We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wifi and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Koln
Ranked #56 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Free wifi and great location”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We picked this hotel to see the Christmas markets in Cologne as it's very well located to the station, has free wifi and is right in the centre of town. It met all our needs and it was also clean comfortable as well! The staff were all friendly and spoke English.

It's only a trip across the road and through the station to the Cathedral where the best of the markets is, and all the central town and shopping was nearby.

We skipped breakfast because it was overpriced so I can't say if it was any good or not. There are some great options nearby that come at better prices. We went to a fantastic bakery called Bastians that we loved so much we went two mornings in a row.

The Christmas markets were also really lovely. And the food. Oh the food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71762, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Best Western Hotel Koln, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Tim,

Thank you for your comment about your last stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln.

We are very happy about your positive feedback.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We hope to see you again in the near future at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln.

Our serviceteam wishes you a wonderful new year 2014.

Best regards from Cologne,

Guest Relation Service
BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    93
    48
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
61
8
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spennymoor, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We strayed here as a stop off point with National Holidays.
Lovely rooms
Comfortable beds
Spacious
Good Bathrooms
Breakfast was lovely never had smoked salmon for breakfast before.
Same on way back to UK

Room Tip: All rooms were same according to our party 50 of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71762, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Best Western Hotel Koln, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you for your feedback about your last stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again very soon at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us direct under:
guestrelation@bestwestern-koeln.de.

Our serviceteam wishes you a wonderful time in your hometown.

With kind hospitality & best regards from the Domcity of Cologne

Service-Team / Guest Relation Service
BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great hotel, very clean and spacious. Hotel restaurant provided an top breakfast with a very good choice for all tastes
The reception team were very friendly and helpful offering advice on how best to travel around the city
Went to the Christmas Markets, so much going off, the ones nearer ro the Cathedral seem to offer you more choice. Gluwein and bratworst the order of the day on some very cold days.
The bar in the hotel even though a little pricey gave an excellent choice and very welcome after a long day in the town.
Not too far from the city centre, staff very good and happy to help

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompeyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71762, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Best Western Hotel Koln, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you for your feedback about your last stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again very soon at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us direct under:
guestrelation@bestwestern-koeln.de.

Our serviceteam wishes you a wonderful summertime in your hometown.

With kind hospitality & best regards from the Domcity of Cologne

Service-Team / Guest Relation Service
BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This hotel is a good base for a city break. It is a little bit out of the city but with a 10 minute walk to the S Bahn and a 10 minute train ride it is not too much hassle to get to the city centre. The Hotel receptionist gave us the directions to find the S bahn. The area is a bit quiet there is no where really to eat apart from take aways or the hotel. We ate in the hotel on the Saturday night and the food was good. Breakfast is very good with a choice of eggs, bacon, sausage plus pastries, fruit etc.

People complain about the noise from the trains but we did not have any issues. The Wifi is slow but if you are staying there for a weekend away then you probably don't need to download big files anyway.

I would stay again if visiting Cologne

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inmyopinion22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The hotel ,located in Kalk neigbourhood of Cologne, which is not easily accesible (needs more hotel sign on the route) and not so close to historical monuments,however, has wonderful beds for a good quality sleeping, offers nice and affordable breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequent flyer a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71762, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Best Western Hotel Koln, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you for your feedback about your last stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again very soon at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us direct under:
guestrelation@bestwestern-koeln.de.

Our serviceteam wishes you a wonderful time in your hometown.

With kind hospitality & best regards from the Domcity of Cologne

Service-Team / Guest Relation Service
BEST WESTERN Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a clean hotel, not the location to be in if you are a tourist, go closer to the city. I use this hotel 3 or 4 times a year for work/business purposes. The staff speak english and are polite, breakfast is a good spread compared to other places I've been to and the rooms are kept clean. Air conditioning, the rooms to the left of the building all seem to have shower/bath where as the rooms to the right when you get to the room floors only have shower. No fridge or tea/coffee facilities in room but now they offer internet free in room if you ask for the internet code which has recently changed. I would only eat in the restaurant if I wanted a treat as it is a bit on the expensive side for what you get but the duck is lovely, better off walking up to the brewery (sunner) or elsewhere. Free tea/coffee pot as you walk in the front door but isn't regularly filled is a down side as I miss a hot drink in the evening sometimes but if you ask they refill it.

It's exactly what you need for work but if I was touring, I'd stay closer in town down along the Rhine as there are some good value hotels for tourists. There is a pool/fitness place up the road (not located at the hotel) but I've never found it so don't know what it is like. It's good for the purpose of work which is what I use it for only.

Room Tip: 4 floors, top floor on right as you come out is best/quiet. Vendoning machine if you want a snack o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln
Leonardo Hotel Cologne
#52 of 261 in Cologne
477 reviews
Servatius Hotel
#93 of 261 in Cologne
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lindenthal
Park Inn by Radisson Koeln City West
Mülheim
BURNS Art Cologne
BURNS Art Cologne
#62 of 261 in Cologne
151 reviews
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Koln

Property: Best Western Hotel Koln
Address: Bennoplatz 2, 51103 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Koln 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 4* Best Western Hotel Köln! The perfect location of the Hotel in Cologne to the LANXESS arena, the trade fair/congress center in Cologne, the Cologne Bonn Airport (CGN) and the City of Cologne is characterized by the hotel for your stay in the City of Cologne. There are 90 comfortable rooms and 2 suites in a modern ambiance. All rooms are refurbished and equipped with new design floor(no carpet!). The Best Western Hotel Köln offers also meeting rooms for up to 90 people. As a special service wireless (WiFi) is free for all our guests. For a extra fee we organize an airport transfer with our long-standing cooperation partner. Please note: The hotel in Cologne does not have an own spa area, but we offer our guests tickets for the Claudius Thermal spa in Cologne (surcharge). We look forward to welcome you at the Best Western Hotel Köln! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Cologne
Best Western Cologne
Cologne Best Western
Best Western Koeln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing