We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #22 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    518
    218
    68
    17
See reviews for
113
436
134
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

You could not ask to be better located. The hotel overlooks the cathedral, and is less than five minutes walk from the Rhein, the Altstadt and the main shopping streets.

The place was sold to me as a five star hotel. It was a very good hotel, with helpful, friendly service. But expect more of a four star feel. The room we had was really quite poky though very well appointed, and there is a notable absence of the little extras that "make" somewhere five star. We paid a reasonable three star sort of price, so that was fine, but list prices are very high and these wouldn't be worth paying.

Additional bonuses to mention: lovely, if compact, bathrooms with wet room style showers and luxurious toiletries. And range of UK channels including BBC and ITV - 1&2 on both. Bedroom safe was more than large enough to take a laptop. Free mineral water every day.
Bathrobes provided (one by default, two on request). Tea, coffee, kettle all in room too.

Breakfast is a whopping €25 per person per day, but there are plenty of places nearby. Try particularly Café Scholl - http://www.cafe-scholl.de/en/breakfast.html - and Café Jansen, a part of the Fassbender chain, at Obenmarspforten 7.

I would certainly stay here again providing the rate was right.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S0uthlondontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_Mueller, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dera S0uthLondonTraveller,

thank you very much for your feedback.
If you are looking for our best prices please see our promotions online. Few times a year we offer 3=2 packages including breakfast. Do not hesitate to contact us directly if you have a date in mind.

Sincerely,
Vera Mueller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Great Location, good parking. The only difference between a superior room and a standard room is a view and a nespresso machine. They don't even leave a kettle if you are tea drinker in the superior room. Breakfast was good.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_Mueller, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear TravelinBoon,

I hope you enjoyed your stay with us especially the view to the Dom, that Köln is known for. Superior rooms include free minibar and high speed wlan as well as the Nespresso machine, I am sorry if we forgot to explain that upon check in. Certainly we lend not only a kettle but a proper tea station, please do not hesitate to contact reception with any matters.

Kind regards
Vera Mueller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

i stayed here for business for 4 nights and can say the hotel is good, staff very helpful and the breakfast selection was amazing.
Amazing location, as you walk out the Dom is right in front of you, and the main square is 2 minutes away.
The only downside for me was the room was a bit small, but would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_Mueller, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Dave N,

thank you for your feedback.
We are lookinf to welcoming you back, once you are in the city for business or even for pleisure.

Kind regards,

Vera Mueller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at the Mondial for Anuga 2013. It is a more than decent hotel / property with easy access to Anuga - a 10 to 15 minute leisurely walk across the bridge lands you at the Anuga entrance.

The hotel is right in the city centre which provides easy access to shopping / restaurants.

The Dom Cathedral is right there.

Would recommend the hotel to business travellers attending the Kolnmesse and to couples / families on holidays who want to be in the city centre.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the Dom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhgarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_Mueller, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear fhgarib,

thank you for your feedback,
Yes, location is the unique point of our hotel for business as well as for leisure guests.
We hope to welcome you back for ANUGA 2015.

All the best,

Vera Mueller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The clue should have been the Concierge scarpering when he saw us trundling to the front doors with our cases from the train station.......he was only to be seen once over the next 3 days chatting to the receptionist behind her desk! Our first room (we booked a junior suite) was just a try on~! Long dark skinny with NO television and one poky window looking onto a central dead weed covered metal rooftop. The second (receptionist was totally unsurprised at our unwillingness to accept her first choice for us) was in keeping with the room we thought we booked and just fine. The funny thing is this hotel is 5 star, in a great location and has the facilities to provide all the amenity you would expect...it just doesn't! There are 2 lovely large guest spaces, one a lovely 'library' with seating and tables and the other a large open space with tables and comfy armchairs where we sat at 8.30 on a Sat. night hoping to get a drink and coffee. Eventually we went to reception who told us they don't serve anything in these areas! So what do you think guests want when they come in to use these spaces then if not a rest and refreshment?? We had been unable to have dinner in the much vaunted restaurant. We found this out by going into it and asking for a table to be told it was booked for a private function. We could have a drink at the bar then leave. It would have been nice to be told this on check in! On the second night I had a cold and wanted some hot chocolate on room service at 9 pm. I was told on the phone by room service that A. I could go to the bar and order it, B. I could come and get it or C. make it myself in the room! I said there was none in the room and why was it such a big deal to get some sent up? She put me onto a lovely Scottish lass who said of course I could and it arrived promptly though luke warm. I have never struck such active indifference in a hotel before. They are either fawlty towers bad or manage to show some interest in providing you with service but not here! Just go away and don't bother us we are busy is the tone but it should be great! It is in a terrific spot behind the Cathedral, has a car park underneath and lots of public space. When we dined in the bistro on the corner belonging to the hotel we wanted to put the meal on our hotel bill. We had the plastic card but not the cardboard slip it came in so she wouldn't! It could not have taken much to check us out or poke her head out the door to reception to confirm we were who we said but why bother....she just said it can't be done' and that is the theme for this place.....

Room Tip: Don't accept the first room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#42 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Kurt-Hackenberg-Platz 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel )
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cologne
#17 Family Hotel in Cologne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#22 Business Hotel in Cologne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel is located in the heart of the old town. Cologne Cathedral, the Rhine, the exhibition center, the shopping streets, a host of museums and other attractions are only a stone's throw away. The hotel has 203 elegant rooms, including 6 Junior Suites, 5 meeting rooms and a ballroom (1981 sq. ft. [184 sq. m]). In the "Reissdorf im Mondial" you can enjoy regional dishes and draft beer in the setting of a modern, Cologne brewery with a spectacular view of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cologne
Accor Cologne Mondial Am Dom
Cologne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing