We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leaving something behind!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Koeln
Ranked #39 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leaving something behind!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed at the Maritm on a business trip in April 2014. Some points to note about this hotel. It is at the 'wrong' end of town, away from the Dom, at the southern end of the market square. Step out of the hotel, head left instead of right and you're straight into the 'seedy' side of town. I certainly would not want to be around this part of town late at night.
The hotel has a strange set-up. It's built around a plaza type area, which looks pleasant enough, but has absolutely no atmosphere or character about it. There was no desire to stay in this hotel to eat or drink (Cologne has way much more to offer anyhow).
Room was just ok, breakfast was just ok and that's about it in a nutshell really, apart from one more thing!
The trip as a whole had gone really well until, on our last day, my work colleague discovered his wedding ring had been stolen from his room. That was the only conclusion we could reach as we turned the room upside down looking for it. He had left it in the bathroom prior to coming down for breakfast. (Yes, I even removed the trap from beneath the sink just in-case).
The doors are not the self-closing type and he must not have fully locked it when he left, giving the thief their opportunity.
We have thought long and hard and this is the only answer we can derive. One of the hotel Managers was not over helpful, but did call the police. They, themselves were not too interested. Conclusion - Wedding ring gone forever. As we left, to return to the airport, my friend, reluctant to leave, simply said...I really don't want to go, I feel as though I'm leaving something behind. Really sad don't you think?
There are many, many hotels in Cologne that will provide you with a better experience than this one. Choose a different one and enjoy a truly wonderful city.

Room Tip: Yes, choose a room in different hotel nearer the Dom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying at our hotel. We regret deeply that an item was stolen and we have done everything in our power to ensure this won´t happen again. Your distress is understandable and we hope you will accept our sincere apologies. We invite you to give us the opportunity to put this unfortunate incident behind us on your next visit to Maritim Cologne.

Yours sincerely
Maritim Hotel Cologne

Hartmut Korthäuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    441
    183
    67
    41
See reviews for
110
239
63
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
corby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is in a very good location for visiting this city in walking distance to the cathedral and the river. The hotel is very bright, cheerful and clean. The room was very comfortable and bathroom facilities, shower etc were very good. I also enjoyed the use of the pool and Spa. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I could not fault this hotel at all, but as a matter of personal preference would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room and perhaps free WiFi, but would definitely use this hotel again if visiting Cologne

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraineCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback at Tripadvisor. Nice to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have forwarded your compliments already to our staff.
We don't have the coffee making facilities in each room but if you need one, just call our reception team.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards from Cologne.

Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager
Maritim Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here during a convention.
Very comfortable beds!!
Breakfast Buffet is very good. Lots to choose from. Something there for everyone.

Piano bar is a lot of fun.

Walking distance to all the best restaurants, pubs and the tram.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and also for your feedback at Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to see that you felt comfortable during your stay in our hotel.

We are already looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim Hotel Köln.

Kind regards from Germany
Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager
Maritim Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Although the guest rooms in this hotel are somewhat dated, having as they do dark wooden furniture, they are fresh and clean. The hotel is gradually modernising the rooms. This visit I had a walk-in shower that sported no less than five buttons: one to select between overhead or hand-held spray, two for temperature, one for on/off and a further one that gave you mood lighting and gently changing colours having at the same time turned off the main lights! It felt like a slow motion disco.
The buffet-style breakfast is first class, ranging from cereals & yoghurts via cold fish to hot sausage, bacon, eggs & other hot food. Although €21, you can easily eat enough to keep you going until the evening!
The hotel is well located: only a few minutes' walk from the Dom, the railway station and riverside restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback via TripAdvisor. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Maritim Hotel Cologne. We would be delighted to welcome you soon again here in Cologne.

Best Regards
Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Spent 4 nights here in late March, used it as a hub moving to/from Dusseldorf and elsewhere. Conveniently located.....a short walk to the station, Cathedral, the riverwalk, and many local attractions. Room was comfortable and clean...no complaints there. The spa facilities were good.....HOT steam room and sauna, nicely situated pool, work out room etc. The staff could have been a bit more in tune with local restaurants, and suggestions. Charging for WIFI.....at these rates, seemed a bit much....although the WIFI costs were reasonable. No complaints....no raves.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are pleased to see that
you felt comfortable during your stay in our hotel.
The charging of WIFI - we are working on a reasonable solution for everybody. We hope to see you
again here in Cologne.
With kind regards
Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Time machine. Back to mid-80s with all its appeal. Hotel is well located and offers everything you need although nothing has changed since its origin. If you dont care about interior desing than this is an option. Dont be affraid of atrium facing rooms - the area is quite during the night.

Gym facilites are again same age as entire hotel and rather modest.

Good rather for business reasons - and if you dont want to impress your employees or business partners.

Regardless of its age, hotel is well kept and really clean. Dont be affraid of worn carpets or dust everywhere.

Breakfast is probably corresponding to German cuisine: honestly speaking difficult choice in terms of healthy food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukaszNowakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for staying at our hotel. All our feedbacks help us to improve the quality of the stay of our guests and the service in general. We also want to mention that we lately renovated over 60 % of our bathrooms. This year we are going to continue. We would be delighted to welcome you soon again here in Cologne.
Best Regards
Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Was here during the 2014 IMM (international furniture fair). The rate of the rooms had been raised because of the IMM making the value for money go negative. The hotel is clean, well situated but getting quickly outdated. Feels like a 1970s hotel, where more modern features are now needed/wanted. A tv which still is a big monster iso a flatscreen is one of a simple example.
Staff at reception was friendly but just...
Location is super, close to the river, so for your morning excercise well situated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are pleased to see that you have felt comfortable during your stay in our hotel.

In addition we like to thank you for your comments. We thank you for it because we can always improve our service and uncover weak points only in such a way.
We would be delighted to welcome you soon again here in Cologne.
Yours sincerely
Maritim Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Lyskirchen
#15 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#14 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Koeln

Property: Maritim Hotel Koeln
Address: Heumarkt 20, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cologne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Köln holds a fascination for its guests, whether they are business travellers, sightseeing tourists or there to attend an event in the city, through its ambience, location right on the Rhine and its interiors. The spacious glass covered hotel hall with its variety of exclusive boutiques and elegant restaurants, the historic old city in the immediate vicinity, the proximity to the Cathedral, the main railway station and the trade fair centre and the unique possibilities for organising congresses make the hotel an obvious choice for every kind of travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing