We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Hilton Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cologne
Ranked #23 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was only here for one night so I wanted to stay by the train station. This hotel is so close although I admit I had trouble finding it despite the signs directing you . It is on a side street. The hotel is modern and I loved it .The price was reasonable too. I made the most of the night by walking past the Cathedral, the River and the shopping area. It was a World Cup night so the beer gardens were crowded and rowdy!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry51555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relation Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear bary51555,

thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Cologne recently and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Cologne and liked the hotel and its location.
We would be more than pleased to be you host again when you visit Cologne the next time and are already looking forward to it.

Best regards from the entire Hilton Cologne Team

Christina Cox
Guest Relation Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    842
    293
    94
    54
See reviews for
259
675
185
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

During checking in we meet a very helpful staff from front desk. Room is very big and clean. and the location is very close to the Dom. Its just only 5 minute walk. Hotel breakfast also very good quality all staff they are very helpful and they open till 2 pm! Please enjoy your stay with high standard of Hilton service. Room is very big and excellent location in the heart of Cologne city. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 454thawatchais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relation Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear 454thawatchais,

it was our pleasure being your host for your last stay at Cologne.
Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We are more than happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful time here in Cologne.

The whole Hilton Cologne Team sends its regards and we are already looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Christina Cox
Guest Relation Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
440 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Well another super hilton. The location was right in the city about a 4 minute walk to the dom. From the dom you can walk directly to the shopping area and all kinds of restaurants.

The room was spacious and the bathroom roomy. Only little problem i have is that i check under the beds and it could have been vacuumed better. It is not the only hotel that the chambermaids think that under the bed the floor ends . Since we were staying a fews days i took a big towel and wiped it before i complained.

The breakfast buffet was very, very good and the young cook made a good omelet and fried eggs. The scrambled eggs offered were too dry..watery...needed butter and taste.

Last, at the bar where i ordered a potatoe soup. I was very disappointed. No taste and watery. So i told the barmaid..anja h. She went to the kitchen and told me that she tasted it too. And that "I WAS RIGHT". It was then "on the house" but even then i left it. Well, ANJA H. . Thanks for your honesty!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hirlsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relation Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Hirlsa H,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Cologne recently and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your honest feedback as it allows us to monitor our strengths and weaknesses and steadily improve our performance as your host.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even though there were some small issues.
Please be assured that I have forwarded your comments and will address these points with the divisions involved so that we can make your next stay with us close to perfect.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Hilton Cologne soon to demonstrate our improvements and make you feel “home away from home” again.

Best regards from Cologne,

Christina Cox
Guest Relation Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
397 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel has a great location central to the cathedral and the train station as well as views of the Rhine. As with all Hiltons, the inside is of course very nice and clean. We were upgraded to a suite, which was spacious and very comfortable. Only downside is that if you want internet in your room it is quite expensive (20 euros), unless you are a silver rewards club member or greater (I have "blue" status) otherwise you have to go downstairs to the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sarah P,

Greetings from Cologne!
We would like to thank you very much for your great review on Tripadvisor.
It is our pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time in Cologne.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards your Hilton Cologne Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed there for one day/night while visiting a friend. Nice central location just few steps from the main train station.
The room was clean although smaller than I expected.
No executive lounge, which was a bit annoying, as I arrived on an early flight before my room was available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baghli2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear baghli2000

thank your for your recent stay at the Hilton Cologne and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to hear that you liked the Hotel and its location.
We would be more than happy to have you with us whenever you are travelling back to Cologne.
Best regards,

Katharina
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We were are party of four and stayed at the Hilton for two nights. On arrival both of our rooms were upgraded to deluxe rooms - a good start! The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly. My parents had room 607 which was very large and light, with a side view of the Dom. My husband and I had a smaller room on the other side of the building, with no view, but it was fine. The bed was comfy, enough storage space, decent bathroom.

We didn't eat at the hotel at all. The price for breakfast was 27€ each and we don't eat big breakfasts so it didn't seem like a good option for us. There are plenty of cafés close by. We did have a few nightcaps at the bar and the service was very friendly.

The location of the hotel is great in some ways but not so good in others. It's very close to the cathedral and train station but it isn't the nicest of walks to the old town. We felt perfectly safe at all times but it just wasn't that pleasant a walk. Although it is the other side of the river I prefer the location of the Hyatt. However, the Hilton is a lot more reasonably priced (when booked through Expedia).

If returned to Cologne I would consider staying here again as the staff were so friendly, the rooms were good and it was very reasonably priced.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cakestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear cakestin

thank you for choosing the Hilton Cologne for your recent trip to Cologne.
I am very thankful for your nice comment on Tripadvisor.
This is a great feedback and we are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us and a good time in Cologne.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back next time you are coming to our nice Dom city.


Best regards,

Katharina
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A good example of the hilton group. In a central location in Cologne - skipping distance to the Dom and Central Station.

Excellent breakfast with a chef to make you an omelet, as well as all the usual you might expect.

We went for a junior suite: worth it if you are here for a few days.

Car parking expensive at Euro 29/day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_curious_limper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear the_curious_limper

thank you very much for your nice feedback on Tripadvisor.
Whit joy I read that the Hilton Cologne fully met your expectations.
It was our pleasure to be your host and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Cologne,

Katharina
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cologne

Property: Hilton Cologne
Address: Marzellenstr. 13-17, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Family Hotel in Cologne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#21 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Cologne, the Hilton Cologne hotel is ideally located for the Cologne business district and for some of the city’s most popular tourist attractions. Boasting contemporary style in a istoric setting this Old Town hotel allows guests to make the most of their stay in the city.Stay connected to friends, colleagues and the wider world through the business center and WiFi access. After a busy day in Cologne you can find an escape in the fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hilton International Cologne
Cologne Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing