We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, pity about the smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Koeln
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Belturbet, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, pity about the smell”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Maritum Hotel Koln on a business trip to the Practical World Hardware Exhibition. I found the hotel really well located as it only one tram stop from Koln Messe and within two hundred metres of teh "oldtown" centre of Cologne. It is also within easy walking access of the main shopping area of the city not to mention the brilliant German transportation systems.

The hotel itself is well laid out with an indoor pool and leisure centre along with some great restaurants. I did use the business centre twice but must say it is very basic as only one person can use it at a time. Not ideal for a business traveller.

I found the staff very pleasant and well spoken in many languages including English.

My only beef I have was teh awful smell in the lobby area of a dirty drain which was present throughout my stay (4 days). This very same smell was present in the en-suite in the bedroom and it appeared to be coming from an grated open drain in the floor. I asked room service to flush some chemicals down it but this did not help much so I covered it up with the floor mat which helped.

Overall it was a pleasant stay but I really hope the management can sort out the drains before my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a romm overlooking the street not the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie6602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    448
    188
    68
    42
See reviews for
112
245
63
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and daughter (10) stayed here 2-March through 4-March and were pleased overall with the property. The rooms were large by European standards and the bathroom had been completely updated. The room was not as modern, but perfectly adequate. The spa, gym and pool was quite nice. The location of this hotel is excellent as it is directly next to a Metro stop. Tip: Cologne offers a welcome card that can be purchased at the local tourist office. This allows unlimited travel on all public transportation for 24 hours. It's well worth it. Dom cathedral is a five minute walk away and the riverfront area is packed with bars and shops.

Caution: There is a blind corner as you exit the hotel and cars frequently speed past the walking path. Our daughter was nearly hit by one of these cars. Follow the pedestrian lights as this is a completely blind corner.

All in all, this is great hotel for a long weekend in Cologne.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed with a group of friends at this hotel over the 1st weekend of Feb. the hotel is central, metro station just over the road, 2 mins to good selection of bars, 3-5 mins central shopping & 10 mins walk to the Dom. The hotel seems to be made up of two buildings joined together by a glass structure which is stunning. I would say if you can have a supoerior room, on the 5th floor or above as they are bigger & has a better bathroom, (the rain shower was worth the money alone) The staff was very friendly & helpful, because when we was there the hotel was very busy hosting big carnival parties, and still no problems, they only starnge thing is the indoor pool, as it is on the same level as rececption, so you can see inside when you are checking in!! Overall this hotel was in a great location, and it was good value for the standard. I would stay at the maritim again the next time I visti Cologne.

Room Tip: superior room with the great rain shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great - large hotel in the best spot in Cologne. Right next to river and close to Dom - watch out for early evening food and wine festivals in the plaza adjacent to the hotel - very very good. sit down for a flamenkutch and Troken wine with the locals.

Central open atrium of hotel provides a nice atmosphere but can be smokey and noisey.

Room Tip: Get up high and choose a north facing room with views to DOM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renoman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have stayed in this hotel twice: once as a surprise my boyfriend arranged for my birthday (July 2010), then again for the Christmas markets (December 2010).

The first time, we were not given the room type my boyfriend had requested. He contacted the front desk and we were immediately moved and offered breakfast by way of compensation. We understand mistakes do happen, and were very happy to accept this.

The room was clean with working air-con. The hotel is located close to the old town, in an interesting glass building, with many facilities, including several bars/ restaurants on site and a swimming pool/ fitness centre.

Breakfast was an impressive buffet and, if I'm honest, the main influencing factor in prompting our return later in the year! However... we had issues with room allocation again on our second visit, as did my parents who travelled with us. Once again, breakfast was offered as compensation (we had it included in our rate, my parents did not), but the need to complain did rather spoil the experience and as such, I doubt we would return here if visiting Cologne again.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have any double beds, all rooms are twin rooms. Some have the twin beds placed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I was there for 1 night with friends; the hotel is in a very nice location, about 10 minutes walking from the Dom (the main attraction of Köln). In front of the Hotel you
have the pedestrian zone of köln with lots of small restaurant and shops. In front of the Hotel you can also find the "Malzmühle" a well know tipical restaurant. The hotel is really big and it looks like a small city because you in the middle you have lots of shops, restaurant and kiosk. Rooms are very nice and not loud, so the sleep quality is very good! Mini bar is VERY expensive. The most beautiful thing of the room is the bad, you have a "space shower" with chromo-Therapie also very very nice!!! :-)
We didn't have breakfast included so I can't say anything about the quality or the price, but I saw a very large buffet, so I think you have large choice of food and beverage. In front of the Hotel you find also lots of taxi and just for Info, the fare from the Köln-Bonn airport to the hotel is about 25 Euro, also not to expensive (10 min drive approx). The staff of the hotel has been friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buncrana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Centrally located hotel. Staff were helpful . NO WIFI not sure why they insist in remaining in the dark ages. Really not suitable for business wher you need to keep in contact .

Room Tip: It is ridiculous that a hotel of this calibre does not provide free wireless in some part of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gleec0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Lyskirchen
#21 of 261 in Cologne
557 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,742 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#16 of 261 in Cologne
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Koeln

Property: Maritim Hotel Koeln
Address: Heumarkt 20, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cologne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Köln holds a fascination for its guests, whether they are business travellers, sightseeing tourists or there to attend an event in the city, through its ambience, location right on the Rhine and its interiors. The spacious glass covered hotel hall with its variety of exclusive boutiques and elegant restaurants, the historic old city in the immediate vicinity, the proximity to the Cathedral, the main railway station and the trade fair centre and the unique possibilities for organising congresses make the hotel an obvious choice for every kind of travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing