisfaction.
We do hope to welcoming you the next time when you visiting cologne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel offers spacious modern rooms with excellent bedding - soft down cushions and duvets in crisp cotton. The open view bathroom is modern but the hand basin far too small to wash your hands or shave, with the result that water is all over the place.There is a spa with a huge indoor swimming pool and sauna. Unfortunately no loungers to relax in.
WiFi is not included and expensive. I used less than 5 minutes, but was charged 27 euros. I requested a detailed bill and the charge was dropped.
Breakfasts are expensive (around 20 euros), so I skipped that and had something to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rianviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the time writing your feedback about your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you are wondering to pay for the internet. We are working with a solid third-party supplier. So we can guarantee the best possible security for the best possible price. Next year the internet will be free of charge until 512K.
See you next time in cologne.
Best regards, your Team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here at the end of May while travelling around Germany by motorbike. Nice hotel, bit difficult to find as it's tucked away in a little side street. Parking isn't cheap and we had a bit of a nightmare getting back out of the garage.
Location wise it was in the middle of everything with little tour buses going to the Cathedral etc, its just opposite the Lindt chocolate museum!
Hotel reception is ok, there was a lot of building work going on so it was quite loud, not great views from the room windows but as we were only there for a good nights sleep, we weren't too bothered.
Breakfast wasn't included but plenty of little cafes to eat nearby. The room itself was nice and clean, large bed with a TV, good shower area etc altough it was a see through bathroom with no locks, bit awkward!
Pool and sauna in the hotel were ok, gym looked nice although we didn't use.
Overall a nice hotel for a quick stop, although could probably find something similar for less money!

Room Tip: Try a room higher up. First floor was noisy and had a bad view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitung_Lyskirchen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Lyskirchen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Stephanie,
Thank you for your time writing your detailed feedback about our Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit of cologne. We do hope to welcoming you next time. Warm regards, your team from the Hotel Lyskirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#13 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
art'otel cologne
#30 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyskirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyskirchen

Property: Hotel Lyskirchen
Address: Filzengraben 26-32, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#19 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#23 Family Hotel in Cologne
#30 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyskirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lyskirchen is a modern four star business hotel, which welcomes its guests with a lot of comfort and personal flair. The hotel is located right in the heart of Cologne. From there you can reach the old town, Gurzenich, the Cologne Cathedral, the Trade-Fair grounds, the Lanxess Arena and the Rhine promenade in just a few minutes. Named after the nearby Church "St. Maria Lyskirchen", this boutique hotel impresses with its unique combination of historical exterior facade and modern interior design. All 103 rooms are equipped with cable television, high-speed Internet access, a desk and Tassimo coffee maker. On the first floor is the wellness area with a swimming pool, sauna and fitness center. Here guests can spend their time working out or relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lyskirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyskirchen Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing