We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”
Review of Hilton Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cologne
Ranked #23 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were passing through Cologne by train and had a one night stopover. Consequently, an important criteria for us in choosing a hotel was close proximity to the train station. We were not disappointed as the Hilton really is very close to the station entrance, only 3 to 4 mins walk away. This also means it is almost as close to the Cathedral so has an ideal central location.
Check-in and check-out experiences were really well handled by English speaking staff. Bedroom was very nice and comfortable, on the first floor to the back, quiet and the air conditioning worked efficiently. There was an ice machine available along the corridor from our room which was useful. Not included was Wifi which we did not bother paying for.
We chose to eat in the hotel in the evening and whilst a little pricey (bottle of water €11), the meal itself was really good. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was as good as any we have had anywhere. Excellent spread available, the chef also cooks items such as a fried egg whilst you wait to ensure freshness. Other than the grossly overpriced water, top marks to the restaurant and restaurant staff for both meals.
Not the cheapest hotel in Cologne but location was first class for our purposes and overall experience very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear PeteandRon,

Greetings from Cologne!

thank you very much for your great feedback on Tripadvisor!
I am happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Cologne.
It was our pleasure to be your host and we are looking forward to welcome you back, hopefully soon.

Best regards,

Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Cologne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent room, close to the train station, the cathedral, short walk to river and restaurants. Good value for money. Rooms were spotless, beds and pillows great. The internet was free in the lobby but really slow. There was a slight hick up at time of payment because there had been no mention on check-in that there was a local accommodation tax to be paid, even though I'd prepaid the total amount beforehand with 2 taxes already, named a local tax and hotel service tax. So be careful who you book with as HotelClub/ orbit apparently doesn't include it or tell you. So, somehow I had to pay 3 different taxes overall, the most expensive in Germany. It would have been nice to have been warned of this, so suggest you book direct with hotel to avoid confusion.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relation Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Mary C,

thank you very much for choosing the Hilton Cologne for your recent stay in Cologne.
We really appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback in detail on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and had a great time in Cologne.
We are already looking forward to welcome you back here in Cologne in a not too distant future.

Best regards

Christina Cox
Guest Relation Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Practically in the shadows of the Dom, the Cologne Hilton is a great place to stay during a visit to this beautiful and interesting city. It is an easy, 5-minute walk to the plaza in front of the cathedral and all of the other attractions in that area. From the cathedral, another five minutes has you at the banks of the Rhine where there is easy access to many pubs and restaurants as well as beautiful views of the Philharmonie, the cathedral, St. Martins, and many other attractions of the city. The hotel is very comfortable, well-maintained, and welcoming. The staff are all friendly and helpful. We had a particularly good experience when eating dinner in the restaurant in the hotel. Stefan, our waiter, not only was everything one would expect from a waiter, but also explained the traditional-sized glasses for the Kolsch beer, one of the products for which Cologne is known. He also took a few minutes with us and a couple at another table to understand what kind of things we might want to visit while in the city and made recommendations as to where to go to find those. He even went so far as to get a local map and show us how to find the recommended places.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relation Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear James J,

thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy to receive your great comment again. Thank you very much! It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time in Cologne.
The whole Hilton Cologne Team is already looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Best regards

Christina Cox
Guest Relation Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent room and just a short 5 minute walk from the train station. We stayed only one night but I would definitely satay here again. The room and bath area were spotless and we always love the Hilton beds and linens. Staff was friendly, courteous and spoke excellent English making check-in and directions a breeze. I did not use the hotel dining so can't comment there. Several good restaurants nearby and proximity to train station made this an easy, convenient location. There is a little bakery franchise (Kamps, I think) a few stores down the street where we had a quick and inexpensive but good breakfast. Also the Cologne cathedral is close by too. We used the Hop on - Hop off bus tour service to see Cologne and the tour office was nearby also. I think the price is a good value considering the quality of the room and location. Certainly met this American's expectation of a good hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BenDMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relation Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear BenDMace,

greetings from Cologne!
Thank you so much for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy to hear that you had a great time in Cologne and enjoyed the location and facilities of the Hilton Cologne.
It would be our pleasure to be you host again when you visit Cologne the next time. We are already looking forward to welcome you back here with us.

Best regards

Christina Cox
Guest Relation Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I recently stayed for four nights at the Hilton in Cologne, Germany. The location is outstanding - just a block or two from the train station, the Dom (the Cathedral), and the tourist information center. The rooms are modern, clean, and well-designed. Further, I found the prices to be very reasonable.

I was particularly impressed with the service I received from an employee at the front desk (Monika?) When we asked about tourist attractions for kids in Cologne, she put together an itinerary for visiting an interactive children's museum called the Odysseum as well as the zoo. As the Odysseum is not centrally located, she showed us how to get there using the tram system, and took the time to research the opening/closing hours as well as the admissions price. In all, she spent about 10 minutes with us. Outstanding customer service!!!! Also, we had booked two rooms, and while they were adjacent, they did not share a connecting door. Monika helped us to rearrange our reservation so that we could have rooms with a shared connecting door, which logistically was a big improvement for us traveling as a family.

If I could change one thing about this property, I would say that the rooms should have free wifi. However, free wifi is available in the lobby, and there are plenty of places to sit, so not a big deal.

I definitely recommend the Hilton in Cologne, and would certainly stay there again if my travels bring me back to that city.

Room Tip: Reserving multiple rooms for a family trip? Ask for rooms with a shared connecting door!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owl917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relation Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Owl917,

many thanks for choosing the Hilton Cologne as your host during your last stay at Cologne.
I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us.
Please be assured that I passed on your great feedback to Monika, who sends her warmest regards.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel on future visits in Cologne.

Best regards

Christina Cox
Guest Relation Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights in Köln at different properties each night. The Hilton was exactly as one would expect. Was upgraded to a deluxe room upon arrival - which was nice and appreciated.

Great staff, great rooms, perfect location. I like the room decor and the wood floors they made an already spotless room seem even cleaner.

I had 3 negative experiences;the shower is tiny and we like to shower together - this is trivial - we dealt with it just fine. ;) Though my biggest issue is having spent $315.00 to stay there I get a little offended when they want me to spend another $10.00 for wifi. Transparency is better, just raise the rate by $10.00 if you need to - I hate feeling like I'm being "nickeled and dimed". The 3rd is that I ordered a beer from the ice bar and was sitting at an outside table - another guest spilled the beer and there was no offer by either the guest of the server to replace it.

Be sure to eat at the Dominnakaner just at the corner by the hotel. Great food.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nave0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relation Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear nave0510,

thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Cologne and sharing you experiences on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Cologne and our hotel.
If you visit Cologne in the future it would be our pleasure to be your host again and we are already looking forward to it.

Best regards

Christina Cox
Guest Relation Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The very central location was the reason for choosing the hotel. Real close to the Dom and the Central Train Station, although we arrived by car (parking E28 per day, easy around the block), Cologne is not a difficult city to drive. The hotel is not very beautiful outside or inside, but is very comfortable, well maintained and good value. Would consider it an upper four stars. Our room was very good, no vistas, the package Weekend Hilton Honors included breakfast - excellent - and wifi.
Did not dine at the popular restaurant at the hotel for it was full with locals who appreciate the seafood festival it holds, and we had no reservation. Staff was kind to indicate nerby options (used the good Damiano, an Italian half a block away).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Ernando

Greetings from Cologne!

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Cologne and for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good time in Cologne.
It would be our pleasure to reserve a table for our famous Boston Fishmarket Buffet for your next stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you hopefully soon in our beautiful Dom city and our hotel.

Best regards,
Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,680 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,425 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,789 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cologne

Address: Marzellenstr. 13-17, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Family Hotel in Cologne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#21 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £75 - £645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Cologne, the Hilton Cologne hotel is ideally located for the Cologne business district and for some of the city’s most popular tourist attractions. Boasting contemporary style in a istoric setting this Old Town hotel allows guests to make the most of their stay in the city.Stay connected to friends, colleagues and the wider world through the business center and WiFi access. After a busy day in Cologne you can find an escape in the fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hilton International Cologne
Cologne Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing