We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient cheap and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
Ranked #69 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Perth
Level Contributor
274 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“convenient cheap and clean”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This hotel is right near the station, well priced and very clean. They are in the process of renovating and we were not disturbed by any noise while we were there. We arrived late morning and while our room was not ready, they allowed us to leave our luggage and do our book in. Staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us maps etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michele_6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    90
    40
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
43
33
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I found this wonderful hotel on trip adviser. Location is convenient, if you came in by train to Train main station Hbh, the hotel is right by there, less than 2 minutes walk. It is clean, everything as described. The reception staff, polite and helpful. The best is there is a sauna room on the third floor.

Walkable everywhere, if you need to take transport, the U-bahn and the bus terminal is right there.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor, if you want to use the sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Although our stay at this hotel was short, we felt totally pampered from the time we stepped in the front door. As my husband and I were travelling with our adult son, we had requested a double room with an extra cot. Instead we were given a beautiful, very large triple room. As well as a welcoming bottle of cold water, the room had the usual amenities - hair dryer, shampoo etc. It was bright, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful in a bright, cheery, large dining room.
As we were arriving and departing by train, the location was perfect for us.
I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here on our next visit to Cologne.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed in room 110 for one night for a business trip. The room was clean but very warm. The room was very small and there is no wifi in the hotel. Also there is no restaurant and reception area is very small to sit and chat with colleagues. We paid 85 euros for 1 night stay and breakfast. The breakfast was good and if you like trains, the view from the breakfast room is overlooking the train station. You can watch the trains come and go.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

...providing that is that you don't mind a hotel without a restaurant. There is a bar attached through a separate entrance to the rear of the hotel that sells the local beer at the cheapest price I encountered in Cologne, but there is a reason for that!! I will let you be the judge on that one.
If you arrive by rail you can see the hotel across the road as you come out of the station concourse, but beware, I missed it at first as the signage says "Kommerz Hotel" and I was looking for the word "Guennwig". The location is good and the breakfast fine, the usual bread, fruit, ham and cheeses, plus hot (or should I say lukewarm) eggs, sausages and bacon. The room was fine with a good firm mattress and very soft pillows. Overall clean and adequate. Location is spot on although you have to walk through the station concourse to the other end to reach the main sights and eating establishments.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianandpasturesnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yehud, Israel
Level Contributor
141 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

i reached Koln by train from Hamburg, locating the hotel was easy as it's right outside the train station, also meaning that almost every major attraction in the city is withing a few minutes walk's reach. The hotel itself is very simple, my room was spacious and had almost everything i needed (air conditioning would be nice and maybe a minibar though i could do without). i used the hotel's laundery service and found it quick and efficient although the staff forgot to put a new laundry bag and a new laundry form in my room (otherwise i would have used it again).
the breakfast buffet is rich and the food tasty but the fresh drinks were not chilled, meaning they were cold wen put on the table but there was nothing to keep them cold.

all in all, it would suit a businessman more than the average tourist

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel overnight on our way to Strasbourg. The hotel can be seen from the platform (arriving from Dusseldorf airport at least), and is a one minute walk. The rate was also cheaper than others, so good value in those two respects. Otherwise pretty shabby and very simple, but served our purpose. Staff spoke good English and was overall quite amiable. Good choice for budget travels (60EUR for a double on Dec. 30) and convenience for catching a train from CGN Hbf or late arrival to the latter.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank taiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
#95 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#31 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#60 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Drei Kronen
#63 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guennewig Kommerz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guennewig Kommerz Hotel

Property: Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
Address: Johannisstr. 30-34, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guennewig Kommerz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the Heart of Cologne and with a magnificent view of the famous Cathedral is where the Gunnewig Kommerz Hotel is located. The well kept hotel is an ideal starting point for interesting activities in Cologne, for a visit in one of the several museums, a stroll to the old part of town or for shopping in the city centre. What about a visit to an event in the musical dome or the Lanxess Arena? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guennewig Kommerz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing