We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay there again”
Review of Hilton Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cologne
Ranked #23 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, UK
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
“We would stay there again”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel in April; it was a brief stopover in Cologne. The hotel is very centrally and conveniently located; it is next to the station and the cathedral and just a stone's throw from the restaurant and bar district. The hotle building is pretty ugly but the rooms have been refurbished very tastefyully. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and the bathroom was excellent. We had a very comfortable night's sleep.

We are both Hilton Honours members and we had booked the hotel through them. Unlike many Hiltons we did not receive anything special for being a preferred customer but this did not make great difference. We have two issues with our stay:
During ourstay there was a major sfaety issue with the lifts. This meant that they were not functioning and as we had to carry our luggage, this was not a pleasant experience. The checking out was an unpleasant experince. We had to queue for a very long time - nearly 30 mins and as a consequence of this we nearly missed our train to the airport. I do not know whether they were short staffed or not but the queue, which was not very long, was moving terribly slow.
In conclusion this is a functional and clean hotel when the lifts work.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Cologne as destination hotel for your last trip to Cologne.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to let us have your impressions about your recent visit.

With great pleasure I read that the beautiful decorated rooms and comfortable beds fully met your expectations. Your positive comments have been shared with our team members. Thank you!

As a HHonors member and your shown loyalty to the Hilton Hotels Worldwide it is our aim to provide you a very special treatment including a welcome set up in your room. This incident will be discussed with the heads of departments involved to avoid any similar circumstance in the future.

In April 2011 we had been instructed by the local authority of Cologne to shut down our lifts immediately. This decision affected more than 600 lifts around Germany. This was the reason for us to hire more staff for carrying the luggage from the Front Desk to the rooms every day to guaranty a hassle free arrival as well as departure for our guests. I am very sorry for any inconvenience this caused.

Please accept my sincerest apologies that it took you so long for checking out your room. As HHonors member, as you know, this is not our standard and it does not represents the level of service we try to delivery every day.

We hope to have the chance to count you once again between our guests and to you show you a better side of our service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We would be more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
HILTON COLOGNE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    859
    302
    96
    54
See reviews for
269
691
188
653
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Pleasant stay, new hotel, clean rooms, good breakfast, close to city center.
point to watch is location of room as can get noisy if events in city.
but overall very happy and will come again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-Belgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to make your feedback public and for giving us such a good score.

We really appreciate that you were fully satisfied with your stay at the Hilton Cologne. Despite our good location next to the city center we offer our guests rooms which are very quiet.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Cologne.

Please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime if there is anything else we can do for you.

Kind regards,

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
HILTON COLOGNE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Just spent three days in Hilton Cologne.
The hotel is solid Hilton. The service was excellent, the room was big and good.
The bathroom a bit too small, with apparently heavy used shower. The aircon did not work, was checked and improved, but still not very sufficient.
The hotel restaurant is also good, with quite diversified breakfast offer.
Location very convenient.
All in all - good and quite expensive hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turysta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Cologne as destination hotel for you last trip to Cologne.

It is great to see that you enjoyed staying with us and that you were satisfied with the room provided. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the excellent service during your stay.

In the same breath I am very sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the size of the bathroom. I apologies most sincerely that problems occurred with your air condition.

All guest comments are most welcome and are carefully read as they help us in pinpointing strengths and weaknesses in the hospitality we offer.

With great pleasure I read that our breakfast fully met your expectations. Your positive comments have been shared with our team members.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies!

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Hilton Cologne one day!

Kind regards,

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
HILTON COLOGNE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Top location around corner from main rail station, very close to Dom, Rhine, main shops and old town
About 20 euros per day for wifi makes a quick trip to nearby Starbucks for good coffee and free wifi a good option
Some noisy rooms on ground level and front office staff that didn't really want to know
Buffet breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mount1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hilton Cologne and for sharing your comments in Trip Advisor.

I am really sorry to read about the issue you faced with your room. Please accept our sincerest apologize. Your comments have been shared with our Front Desk Manager in order to stress once again the importance to offer an alternative solution to our guests, once the experience made is not of the expected satisfaction. It is our aim to guarantee to each guest a pleasant and enjoyable stay, as well as developing a constant pro active attitude in our team members.

Regarding the Wi-Fi I am glad to inform you that Hilton Worldwide is offering complimentary Internet connection for our Gold and Diamond Members of the Hilton HHonors Program. If you are not yet member, I suggest you to apply for it in order to reach soon this status and to take advantage of this benefit.

With pleasure I read as well that you got pleasure from our breakfast buffet and that our convenient location made you easier the visit of Cologne.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Cologne.

If in the meantime you need any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind regards
Angelo Vassallo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

If you are staying in Cologne there is a good chance to that you are here for a short time and want a hotel close to the Cathedral (the Dom) and close to the train station. The Hilton is 2 minutes from the Dom and 5 from the station and fulfills everything that you would expect from a Hilton, and from a German Hilton in particular. From the word go everything is efficient and unobtrusive, you simply dont notice much because nothing is out of the ordinary. I mean this is an entirely positive way. The whole place is much like a good haircut - when it's done right no-one has to notice, but the most important person feels good with it.
Stay hear in a heartbeat if you are looking for a comfortable, efficient and enjoyable stay, at the upper end of what you would expect from a Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Hilton Cologne and for sharing your impressions about our property.

With pleasure I read that you enjoyed our hotel and that you find really convenient our location and the Hilton Standards.

We really appreciate your comments, since they represent a way to improve our performance in order to delivery high quality service to our guests. If you have any other feedback or suggestions please feel free to contact me anytime.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Cologne.

Kind regards,
Angelo Vassallo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Stayed two nights beginning of February. Very easy to find from Cologne Central station. Pleasant hotel, room was fine, good breakfast. Had room service Pizza first night which was also good. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Just a short walk into City centre, so very handy. All in all, couldn't fault it, especially at the rate that was paid.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your feedback and giving us such a good score. We are very happy to read that your stay with us fully met your expectations.

You highlighted the convenience of our hotel’s location. That is indeed one of the advantages of our hotel.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime directle if we may assist you.

Kind regards,
HILTON COLOGNE

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The Hilton hotel Cologne is located in the heart of Cologne. It is perfect for business meetings in the city centre. The friendly staff informed me about the city and the connection to the airport. My room was well cleaned and obviously previously refurbished. Everything seemed pretty new to me. The breakfast was phantastic! I will choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMI54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to let us have your expressions about your recent stay at the Hilton Cologne.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that you appreciated the room provided. Thank you very much for your nice comments about the friendliness of our staff and the well cleaned room provided.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cologne in the near future.

Kind regards,

HILTON COLOGNE
Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 261 in Cologne
1,644 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,361 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 261 in Cologne
1,761 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#33 of 261 in Cologne
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cologne

Property: Hilton Cologne
Address: Marzellenstr. 13-17, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Family Hotel in Cologne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#21 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Cologne, the Hilton Cologne hotel is ideally located for the Cologne business district and for some of the city’s most popular tourist attractions. Boasting contemporary style in a istoric setting this Old Town hotel allows guests to make the most of their stay in the city.Stay connected to friends, colleagues and the wider world through the business center and WiFi access. After a busy day in Cologne you can find an escape in the fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hilton International Cologne
Cologne Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing