We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is bang on, but rooms are plain”
Review of Hilton Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cologne
Ranked #19 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent location. Just around the corner from the cathedral and the train station.
The rooms are very standard though, could be any hilton in the world. The staff are polite, but I didn't sense any warmth or desire to help. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it seemed to lack character, much happier in one of the beer halls down the road.
A good base for exploring though if you can get a good price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

The room was a good size and clean. The breakfast buffet had plenty of selections including an area of local favorites which is always something we like to know and try. We only had dinner there once in the 3 days. It was fabulous! I can't believe they had rabbit! and I liked it. It's close to the Dom and lots of shopping. They will gladly provide you with umbrellas if it is raining. The parking is in a WELL heated garage. They also sell "Ducks for Change". I had bought a set in Mainz last year and this set was different. They are only 6 Euros and what child wouldn't love them? Our room was on the third floor. It was quiet and comfy. We had a tub and a shower stall in the bathroom. I think the last time we stayed in Cologne, our host had booked us at a different hotel. Can't remember the name, but the room size was a quarter of what we had here at the Hiton.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Susan B,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Cologne and your great review.
I am more than pleased to see that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.
It will be my pleasure to pass your compliments on to our kitchen team.
Thank you very much.
The entire Hilton Cologne Team would be more than happy to be your host for your next visit in Cologne.

Best regards,

Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The best thing is the location, very near the train station. Clean room, quiet at night. However, it's not "Hilton" we expected.

The room is very small, bathroom without bathtub. We stayed here for three nights, it's comfortable and
convenient, but we will try others if we have chance to go Cologne again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Doriskk1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the train station and the Cathedral. In fact some rooms have a view over the cathedral. It's a couple of minutes walk to the shopping centre and about 5-10 to the riverside with bars and restaurants galore.
I stayed in an Executive room, which was very modern, spacious and clean. It was also locted at the back of the hotel, so was very quiet - although there was no view of the cathedral for me.
Most spectacularly, the bed was really comfortable and was supplied with proper pillows, with different firmness ratings. A welcome change from the usual flat as a pancake pillows supplied in most German hotels I've stayed in.
WiFi worked well in the room and lobby, with none of the usual stop/start hiccups.
Dinner in the restaurant was good, although lacking in atmosphere.
For breakfast, there are plenty of cafe's nearby - better value than the hotel restaurant.
The staff were friendly and efficient, although very busy. Check-in and check-out was fast though - no hanging around.
Great hotel - recommended

Room Tip: You can get views of the Cathedral from some rooms. Alternatively the Executive rooms are bigger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottering_pasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear pottering_pasty,

thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hilton Cologne and for taking the time to write such a nice review.
It is great to see that our hotel facilities met all your expectations.
I am more than delighted that you felt comfortable in your room and had a goodnight sleep in our Hilton beds.
Please be assured that I will pass your nice comment on to our entire team.
Dear pottering_pasty, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in Cologne and our hotel soon.

Best wishes,

Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Hilton really know how to charge. The hotel was spotless and clean and very organised and efficient but it was sooooo expensive @ 225 euros a night, plus breakfast and then you even had to pay for wifi on top. Much better hotels in Cologne for less money that are less corporate. Cooked breakfast was cold (twice) but a good choice. Wont be returning.

Room Tip: We got a view of the bins on ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancsbutYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a very nice clean hotel. The staff are very friendly. They will make good recommendations for dinner outside of the hotel and help with directions. The breakfast is excellent and good choices including making specialty eggs and omelettes. Stayed here for two nights and was warmly welcomed by the staff. The price of the hotel was quite high but understandable because of the convention that was happening. I got a room on the sixth floor with a clear view of the cathedral. Overall I would stay here again and recommend to anyone looking for the amenities that Hilton offers.

Room Tip: The higher the room floor the better view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchboy135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Dutchboy,

thank you very much for your gorgeous assessment.
We appreciate your kind words about your room, especially about your view and our Hotel Staff.

Furthermore we are happy to read, that you have enjoyed the breakfast buffet and our Hilton Amenities.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hilton Cologne.

Best regards from cold Germany
Wibke Francovich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a busy hotel. I got a very reasonable rate when I pre-booked a four night stay to visit the Christmas Markets. It was an easy journey from the Dusseldorf Airport to Cologne Main Station (Koln Hauptbahnhof) and just a short 2-minute walk to the Hilton. We arrived at the hotel around 10am. We waited at the front desk for a couple minutes because the staff was helping other guests check-out. We received a very warm welcome and shown to our room even so early in the day.
Room 614 is a deluxe double with a view of the Dom and complimentary wakeup call by the church bells! The bells don’t ring all night but they do start early! The windows stretch across the wide room. The king bed is super comfy with expensive sheets and pillows. The lighting is great. There are lots of electrical outlets. The closet has a large safe and plenty of storage to unpack your suitcase. Cool black and white photos of Koln landmarks are framed and on the walls.
The bath is luxurious with a long bathtub/shower. Typical Hilton amenities. The towels are average. I asked for a bathrobe and it was promptly delivered. The hair dryer is modern and works well.
The breakfast buffet is yummy. Besides the usual cereals, yogurts, fruits, cold cuts, cheeses, breads, and pastries, they offer Koln regional specialty sausage, cheese, and pickles. The hot buffet includes a chef preparing eggs. Our favorite was the waffles. Although it was extremely busy during our visit, the restaurant staff kept up with us. They brought coffee and orange juice. They were good enough to bring us latte macchiato when I asked in my not so good German.
We had a problem with the key and door. A maintenance man arrived promptly. He changed something and we thought it was fixed. But later on, it didn’t work again. While we were out they had to change out a whole part. The front desk staff was so alert and checked on us each time we came in or went out. They regretted not be able to move us but the hotel was so full there were no other rooms as nice. The manager sent a special apology note.
It is a short walk to the Dom, pedestrian shopping streets, and the Dom Christmas Market. We walked to each of the seven markets during our stay.
On our departure day, we had to leave before the restaurant opened. The front desk took our order the previous evening. Two take-away breakfasts were ready for us when we checked out. It is that kind of customer service that sets this hotel in a special class!
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Koln Christmas Markets and our stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Celusnek,

with great pleasure we read your amazing comment on Tripadvisor.

In this instance we would like to thank you, especially for the great statement about our Hotel Staff.

We also appreciate that you have very much enjoyed your room and the breakfast in the morning and that you accentual our Cologne Specialities on the breakfast buffet.

It is wonderful to read, that you felt very welcomed, although you had a problem with the key and room door. Again I apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience.

Dear Celusnek, it will be a major honour to welcome you back at our Hilton Cologne.
Please, feel always free to contact me at anytime, if you need further assistance.

Kind regards
Wibke Francovich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,574 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 263 in Cologne
1,767 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 263 in Cologne
1,882 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cologne

Address: Marzellenstr. 13-17, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#21 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £73 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Cologne, the Hilton Cologne hotel is ideally located for the Cologne business district and for some of the city’s most popular tourist attractions. Boasting contemporary style in a istoric setting this Old Town hotel allows guests to make the most of their stay in the city.Stay connected to friends, colleagues and the wider world through the business center and WiFi access. After a busy day in Cologne you can find an escape in the fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hilton International Cologne
Cologne Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing