We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price it was good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt
Ranked #197 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“For the price it was good”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Booked this hotel on Expedia. It was the cheapest hotel that had a good proximity to the city. The hotel is pretty decent. The hotel staffs were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and in order. It had a good TV but no extra’s such as kettle, tea etc.

Breakfast was really good too. Well worth it.

The only negative I can give to this hotel is that the doors are a little bit thin. We had a bunch of guys who decided to have a bit of a party in our corridor. We were awoken a couple of times from clanking beer bottles and ranting. We had to call reception to tell them to go quieten down.
Apart from that – all is good overall. Highly recommend if you are on a short trip to Cologne!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisaPag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are delighted that you had a nice time in Cologne.
For the inconvenience, regarding the noise, we want to apologize very much.
We would be glad to welcome you again in one of our Novum Hotels.

Faithfully Yours

Leonet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    145
    168
    65
    30
See reviews for
74
140
64
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Small room - damp smelling. Breakfast nothing special - hard rolls not that much choice. Parking places at rear VERY RESTRICTED. Parked on the Street the first night, was told I could get 2nd night free and pay for the 3rd night. When I came to check out a very rude young lady insisted I had to pay for 2 nights otherwise she would have to pay for it herself! very argumentative and rude I asked her to call the Manager as I wanted to speak with him she then backed down...
Practically accused me of making the story up! So watch out for that one ! Bed mattress VERY Thin and uncomfortable. Bathroom VERY small - our room was advertised as soundproofed ! We heard plenty of sound especially the lift next door - avoid Room 103..... My husband and I will not be returning again. Positive side - great position to walk to Old Town....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boadicea22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We want to apologize very much for the behavior and unfriendliness of our employee.
We have spoken directly with them and will make further training.
For the inconvenience we want to apologize very much.

Sincerely Yours

Leonet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Deinze, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The pictures say it all ... absolutely not worth the EUR 155/night I paid.

This hotel needed a make-over (or at least a paint job) years ago,
simply dirty and worn out.

On the outside, only 3 of the 5 letters of "H_T_L" still work ... it doesn't get any better from there on...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your honest words, regarding you stay in our Hotel Leonet.
Of course, we have passed the criticized points to our technical department.
We want to apologize very much for the resulting inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Leonet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

What a beautiful hotel. The people in the reception are very nice. Then you get a nice, wide bedroom. The heating works perfect, the toilet is nice and clean with a bathtub and plenty of towels. I also found two sweets on the pillows.
The internet works normally very good. In four days I only lost the conexion two times. Is not very fast but it works fine.
There is no minibar but there is a Lidl just in the corner. The location is also wonderful, Rudolfplatz is few steps away. From the Hbf is just 25 minutes walking.
Around the hotel you can find lots of restaurants and bars, but the street where it is located is very calm. I did not have problems of noise at all.
The breakfast was included in the price. I paid 180 euros for 4 nights, so I think the price was extremely good, because of the season.
The bed was good, I got a double twin, insted of a double but its ok.
I will come back for sure!

Room Tip: I think the individual room is quite small, so I recommend to ask for a double and pay it, its more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davcos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel Leonet.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Leonet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have visited Cologne numerous times over the past ten years, staying at different hotels of differing star ratings, the last four years we have stayed at The Leonet each year, we will continue to stay. It's location is brilliant for Christmas markets and a short tram ride gets you right into the City centre.
The car parking is limited and cannot be booked in advance, accommodation is clean, tidy and comfortable.

A kettle with tea and coffee in the room would be appreciated, there is enough to choose from at Breakfast, a little bacon would be nice but not essential.

The staff are helpful and pleasant to deal with.

I agree with other comments that the pillows are tired, grubby and too soft, my pillow case continually slipped of revealing the brown/grey pillow inside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litcham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 day visit to the Christmas markets. The hotel was affordable for our modest budget and we were not disappointed with either service or room. We were on the first floor and overlooked a minor street in the city. Views not great but we didn't expect anything else. I was certainly pleased that the window would open properly to allow fresh air and that the room was not ridiculously warm in fact it was just right. The bathroom was compact but very clean and perfectly serviceable. Now the breakfast, this was extremely good and far exceeded my expectations. Excellent bread rolls (why can continental nations do such brilliant mass produced bread and England produce such an inferior version) tremendous coffee, fruit, eggs, wursts various. This food was as good as you would get in much more expensive places indeed quite a highlight of the trip.Staff were helpful and efficient but we saw little of them except at check in and out. Breakfast service staff were good.
Conclusion, no whistles and bells but we didn't pay for them. If you want clean, comfortable warm shower, belting breakfast then you can do much worse than here,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This time I did not make the mistake of booking a single room for the sake of saving 10 euros, the double room was perfectly fine (nothing special, but fits the purpose). For some reason it is still considered a good idea to leave all windows open after cleaning (it was 3C outside...) so the room is ice cold as one enters but the heating is good, it was OK within five minutes. Locaton is excellent, 5' from the Rudolfplatz underground station, and there is a big Lidl supermarket just a corner away on the Hansaring if one wishes to economise on food/drinks. Breakfast is decent, but forget the coffee... Overall if one catches a good deal it is well worth it, but I would never pay the list price for it.

Room Tip: Avoid the single rooms on the ground floor, they are substandard on all counts. The couple of extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt
Hotel Weber
#86 of 261 in Cologne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Koeln City
#34 of 261 in Cologne
1,294 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#121 of 261 in Cologne
129 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#55 of 261 in Cologne
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt

Property: Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt
Address: Rubensstr. 33, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Leonet Hotel)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Leonet located directly in the center of Cologne and offers from here is the ideal starting point for activities in the private and corporate sector. The central Novum Hotel, in the heart of Cologne, offer overnight stays at attractive prices in order to know one of the most beautiful cities in Germany closer. Our rooms feature a tasteful, practical, yet still modern. Our free wireless Internet access for extra comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonet Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing