We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficiently Excellent - and just next to the Dom”
Review of Hilton Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cologne
Ranked #23 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2011

If you are staying in Cologne there is a good chance to that you are here for a short time and want a hotel close to the Cathedral (the Dom) and close to the train station. The Hilton is 2 minutes from the Dom and 5 from the station and fulfills everything that you would expect from a Hilton, and from a German Hilton in particular. From the word go everything is efficient and unobtrusive, you simply dont notice much because nothing is out of the ordinary. I mean this is an entirely positive way. The whole place is much like a good haircut - when it's done right no-one has to notice, but the most important person feels good with it.
Stay hear in a heartbeat if you are looking for a comfortable, efficient and enjoyable stay, at the upper end of what you would expect from a Hilton.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Hilton Cologne and for sharing your impressions about our property.

With pleasure I read that you enjoyed our hotel and that you find really convenient our location and the Hilton Standards.

We really appreciate your comments, since they represent a way to improve our performance in order to delivery high quality service to our guests. If you have any other feedback or suggestions please feel free to contact me anytime.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Cologne.

Kind regards,
Angelo Vassallo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Cologne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2011

Stayed two nights beginning of February. Very easy to find from Cologne Central station. Pleasant hotel, room was fine, good breakfast. Had room service Pizza first night which was also good. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Just a short walk into City centre, so very handy. All in all, couldn't fault it, especially at the rate that was paid.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your feedback and giving us such a good score. We are very happy to read that your stay with us fully met your expectations.

You highlighted the convenience of our hotel’s location. That is indeed one of the advantages of our hotel.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime directle if we may assist you.

Kind regards,
HILTON COLOGNE

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The Hilton hotel Cologne is located in the heart of Cologne. It is perfect for business meetings in the city centre. The friendly staff informed me about the city and the connection to the airport. My room was well cleaned and obviously previously refurbished. Everything seemed pretty new to me. The breakfast was phantastic! I will choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMI54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to let us have your expressions about your recent stay at the Hilton Cologne.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that you appreciated the room provided. Thank you very much for your nice comments about the friendliness of our staff and the well cleaned room provided.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cologne in the near future.

Kind regards,

HILTON COLOGNE
Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Hotel selected to take advantage of seasonal special offer terms and after reading of other reviews (mixed) on TripAdvisor. I found no evidence of criticisms recorded by previous reviewers and my experience echoed all the best reports I had read. I would recommend the hotel first for the high competence and willingness of all staff I encountered, from arrival to check-out after four nights, and secondly for the perfect location (very close to the cathedral, the symphony hall, the excellent museums and the main railway station - but without the seedy surroundings that are often found near stations). I also commend the high quality of accommodation (in my case a deluxe room). Although some furniture showed signs of wear after, perhaps, 5 years or more of use and the CRTV was due for replacement with a flat screen, the "essentials" for a comfortable stay (good plumbing, lighting, electrical power, internet access (extra cost), wardrobe space, etc) were all of the best quality; perfectly up to date and in full working order. The room was also spacious by the standards of most hotels in Europe. Finally, the hotel offers an excellent breakfast. I did not dine in the hotel restaurant (I found there were many good restaurants to enjoy elsewhere in Cologne) but was impressed by the menu on offer and the fact that, unlike many hotel restaurants, it was used extensively by other guests.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-of-Goring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Tripadvisor about your recent stay at the Hilton Cologne and for giving us such a good score.

It is great to read about your positive experience and your kind words about the competent and pleased service encountered.

We are very happy that our quality of accommodation and the room provided fully met your expectations.

Our location in the middle of the city centre is indeed one of the advantages of our hotel.

Your positive comments regarding the excellent breakfast as well as the menu we offer in our restaurant Konrad has been shared with our head chefs and team members Thank you very much!

I totally agree with you that we need to replace our CRT TVs. I am glad to inform you that starting from this month we will provide new flat screen TVs in our rooms with a wide range of new digital TV channels. I hope that you can enjoy them during your next visit.

We hope you will recommend our hotel to others and will come back to spend a night here soon. It would be a great pleasure for us to see you soon again.

Please feel free to contact us at anytime if we may assist you.

Kind regards,
HILTON COLOGNE

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Have just got back from a long weekend at the Hilton. Wanted a relaxing break after lots of stress. Had a wonderful time, the room was immaculate, and extremely clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. Bathroom was sparkling clean. Breakfast was great, the choice was excellent, something for everyone. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good spot, 5 mins from the train station, and the Dom, although you dont hear the trains from the hotel. A very peaceful time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tika983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hilton Cologne as destination hotel for your relaxing break.

We appreciate the time you have taken to give us such a good feedback through Tripadvisor.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that our services and facilities fully met your expectations.

Your positive comment will be shared with our team member. Thank you very much.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back soon at the Hilton Cologne.

Please feel free to contact us at anytime if there is anything else we can do for you in the meantime.

Kind regards,
HILTON COLOGNE

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

This hotel is a very short distance away from the Dom Cathedral and the Hauptbahnhof (main train station). I liked the breakfast - a wide spread of good food. We had dinner there several times, and I could not fault them for anything. The staff aim to please. The only let-down was at our check-out. We made it known to the front desk that we were being picked up for an airport transfer and then sat right across the front desk. When the driver appeared, they told him we had already checked out. Good thing I thought of asking him on his way out if he had come to pick us up; otherwise, we would have missed our flight which left from Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PolkaDot53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hilton Cologne as destination hotel for your last trip to Cologne.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to let us have your impressions about your recent visit.

With great pleasure I read that our Hilton breakfast and the friendly staff fully met your expectations. Your positive comments have been shared with our team members. Thank you!

We would like to apologise for the inconvenience regarding the inattention on our part while you were waiting for your pick up to the airport. Please rest assured that this is not our standard and that we genuinely care for our guests.

Next time you will stay with us we would be more than happy to take personally care of your pick ups from and to the airport. Therefore please feel free to contact us at anytime.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Hilton Cologne as soon as possible.

Kind regards,
HILTON COLOGNE

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

I stayed at this hotel 4-7/02/11 with my partner. Very central location within very easy walking distance to the central station. Very easy to check in and actually were able to do this at 10am in the morning and we were ably assisted by Kirsten on the front desk who was very friendly and welcoming. We were given a lovely spacious bedroom with ample sized bathroom with shower and tub - everything was clean. Not much of a view out the window but you are in a city! Breakfast which was included in our deal was fabuous and everything you would expect from this type of hotel. My only criticisms would be the square pillows which were not so comfortable and the rooms being incredibly hot during the night even with the window open! Overall a good standard hotel close to all Cologne has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belleflowerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and giving us such a good score. You highlight the convenience of our hotel’s location. That is indeed one of the advantages of our hotel.

While our check in time is 2:00 pm we try our very best to serve our early arriving guests with an early check in. We are happy to read that you were very satisfied with the friendliness of my colleague and the service she provided at check in.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated the room provided as well as our Hilton Breakfast.

Our ambition consists of making our guests feel as comfortable as possible away from home. For this reason we are happy to provide our guests new pillows which will be rectangular starting next month.

Thank you again for your nice feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Hilton Cologne.

Kind regards,
HILTON COLOGNE

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,680 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,425 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,789 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cologne

Address: Marzellenstr. 13-17, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Family Hotel in Cologne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#21 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £75 - £645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Cologne, the Hilton Cologne hotel is ideally located for the Cologne business district and for some of the city’s most popular tourist attractions. Boasting contemporary style in a istoric setting this Old Town hotel allows guests to make the most of their stay in the city.Stay connected to friends, colleagues and the wider world through the business center and WiFi access. After a busy day in Cologne you can find an escape in the fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hilton International Cologne
Cologne Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing