We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Koeln
Ranked #30 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed recently whilst attending a conference in Cologne. It is ideally located for the Old Town and Cathedral and market area, all within easy walking distance. It is a little dated but perfectly adequate with new bathroom facilities. The spa and pool are very nice and free to use. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and nicely presented. Overall a very pleasant stay and would stay again in the future. Thanks.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Eagle7345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim Hotel Köln.

Kind regards from Cologne.
Maritim Hotel Köln

Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
There are newer reviews for Maritim Hotel Koeln
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have been staying at his hotel on business for 15 years. The hotel is getting older (and so am I) but there hasn't been any real change in that time period. The hotel is getting worn out, the same carpets are getting worn out, the same old TV's are wearing out, the internet is weak, there have been some security issues this year. The rooms are on the small side and dated. I know my way around Cologne and can make this hotel work (since I have to). You can get to shopping and the Dom pretty easily and there is a metro train right outside the hotel. If I didn't know the area, I might be a little underwhelmed. The staff is friendly and the hotel entryway is neat. Other than that, a solid 2 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekubiaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback at Tripadvisor. By your constructive criticism you give us the possibility of reacting to your negative impression of our house. We thank you for it because we can always improve our service and uncover weak points only in such a way.
Until now we have lately renovated over 65% of our bathrooms. Since last week (26.06.2014) the wired and WLAN for our hotelguests ist without charge.
We would be delighted to welcome you soon again here in Cologne.
Kind regards
Maritim Hotel Köln


Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend break. The hotel was very smart and very friendly staff. The hotel is within walking distance to the Dom and restaurants in the centre. The shower in the room was amazing and the room was a good size. The only problem I found was the pillows were so thin I had to ask for more which I was given within 10 mins. Also the TV in the room was so old ( CRT) it needs updating to flat screen to keep up with the times. The breakfast was brilliant with so much to choose from. I would highly recommend this hotel and will use again for my next stay in cologne. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrinajaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to inform you that we will have flat screens in our rooms soon.
We would be delighted to welcome you soon again here in Cologne.
Best Regards

Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great location and spacious rooms. The bathrooms are updated with really nice showers but the room interior is a bit dated and electric plugs hard to find (only one near the desk). Service was very good and the breakfast buffet selection is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lausmadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback at Tripadvisor. Nice to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have forwarded your compliments already to our staff. Your hint concerning the plug is noted.
We would appreciate to welcome you again soon and kind regards from Cologne.

Abigail Dalbert
Maritim Hotel Köln

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed at the Maritm on a business trip in April 2014. Some points to note about this hotel. It is at the 'wrong' end of town, away from the Dom, at the southern end of the market square. Step out of the hotel, head left instead of right and you're straight into the 'seedy' side of town. I certainly would not want to be around this part of town late at night.
The hotel has a strange set-up. It's built around a plaza type area, which looks pleasant enough, but has absolutely no atmosphere or character about it. There was no desire to stay in this hotel to eat or drink (Cologne has way much more to offer anyhow).
Room was just ok, breakfast was just ok and that's about it in a nutshell really, apart from one more thing!
The trip as a whole had gone really well until, on our last day, my work colleague discovered his wedding ring had been stolen from his room. That was the only conclusion we could reach as we turned the room upside down looking for it. He had left it in the bathroom prior to coming down for breakfast. (Yes, I even removed the trap from beneath the sink just in-case).
The doors are not the self-closing type and he must not have fully locked it when he left, giving the thief their opportunity.
We have thought long and hard and this is the only answer we can derive. One of the hotel Managers was not over helpful, but did call the police. They, themselves were not too interested. Conclusion - Wedding ring gone forever. As we left, to return to the airport, my friend, reluctant to leave, simply said...I really don't want to go, I feel as though I'm leaving something behind. Really sad don't you think?
There are many, many hotels in Cologne that will provide you with a better experience than this one. Choose a different one and enjoy a truly wonderful city.

Room Tip: Yes, choose a room in different hotel nearer the Dom.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying at our hotel. We regret deeply that an item was stolen and we have done everything in our power to ensure this won´t happen again. Your distress is understandable and we hope you will accept our sincere apologies. We invite you to give us the opportunity to put this unfortunate incident behind us on your next visit to Maritim Cologne.

Yours sincerely
Maritim Hotel Cologne

Hartmut Korthäuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is in a very good location for visiting this city in walking distance to the cathedral and the river. The hotel is very bright, cheerful and clean. The room was very comfortable and bathroom facilities, shower etc were very good. I also enjoyed the use of the pool and Spa. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I could not fault this hotel at all, but as a matter of personal preference would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room and perhaps free WiFi, but would definitely use this hotel again if visiting Cologne

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraineCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback at Tripadvisor. Nice to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have forwarded your compliments already to our staff.
We don't have the coffee making facilities in each room but if you need one, just call our reception team.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards from Cologne.

Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager
Maritim Hotel Köln

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here during a convention.
Very comfortable beds!!
Breakfast Buffet is very good. Lots to choose from. Something there for everyone.

Piano bar is a lot of fun.

Walking distance to all the best restaurants, pubs and the tram.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and also for your feedback at Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to see that you felt comfortable during your stay in our hotel.

We are already looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim Hotel Köln.

Kind regards from Germany
Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager
Maritim Hotel Köln

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Lyskirchen
#22 of 261 in Cologne
575 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,120 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,425 reviews
art'otel cologne
#26 of 261 in Cologne
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Koeln

Address: Heumarkt 20, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cologne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £96 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Köln holds a fascination for its guests, whether they are business travellers, sightseeing tourists or there to attend an event in the city, through its ambience, location right on the Rhine and its interiors. The spacious glass covered hotel hall with its variety of exclusive boutiques and elegant restaurants, the historic old city in the immediate vicinity, the proximity to the Cathedral, the main railway station and the trade fair centre and the unique possibilities for organising congresses make the hotel an obvious choice for every kind of travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maritim Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing