We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maritim Hotel Koln
Nearby Hotels
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Cologne(Cologne)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveller rating
307
518
219
78
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
518
219
78
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverpiano barcentral atriumhuge atriumgreat rail journeyslarge hotelindoor poolrestaurants and shopsexcellent locationold townchristmas marketbreakfast buffet ischocolate museumtram stopfantastic hotelin decemberreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed recently whilst attending a conference in Cologne. It is ideally located for the Old Town and Cathedral and market area, all within easy walking distance. It is a little dated but perfectly adequate with new bathroom facilities. The spa and pool are very nice and free to use. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and nicely presented. Overall a very pleasant stay and would stay again in the future. Thanks.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Eagle7345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koln, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim Hotel Köln.

Kind regards from Cologne.
Maritim Hotel Köln

Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have been staying at his hotel on business for 15 years. The hotel is getting older (and so am I) but there hasn't been any real change in that time period. The hotel is getting worn out, the same carpets are getting worn out, the same old TV's are wearing out, the internet is weak, there have been some security issues this year. The rooms are on the small side and dated. I know my way around Cologne and can make this hotel work (since I have to). You can get to shopping and the Dom pretty easily and there is a metro train right outside the hotel. If I didn't know the area, I might be a little underwhelmed. The staff is friendly and the hotel entryway is neat. Other than that, a solid 2 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekubiaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koln, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback at Tripadvisor. By your constructive criticism you give us the possibility of reacting to your negative impression of our house. We thank you for it because we can always improve our service and uncover weak points only in such a way.
Until now we have lately renovated over 65% of our bathrooms. Since last week (26.06.2014) the wired and WLAN for our hotelguests ist without charge.
We would be delighted to welcome you soon again here in Cologne.
Kind regards
Maritim Hotel Köln


Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend break. The hotel was very smart and very friendly staff. The hotel is within walking distance to the Dom and restaurants in the centre. The shower in the room was amazing and the room was a good size. The only problem I found was the pillows were so thin I had to ask for more which I was given within 10 mins. Also the TV in the room was so old ( CRT) it needs updating to flat screen to keep up with the times. The breakfast was brilliant with so much to choose from. I would highly recommend this hotel and will use again for my next stay in cologne. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrinajaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koln, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to inform you that we will have flat screens in our rooms soon.
We would be delighted to welcome you soon again here in Cologne.
Best Regards

Abigail Dalbert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great location and spacious rooms. The bathrooms are updated with really nice showers but the room interior is a bit dated and electric plugs hard to find (only one near the desk). Service was very good and the breakfast buffet selection is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lausmadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Koln, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback at Tripadvisor. Nice to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have forwarded your compliments already to our staff. Your hint concerning the plug is noted.
We would appreciate to welcome you again soon and kind regards from Cologne.

Abigail Dalbert
Maritim Hotel Köln

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed at the Maritm on a business trip in April 2014. Some points to note about this hotel. It is at the 'wrong' end of town, away from the Dom, at the southern end of the market square. Step out of the hotel, head left instead of right and you're straight into the 'seedy' side of town. I certainly would not want to be around this part of town late at night.
The hotel has a strange set-up. It's built around a plaza type area, which looks pleasant enough, but has absolutely no atmosphere or character about it. There was no desire to stay in this hotel to eat or drink (Cologne has way much more to offer anyhow).
Room was just ok, breakfast was just ok and that's about it in a nutshell really, apart from one more thing!
The trip as a whole had gone really well until, on our last day, my work colleague discovered his wedding ring had been stolen from his room. That was the only conclusion we could reach as we turned the room upside down looking for it. He had left it in the bathroom prior to coming down for breakfast. (Yes, I even removed the trap from beneath the sink just in-case).
The doors are not the self-closing type and he must not have fully locked it when he left, giving the thief their opportunity.
We have thought long and hard and this is the only answer we can derive. One of the hotel Managers was not over helpful, but did call the police. They, themselves were not too interested. Conclusion - Wedding ring gone forever. As we left, to return to the airport, my friend, reluctant to leave, simply said...I really don't want to go, I feel as though I'm leaving something behind. Really sad don't you think?
There are many, many hotels in Cologne that will provide you with a better experience than this one. Choose a different one and enjoy a truly wonderful city.

Room Tip: Yes, choose a room in different hotel nearer the Dom.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Koeln, Manager at Maritim Hotel Koln, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying at our hotel. We regret deeply that an item was stolen and we have done everything in our power to ensure this won´t happen again. Your distress is understandable and we hope you will accept our sincere apologies. We invite you to give us the opportunity to put this unfortunate incident behind us on your next visit to Maritim Cologne.

Yours sincerely
Maritim Hotel Cologne

Hartmut Korthäuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews