We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Ranked #14 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor hotel”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stars or no stars, there are several basic expectations that this hotel did not meet.
First, directions to the hotel - the hotel suggested that one could see the hotel from the Hansaring subway station - this was not true, and in hindsight, probably not advisable for a lone woman to walk at night from the station. At night, it was also difficult to see exactly where the hotel is in this business park area.
Power sockets: they shut off once the lights are switched off - would be difficult to charge any mobile devices that everyone carries around these days.
Good point: the room had tea/coffee facility, a definite rarity for hotels in Germany.
Breakfast: service was reasonable but the atmosphere of a market place, it made me think perhaps a tourist group was in? Not exactly what one would expect from a business hotel.
The room was fine, but that is expected. The air ventillation system extremely loud and cannot be turned off, sleeping might be an issue for light sleepers.
Cleaning staff - the hotel obviously has no clear system, the cleaning staff wanted to come into my room on the day of check out when I have not yet checked out, and it was way before check out time. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndependenttravelDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    412
    191
    70
    29
See reviews for
93
332
59
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Friendly staff, most of them spoke english. The dining area looks quite modern. The room was also nice, but had more of an 80s feel to it. Very poor internet connection, that lowers my rating. Even though it was free.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Trude E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I start with the good part: The location is indeed very nice. 5 minutes by taxi to the train station, and around 10 minutes by foot to the subway station. Although central, the surrounding area has the calm feeling of a suburb, because the "Mediapark" is a business area which is fairly calm during day time.

The rooms are quite spacious and clean, but the air condition is a disaster. I stayed with a group of friends in several rooms, and every room had a problem: In some rooms, air con did not work at all (making noise but not cooling down the room), in others, it was impossible to switch off. Despite putting it to "0" it still blew cold air into the room. When I went to a nearby pharmacy next day to buy some lozenges against sore throat, the pharmacist asked me immediatly, if I stay at the NH Media Park, because he often had customers coming to him buying medicine against sore throat or cold after sleeping in there. Need I say more? It was kind of a bizarre situation having a pharmacist giving (unasked) advice on how to turn the air condition properly off in your hotel room.

Breakfast buffet is way too pricey, and the choice is rather poor. I ordered black tea twice and it tasted like soap water every time. Horrible. The service was very inconsistent. You might meet a friendly staff at the reception, but they don't seem to communicate with each other, so things that you agreed on with one person might still be unsolved the next day, and you have to explain all again. This happened several times.

All in all, the only thing that stays on the plus side, is the location. Quite disappointing, after all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisd0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Oh nH hotels.... they always surprise me in either the good or bad way. This hotel was pretty average and standard... but it did not deserve 4 stars... The hotel was clean but old and not modern.. Updates needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

a) I expect a working WLAN or at least access to a LAN, nothing of the sort is working here. Paid for premium access and still only got a decent connection in the lobby, but we are talking about extremely low speeds. It's a business hotel, so I need to work on my companies servers and send and receive mails. Took ages to do so.
b) ATTENTION: The windows are obviously coated with some material that prevents mobile access. I have T-Mobile AND o2 and neither had more than GSM or EDGE. And we are talking city center here, not the end of the world!
c) Breakfast was average. relatively small breakfast room if the hotel is full (which was the case). How about a freshly squeezed juice? How about a friendly and attentive waiter during breakfast? Or at least friendly???
d) Averagely friendly receptionists (check-in was ok, check out not so much). Wouldn't call them rude, but simply a bit stressed out. And we are talking 220€/night during trade fair season, so not exactly value for money. But then again it's just 4 stars.
e) rooms: well kind of ok. not too modern. Internet and phone reception is the biggest issue. and today completely unacceptable!!! I mean no free internet would be a no go, but no smartphone access due to some architectural issue is 100% unacceptable.

Would I come back: my company is right next door, so out of pure convenience I might have to, but will definitely try something else next time...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AloneOnTheWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Hospital furniture, 15 year old tv, 20 channels, dirty carpet (check my pic to see all of those).
Rude person at the checking, he was not at the desk and there was no bell to call him, so I had to ask a cleaning boy to fetch him, then he finally arrives and he greets me by saying "namen?". I do not speak German, but I do not think that this is appropriate.
Cherry on the cake: they announce everywhere "free wifi" but this is only later that they inform you that you have to pay if you want to use a vpn.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sad_Panda_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

A little difficult to get to, but eventually got there. Reasonably priced, Internet slow as can be, but it is free. Breakfast a bit pricey, but where else can you go at 6:29 am? Back of hotel is a running/bike track? Okay if you like to go in circles. You can run to the DOM in 8 mins, that's how long it took me. On the way back got lost. Staff friendly, checkout is 12:00 great for me. Fitness room a little outdated, TV remote could not be found, bring your iPod. Standard room, is more than enough space for 2 people. Otherwise a satisfactory stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#13 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#9 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Koln Mediapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Koln Mediapark

Property: NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Address: Im Mediapark 8b, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cologne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#17 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#19 Family Hotel in Cologne
#34 Business Hotel in Cologne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Koln Mediapark 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Koeln Mediapark is located in the city center of Cologne, in the MediaPark close to the Cologne Tower.The modern building by architect Jean Novel with view over the Mediapark Lake is only 15 minutes walk distance from the city centre with its famous Dom. Public transportation is a few steps away, providing easy access to the city's various sights and attractions. Also by car the NH Collection Koeln Mediapark can be reached easily from the motorway. Numerous parking spaces in a public parking area are available, follow signs NH Collection Koeln Mediapark. The hotel has 217 rooms, including 2 top-floor suites, which get fantastic views across the lake towards Cologne cathedral. The rooms are friendly and modern with spacious bathrooms with rain shower. In all rooms you have a Nespresso machine and tea and coffee making facilities available. The beds are with comfortable high mattresses. In our modern restaurant we serve international and regional kitchen.Early bird breakfast and late riser breakfast on the weekend is available. There's also a gym, complete with steam bath and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Koln Mediapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Cologne
Media Park Nh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing