We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Koeln
Ranked #40 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
London
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good location, Clean”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night in Oct'13 on business. Good location near the tram and lots of restaurants. Less than 10 min from the Dom. Rooms are small, bed v comfortable. Breakfast was poor, fruit salad more apples than anything. Danish pastries tasted like leftovers from previous day. Staff v polite. Im scared of heights so dont appreciate glass elevators and low railings, quite easy to fall 7 floors if your not careful

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KamMug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are pleased to see that you have felt comfortable during your stay in our hotel. But further more we regret extraordinarily that it did not please you at Maritim Hotel Cologne in one point and that you were very discontent with our breakfast-offers and ask for this for apology. We have immediately discussed your remarks in a management meeting.
It is our hope that we will be able to convince you once again of our efficient service and we remain
with kind regards
Maritim Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    446
    183
    67
    42
See reviews for
111
240
63
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
286 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have literally spent 6 months of my life in this hotel on business over the last 19 years. The location is perfect for the Altstadt in Cologne. The staff is great and multi-lingual. The rooms are on the small side but comfortable. The view from the north side shows the Dom vividly.
This is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces north so you can see the Dom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokey1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Verkaufsassistentin at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim Hotel Köln.

With kind regards
Maritim Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel looks very impressive and looks like a shopping mall from the enterance. Reception staff are helpfull and curtious. I was travaling on my own on business and consequently was given a small but adequate single room on the top floor, I found the shower to be particularly good. Breakfast was a disappointment with the selection of hot items being particularly limited, collegues commented that the cales/rolls were not fresh. The waitress seemed particularly kurt. Location wise the hotel is close to a tram stop and a square with lots of resteraunts and bars, the Dom looked to be around a 10 min walk away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehotelinspector_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are pleased to see that you have felt comfortable during your stay in our hotel.

But further more we regret extraordinarily that it did not please you at Maritim hotel Cologne in one point and that you were very discontent with our breakfast-offers and ask for this for apology.

It is our hope that we will be able to convince you once again of our efficient service and we remain
with kind regards
Maritim Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I really don't know how to start. What things to mention first: the aspect, the services, the bitter taste that stays after leaving....

We booked 2 rooms in this hotel for business purposes, actually for ANUGA fair. Everybody who attends this fair, knows that during it, all hotels in Koeln, from one to five stars, are extremely expensive, so we paid almost 4,000 euros (5 nights) for those rooms. The experience of 2 years before, was worse at a different hotel, so we have chosen Maritim for an extra value (of quality, not of money) due to its location and reviews. The hotel overall presents the image of luxury from the 80's. It's like stepping into an american decor of soap operas like "Young and Resteless" or " Bold and Beautiful". It's kind of back-in-time scenery, especially for the shiny golden elevators and stuff.Depends on taste but for me was a turning back in the 80'. About rooms I may say that they were also furbished two decades ago with a worn out carpet but clean enough.The windows open into the massive hall which it has a glass roof on top, so no fresh air.... It's good at least that you can open the windows. Quickly over breakfast that is not fabulous and it has not much to offer but it works. It's the best between the worst things in this hotel.
As far as I know we live in the 21st century and we really need fast connection internet, especially wi-fi. No chance for such thing. In Maritim functions the old type of internet through cable or TV!!!! and you have to register it with an account, thing that it seems impossible through a smartphone or PDA...and of course it costs a lot. Most of the hotels in Europe have free wi-fi now or if it's paid, than it's easier to get connected. The hotel has a "business center" that offers a free of charge stay of 15 minutes, after asking the key from the reception desk, center where you cannot save or print anything. Check-out late is paid: 10 euros per hour, even the TV is old style. Everything looked obsolete. The stuff was friendly in a cold manner. Smiling as it says on the procedure and not volontary helpful at check-in for explaining all hotel's ammenities and services.
Anyway the internet issue raise a lot my invoice of traffic data in roming. I was dissapointed or my expectations were much higher even I am not a picky person. For next edition of Anuga, I will continue searching new hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the roof if you are single. At least you'll have a balcony and fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hip_shake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean View, Delaware
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel due to it's location and many of the reviews. We have stayed in many upscale hotels around Europe but the Maritim Koln seemed out of the ordinary as far as charging extra for everything. The list: 19€ per night for parking (which had a very difficult time in letting me out -thanks for the help Front Desk or we might still be sitting there! 21€ per for breakfast, very good but it should be at that price. 4.95€ per day for WiFi - really should be included as for every other hotel during our most recent stay. Newspapers were available in the extra charge breakfast area - seems a little presumptive?
I liked the facility, the room (5th) floor overlooking the Cathedral and the great shower but really, really hated the totally flat pillows. I can honestly say that they are the worst excuse for laying your head on that I have had in as long as I remember.
Overall, you could do much worse but the Maritim group really needs to address the feeling of pinching pennies when selling an otherwise upscale product.

Room Tip: As others have said, ask for a room facing the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runamook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
263 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is the first hotel I ever stayed in when in Cologne. It is close to the Dom and all the downtown shops and pubs. It is really a beautiful hotel, the rooms are nice and the lobby is really something to see. I've been back a few times since my first visit and still was impressed with the overall of the hotel. It does get a little loud in the lobby when they have music going on.

Room Tip: Try to get a city or river view if possible up as high as you can go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Jim,

thank you very much for your feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim Hotel Köln.
Kind regards
Maritim Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel, probably hundreds of times in the past 18 years. You cannot beat it as far as convenience to the Alt Stat, Rhine River, or Carnival. It's glass architecture is truly amazing. The staff is friendly and very proactive, attending to any concerns in an appropriate and timely manor.

On the down side, the furnishings are the same furnishings as when I first started going there 18 years ago. In this day of flat screen tv's, they have not upgraded and actually, it doesn't really matter because the selection of channels is completely pathetic. Several Arab channels, CNN, and a few German.

Overall it has been a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: In the summertime, ask for something below the 6th floor as it can get very hot in the rooms. All o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UPSPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Lyskirchen
#17 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Koeln

Property: Maritim Hotel Koeln
Address: Heumarkt 20, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cologne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Köln holds a fascination for its guests, whether they are business travellers, sightseeing tourists or there to attend an event in the city, through its ambience, location right on the Rhine and its interiors. The spacious glass covered hotel hall with its variety of exclusive boutiques and elegant restaurants, the historic old city in the immediate vicinity, the proximity to the Cathedral, the main railway station and the trade fair centre and the unique possibilities for organising congresses make the hotel an obvious choice for every kind of travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing